ENNIS, INC. 401(k): OneAmerica, match vests immediately
Ennis, Inc. 401(k) Plan · EBF · CIK 33002
OneAmerica is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing.
The 401(k) employer match
Set again each year
ENNIS, INC. sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year, and this filing does not state the rate.
From the Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag
On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next
What ENNIS puts in, and what the plan costs
What ENNIS put into the plan, per active participant
$1,027
ENNIS, INC. put $1,027 into this plan for each of its 1,816 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.
ENNIS put in less per active participant than 86% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants in industrial and materials manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 766 reported $2,514. Industrial and materials manufacturing comes from business code 323100, which ENNIS entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
What this figure cannot separate: how much ENNIS pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 750256410, plan 011 · DOL EFAST2 ↗
What ENNIS puts in
Not stated in the filing
The match rate is set at the company's discretion each year, and the filing does not state the rate it used.
The Form 5500 for this plan reports what ENNIS actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, the one you log in to for your balance.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.
Vesting score
100 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are immediately vested in their salary deferrals, rollover contributions, and employer matching contributions. Profit sharing contributions vest over a 5-year graded vesting schedule as defined in the Plan document. Special vesting schedules ranging from 3 to 6 years apply to certain employees based on their location as defined in the Plan document.”
A worker hired today collects no match for 2 months. This is a filed term, and it does not move the score above.
Eligibility, word for word
“Employees age 18 and older of the Company are eligible to participate in the Plan and receive matching contributions the first of the month after completing 60 days of service, as defined by the Plan.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
47th percentile
$80.49 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 53% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants.
What is ENNIS' 401(k) match formula?
ENNIS sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year and does not state the rate in this filing. A discretionary match is set again each year, so the rate in force lives in the plan document rather than the filing. The four shapes a formula takes is what to look for when you read one.
| Conditions | The Company makes discretionary matching contributions at a rate determined by the Plan Sponsor for certain employees not enrolled in the Pension Plan for the Employees of Ennis, Inc. The total matching contributions are not to exceed $2,500 annually. |
|---|---|
| Other employer contribution | Employees are eligible to receive discretionary profit-sharing contributions, if granted, after completing 1,000 hours within their first 12 months of service. |
| Other employer contribution | Each year, the Company may at its discretion, make profit sharing contributions for the plan year not to exceed certain limitations prescribed by the IRC. |
| Other employer contribution | During 2025, the Company declared a discretionary profit-sharing contribution of $126,249 on behalf of the employees of Northstar Computer Forms, Inc. in accordance with its original plan; this contribution was contributed to the Plan in 2026. |
| Other employer contribution | During 2025, the Company contributed $149,209 which was declared in 2024. |
What the filing says, word for word
“The Company makes discretionary matching contributions at a rate determined by the Plan Sponsor for certain employees not enrolled in the Pension Plan for the Employees of Ennis, Inc. The total matching contributions are not to exceed $2,500 annually.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
What is ENNIS' 401(k) vesting schedule?
ENNIS vests the employer match immediately: 100% is yours as soon as it is paid in. Nothing is forfeited when you leave, which is not true of the two schedules that vest over time.
| Employer match vesting | Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed |
|---|---|
| Your own contributions | Immediate: always 100% yours |
| Other employer contributions | Profit sharing contributions vest over a 5-year graded vesting schedule as defined in the Plan document. Special vesting schedules ranging from 3 to 6 years apply to certain employees based on their location as defined in the Plan document. |
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are immediately vested in their salary deferrals, rollover contributions, and employer matching contributions. Profit sharing contributions vest over a 5-year graded vesting schedule as defined in the Plan document. Special vesting schedules ranging from 3 to 6 years apply to certain employees based on their location as defined in the Plan document.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who can join ENNIS' 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?
ENNIS enrolls new hires automatically at 4% of pay.
| Plan entry | Employees age 18 and older of the Company are eligible to participate in the Plan and receive matching contributions the first of the month after completing 60 days of service, as defined by the Plan. |
|---|---|
| Match eligibility | Employees age 18 and older of the Company are eligible to participate in the Plan and receive matching contributions the first of the month after completing 60 days of service, as defined by the Plan. |
| Excluded groups | Eligibility for employer contributions depends on the participant’s employment location as defined in the Plan document. |
| Automatic enrollment | Yes: default deferral 4% of pay |
Eligibility, word for word
“Employees age 18 and older of the Company are eligible to participate in the Plan and receive matching contributions the first of the month after completing 60 days of service, as defined by the Plan.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“The Plan automatically enrolls all newly eligible participants into the Plan at a 4% deferral rate.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who holds your account
Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports OneAmerica, filed as “ONEAMERICA RETIREMENT SERVICES, LLC”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
588 plans on file name OneAmerica as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 577 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $95.36 per participant.
Participants log in at OneAmerica ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with OneAmerica or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | OneAmerica |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EIN | 465378846 |
What does the ENNIS plan report on Form 5500?
The ENNIS plan reported $160.1M in assets and 2,520 participants for plan year 2024.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
| Plan named in the DOL record | Ennis Inc. 401(k) Plan |
|---|---|
| Total plan assets | $160,071,588 |
| Participants | 2,520 |
| Plan-paid admin cost per participant | $80.49 |
How that cost compares
This plan pays $80.49 per participant. The median across plans in industrial and materials manufacturing is $142.19, from the 5,709 of 6,008 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.
Read from the Form 5500 filing of Ennis Inc. 401(k) Plan, which has no page of its own here.
How does ENNIS' 401(k) match compare?
ENNIS, INC.'s filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.
Employers worth reading next
Of the six employers below, three file in industrial and materials manufacturing, one reports the same recordkeeper and two vest on the same schedule.
Match vests in steps, 100% after 5 years. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.
Match vests in steps, 100% after 5 years. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.
Employer match vests immediately. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.
Maximum match 2.5% of pay. Same recordkeeper, OneAmerica.
Maximum match 6% of pay. Vests immediately too, like ENNIS.
Maximum match 4.2% of pay. Vests immediately too, like ENNIS.
What can you do next?
- Read the Form 11-K on SEC EDGAR ↗
Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026, SEC EDGAR. Every match fact on this page comes from it.
- Changed jobs? Find an old 401(k) ↗
The Department of Labor's Retirement Savings Lost & Found, a free government database.
- This year's IRS contribution limits ↗
The official deferral and catch-up limits every formula operates under.
Questions this filing answers
What is ENNIS, INC.'s 401(k) match?
Ennis, Inc.'s employer match rate is set at the sponsor's discretion and is not disclosed in the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. ENNIS, INC.'s Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $1,027 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
When does the ENNIS, INC. 401(k) match vest?
Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed.
Does ENNIS, INC.'s 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?
Yes: default deferral 4% of pay.
Who is the recordkeeper for ENNIS, INC.'s 401(k)?
OneAmerica is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Ennis Inc. 401(k) Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
Source
The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that ENNIS, INC. filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.
The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.
Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗
| Document | Form 11-K annual report |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) |
| Filed by | ENNIS, INC. |
| SEC CIK | 33002 |
| Accession number | 0001193125-26-284796 |
| Plan | Ennis, Inc. 401(k) Plan |
| Period of report | December 31, 2025 |
| Filed | June 26, 2026 |
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with ENNIS, INC., with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, “ENNIS, INC. 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0001193125-26-284796, plan year ended December 31, 2025.