401(k) Monitor

Emerson Electric Co. 401(k): Vanguard, match fully vested after 5 years

Emerson Electric Co. Retirement Savings Plan · EMR · CIK 32604

Vanguard is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

The 401(k) employer match

Set again each year

Emerson Electric Co. sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year, and this filing does not state the rate.

Emerson Electric's Form 11-K filings for plan year 2025 describe two separate 401(k) plans. The terms on this page are read from the Emerson Electric Co. Retirement Savings Plan. Not all of them state a match formula, so each one is listed below with the group it covers and what its filing says.

From the Form 11-K filed March 12, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended September 30, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: which plan you are in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

Which Emerson Electric 401(k) plan are you in?

Emerson Electric's Form 11-K filings for this plan year describe two plans, and not all of them state a match formula. Find the plan you are in before you take a number off this page. The terms in the rest of the page are read from the Emerson Electric Co. Retirement Savings Plan.

Emerson Electric Co. Retirement Savings Plan (the plan this page answers for)

The filing states no limit on who this plan covers · Form 11-K ↗

Match not stated as a formula

Emerson Savings Plan

The filing states no limit on who this plan covers · Form 11-K ↗

4% of pay, at most

One row per plan, taken from the two Form 11-K reports this site has read for the plan year ended September 30, 2025. Each maximum comes from that plan’s own filing and describes only that plan.

What Emerson Electric puts in, and what the plan costs

What Emerson Electric puts in

Not stated in the filing

The match rate is set at the company's discretion each year, and the filing does not state the rate it used.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Vanguard ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.

Vesting score

57.14 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 5% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleGraded, full at 5 years

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 20%, 40%, 60%, 80%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Participant contributions and any related dividends, earnings and losses are always 100% vested. Company matching contributions and any related dividends, earnings or losses generally vest at the rate of 20% per year of service for the first 5 years for most employees. The nonelective Company contributions cliff vest after 3 years. All amounts fully vest upon attaining retirement age (age 55), or due to death, total and permanent disability, or termination of the Plan.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

18th percentile

$23.95 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 82% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What is Emerson Electric's 401(k) match formula?

Emerson Electric sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year and does not state the rate in this filing. A discretionary match is set again each year, so the rate in force lives in the plan document rather than the filing. The four shapes a formula takes is what to look for when you read one.

Paid in company stockNo, paid in cash or per your investment elections
ConditionsMatching contributions are discretionary, equal to a percentage of a portion of each participant's contribution; neither the match rate nor the matched portion of pay is disclosed in the filing. Certain participants who are not eligible for or are no longer accruing benefits in the Company's principal U.S. defined benefit plan receive an increased match.
Other employer contributionDiscretionary nonelective contributions: certain participants who are not eligible for or are no longer accruing benefits in the Company's principal U.S. defined benefit plan receive a nonelective Company contribution each year
What the filing says, word for word
“The Company may make discretionary matching contributions equal to a percentage of a portion of each participant's contribution, as well as discretionary nonelective contributions. Certain participants who are not eligible for or are no longer accruing benefits in the Company’s principal U.S. defined benefit plan receive a nonelective Company contribution and increased match each year in the Plan.”

Source: Form 11-K filed March 12, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗

What is Emerson Electric's 401(k) vesting schedule?

Emerson Electric vests the employer match on a graded schedule: 20% after one year, rising to 100% after five. Each step is money that leaves with you that year, which is how a graded schedule differs from a cliff.

Employer match vestingGraded: 20% at 1 yr, 40% at 2 yr, 60% at 3 yr, 80% at 4 yr, 100% at 5 yr
Your own contributionsImmediate: always 100% yours
Accelerated vestingAll amounts fully vest upon attaining retirement age (age 55), or due to death, total and permanent disability, or termination of the Plan
Other employer contributionsThe nonelective Company contributions cliff vest after 3 years
Vesting, word for word
“Participant contributions and any related dividends, earnings and losses are always 100% vested. Company matching contributions and any related dividends, earnings or losses generally vest at the rate of 20% per year of service for the first 5 years for most employees. The nonelective Company contributions cliff vest after 3 years. All amounts fully vest upon attaining retirement age (age 55), or due to death, total and permanent disability, or termination of the Plan.”

Source: Form 11-K filed March 12, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join Emerson Electric's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

Emerson Electric enrolls new hires automatically at 6% of pay.

