401(k) Monitor

Ball Corporation 401(k): Voya, match vests immediately

Ball Corporation 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan · BALL · CIK 9389

Voya is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing.

The 401(k) employer match

Only part of the formula is filed

Ball Corporation discloses only part of its 401(k) match terms: it matches a rate set at the sponsor's discretion on the first 6% of pay.

From the Form 11-K filed June 15, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

What Ball puts in, and what the plan costs

What Ball put into the plan, per active participant

$6,063

Ball Corporation put $6,063 into this plan for each of its 4,616 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Ball put in more per active participant than 80% of plans with 5,000+ participants in industrial and materials manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 178 reported $3,585. Industrial and materials manufacturing comes from business code 332900, which Ball entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Ball pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 350160610, plan 030 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

What Ball puts in

Not stated in the filing

Only part of the match formula is disclosed in the filing, so the yearly dollars cannot be computed from it.

The Form 5500 for this plan reports what Ball actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Voya ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.

Vesting score

100 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleImmediate

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Participants are fully vested in their own contributions and related earnings, any Company matching contributions and certain additional Company contributions, including related earnings. Vesting in the NECC is based on completed years of service. A participant becomes 100 percent vested in the NECC after three completed years of service.”
True-up after year endStated in the filing

The plan tops the match up after year end, so contributing unevenly through the year does not cost the worker part of it.

The same match paragraph, word for word
“The Company generally makes a matching contribution each pay period that is based on the percentage of eligible pay that the participant contributes. The Company matching contribution and the ratio of the Company matching contribution to the participant contribution differs depending on the employee group in which the participant belongs. The maximum percentage of eligible pay which the Company will match is 6 percent. The Plan includes matching provisions in accordance with the provisions of the applicable union contracts.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

73rd percentile

$82.38 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 73% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What is Ball's 401(k) match formula?

Ball discloses only part of its 401(k) match terms in this filing. The match is deposited each payroll and the plan pays an annual true-up. What an annual true-up repays is the arithmetic behind that line: it matters most in a year when contributions land unevenly.

Match formulaA rate set at the sponsor's discretion on the first 6% of pay
True-upA year-end recalculation that repays match lost to uneven contributions.Yes, annual true-up
DepositedEach payroll
Paid in company stockNo, paid in cash or per your investment elections
ConditionsThe match rate and the ratio of match to participant contribution differ by employee group; the maximum percentage of eligible pay matched is 6 percent; union contract provisions govern for bargaining employees; the true-up contribution generally requires employment on the last day of the plan year
Other employer contributionNon-Elective Company Contribution (NECC) of 5% of 401(k) eligible earnings, paid annually after December 31, for salaried and non-union hourly employees hired on or after January 1, 2022 who are employed on the last day of the calendar year
Other employer contributionAdditional contributions for some employee groups, generally each pay period based on eligible hours worked ($905,971 in 2025)
Other employer contributionBATC Performance Sharing Match of up to 2.0% of eligible earnings times a performance factor ended with the February 2024 sale of Ball Aerospace; no contributions of this type in 2025
What the filing says, word for word
“The Company generally makes a matching contribution each pay period that is based on the percentage of eligible pay that the participant contributes. The Company matching contribution and the ratio of the Company matching contribution to the participant contribution differs depending on the employee group in which the participant belongs. The maximum percentage of eligible pay which the Company will match is 6 percent. The Plan includes matching provisions in accordance with the provisions of the applicable union contracts.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 15, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗

What is Ball's 401(k) vesting schedule?

Ball vests the employer match immediately: 100% is yours as soon as it is paid in. Nothing is forfeited when you leave, which is not true of the two schedules that vest over time.

Employer match vestingImmediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed
Your own contributionsImmediate: always 100% yours
Accelerated vesting100 percent vested upon Plan termination
Other employer contributionsThe NECC vests 100 percent after three completed years of service
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are fully vested in their own contributions and related earnings, any Company matching contributions and certain additional Company contributions, including related earnings. Vesting in the NECC is based on completed years of service. A participant becomes 100 percent vested in the NECC after three completed years of service.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 15, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join Ball's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

Ball enrolls new hires automatically; the filing does not state the default deferral rate.

Plan entryAll U.S. salaried and hourly employees over 18 years of age in participating subsidiaries are eligible beginning with the first day of employment; beginning January 1, 2025 there is no service hour requirement for temporary or seasonal employees
Automatic enrollmentYes: 30-day opt-out window; default investment: Date-specific Target Retirement fund that most closely matches the participant's expected retirement year, based on an assumed retirement age of 65
Eligibility, word for word
“All U.S. salaried and hourly employees of the Company, who are over 18 years of age and are in participating subsidiaries, are eligible to participate in the Plan. Employees who are considered temporary or seasonal become eligible upon completion of 1,000 hours of service in a computation period, as defined by the Plan Document. Beginning January 1, 2025, there is no service hour requirement. Eligibility to participate in the Plan begins with the first day of employment. An eligible employee who does not make an election about his or her participation in the Plan is automatically enrolled 30 days after his or her eligibility date.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“The Plan provides for the automatic enrollment at a specified percentage of pre-tax deferral of eligible pay (as defined for each group in the Plan Document) for newly hired employees, unless the employee affirmatively elects not to make a pre-tax contribution or elects to make contributions of a different amount or via the Plan’s Roth feature. The Plan also provides an automatic one- step increase. Employees may opt-out of the automatic increases at any time.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 15, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Voya, filed as “VOYA INSTITUTIONAL PLAN SERVICES”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

915 plans on file name Voya as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 912 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $96.20 per participant.

Participants log in at Voya ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Voya or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20250606165910NAL0012860081001.
RecordkeeperVoya
Recordkeeper EIN043516284

What does the Ball plan report on Form 5500?

The Ball plan reported $2.3B in assets and 14,391 participants for plan year 2024.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 350160610, plan 030.
Plan named in the DOL recordBall Corporation 401(k) And Employee Stock Ownership Plan
Total plan assets$2,319,532,435
Participants14,391
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$82.38

How that cost compares

This plan pays $82.38 per participant. The median across plans in industrial and materials manufacturing is $142.19, from the 5,709 of 6,008 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

Ball Corporation 401(k) And Employee Stock Ownership Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials

How does Ball's 401(k) match compare?

Ball Corporation's filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.

Employers worth reading next

Of the six employers below, three file in industrial and materials manufacturing, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.

V F

Maximum match 6% of pay. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

Carpenter Technology

Employer match vests immediately. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

Trane Technologies

Maximum match 6% of pay. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

YUM! Brands

Maximum match 6% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Voya.

Olin

Employer match vests immediately. Same recordkeeper, Voya.

Balchem

Maximum match 6% of pay. Vests immediately too, like Ball.

Compare Ball Corporation with any company, side by side

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is Ball Corporation's 401(k) match?

Ball Corporation discloses only part of its match terms in the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Ball Corporation's Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $6,063 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

When does the Ball Corporation 401(k) match vest?

Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed.

Does Ball Corporation's 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?

Yes: 30-day opt-out window; default investment: Date-specific Target Retirement fund that most closely matches the participant's expected retirement year, based on an assumed retirement age of 65.

Who is the recordkeeper for Ball Corporation's 401(k)?

Voya is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Ball Corporation 401(k) And Employee Stock Ownership Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that Ball Corporation filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byBall Corporation
SEC CIK9389
Accession number0001104659-26-074003
PlanBall Corporation 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan
Period of reportDecember 31, 2025
FiledJune 15, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Ball Corporation, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “Ball Corporation 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0001104659-26-074003, plan year ended December 31, 2025.