Plan entryIn general, any non-excludable employee of a Company business unit which participates in the Plan and who is a member of a collective bargaining unit that participates in the Plan is eligible to participate
Automatic enrollmentYes: default deferral 6% of pay; default investment: Age-appropriate Vanguard Target Retirement Trust
Eligibility, word for word
“In general, any non-excludable employee of a Company business unit which participates in the Plan and who is a member of a collective bargaining unit that participates in the Plan is eligible to participate.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“New employees are automatically enrolled in the Plan after 45 days with an initial employee contribution rate of 6% of pre-tax eligible compensation. These automatic contributions are invested in an age appropriate Vanguard Target Retirement Trust, unless any such participant makes an election to affirmatively opt out in accordance with procedures established by the Company.”

Source: Form 11-K filed March 12, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Vanguard, filed as “THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

2,337 plans on file name Vanguard as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 2,333 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.87 per participant.

Participants log in at Vanguard ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Vanguard or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20260713094822NAL0000005186001.
RecordkeeperVanguard
Recordkeeper EIN231945930

What does the Emerson Electric plan report on Form 5500?

The Emerson Electric plan reported $32.0M in assets and 6,748 participants for plan year 2024.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 430259330, plan 101.
Total plan assets$32,003,740
Participants6,748
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$23.95

How that cost compares

This plan pays $23.95 per participant. The median across plans in industrial and materials manufacturing is $142.19, from the 5,709 of 6,008 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

Emerson Electric Co. Retirement Savings Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials

How does Emerson Electric's 401(k) match compare?

Emerson Electric Co.'s filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.

Employers worth reading next

Of the six employers below, three file in industrial and materials manufacturing, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.

Carpenter Technology

Employer match vests immediately. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

ENNIS

Employer match vests immediately. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

Ball

Employer match vests immediately. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

National Fuel Gas

Employer match vests immediately. Same recordkeeper, Vanguard.

Phillips 66

Maximum match 8% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Vanguard.

Edison International

Match vests in steps, 100% after 5 years. Also fully vested after 5 years, like Emerson Electric.

Compare Emerson Electric Co. with any company, side by side

What do Emerson Electric's other 401(k) plans say?

Emerson Savings Plan

The filing states no limit on who this plan covers

Emerson Electric Co. matches 100% of employee contributions up to 4% of eligible pay (plan year ended September 30, 2025).

Employer match vesting
Cliff: 100% vested after 2 years of service
Automatic enrollment
Yes: default deferral 4% of pay; auto-escalation +1%/yr to 10%; default investment: Age appropriate Vanguard Target Retirement Trust; new employees are automatically enrolled 45 days after hire
What the filing says, word for word
“For periods prior to January 1, 2025, eligible participants could receive Company matching contributions equal to a percentage of a portion of each participant's contribution. Additionally, certain participants who were not eligible for or were no longer accruing benefits in the Company's principal U.S. defined benefit plan could also receive a nonelective Company contribution and increased match each year in the Plan. Effective January 1, 2025, each participant is entitled to a Company matching contribution equal to 100% of the participant's contribution to the Plan, up to a maximum of 4% of the participant's eligible compensation, with an annual true-up contribution made after the end of the Plan year to ensure the matching contribution is provided based on the participant's total eligible compensation and contributions for the year. Additionally, the Company may make a nonelective Company contribution to the accounts of participants who (i) are actively employed by the Company or an affiliate on the last day of the Plan year, or (ii) are actively employed by the Company or an affiliate during the Plan year and terminate employment during the Plan year after attaining age 55. The nonelective Company contribution will equal a uniform percentage of the eligible compensation paid to the participant for work performed at each”

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is Emerson Electric Co.'s 401(k) match?

Emerson Electric Co.'s employer match rate is set at the sponsor's discretion and is not disclosed in the 11-K for the plan year ended September 30, 2025.

When does the Emerson Electric Co. 401(k) match vest?

Graded: 20% at 1 yr, 40% at 2 yr, 60% at 3 yr, 80% at 4 yr, 100% at 5 yr.

Does Emerson Electric Co.'s 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?

Yes: default deferral 6% of pay; default investment: Age-appropriate Vanguard Target Retirement Trust.

Who is the recordkeeper for Emerson Electric Co.'s 401(k)?

Vanguard is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Emerson Electric Co. Retirement Savings Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that Emerson Electric Co. filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended September 30, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byEmerson Electric Co.
SEC CIK32604
Accession number0000032604-26-000029
PlanEmerson Electric Co. Retirement Savings Plan
Period of reportSeptember 30, 2025
FiledMarch 12, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Emerson Electric Co., with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “Emerson Electric Co. 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000032604-26-000029, plan year ended September 30, 2025.