National Fuel Gas Company 401(k): Vanguard, match 6% max
National Fuel Gas Company Tax-Deferred Savings Plan for Non-Union Employees · NFG · CIK 70145
Vanguard is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.
Maximum employer match, as a share of pay
6%
National Fuel Gas Company's 401(k) employer match runs up to 6% of pay, and the filing does not state the rate it matches at.
National Fuel Gas' Form 11-K filings for plan year 2025 describe two separate 401(k) plans. The terms on this page are read from the National Fuel Gas Company Tax-Deferred Savings Plan for Non-Union Employees. Not all of them state a match formula, so each one is listed below with the group it covers and what its filing says.
From the Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag
On this page: which plan you are in · what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next
Which National Fuel Gas 401(k) plan are you in?
National Fuel Gas' Form 11-K filings for this plan year describe two plans, and not all of them state a match formula. Find the plan you are in before you take a number off this page. The terms in the rest of the page are read from the National Fuel Gas Company Tax-Deferred Savings Plan for Non-Union Employees.
National Fuel Gas Company Tax-Deferred Savings Plan for Non-Union Employees (the plan this page answers for)
The filing states no limit on who this plan covers · Form 11-K ↗
Match not stated as a formula
National Fuel Gas Company Tax-Deferred Savings Plan
The filing states no limit on who this plan covers · Form 11-K ↗
Match not stated as a formula
One row per plan, taken from the two Form 11-K reports this site has read for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each maximum comes from that plan’s own filing and describes only that plan.
What National Fuel Gas puts in, and what the plan costs
What National Fuel Gas put into the plan, per active participant
$9,581
National Fuel Gas Company put $9,581 into this plan for each of its 1,216 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.
National Fuel Gas put in more per active participant than 96% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants at holding companies. The middle plan in that group of 157 reported $2,643. Holding companies comes from business code 551112, which National Fuel Gas entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much National Fuel Gas pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 131086010, plan 006 · DOL EFAST2 ↗
What National Fuel Gas puts in
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not state a formula that can be computed.
The Form 5500 for this plan reports what National Fuel Gas actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Vanguard ↗.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.
Vesting score
100 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Participants' accounts, including all salary reduction contributions, employer matching contributions, and the earnings thereon, are at all times fully vested and nonforfeitable.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
2nd percentile
$5.00 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 98% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants.
What is National Fuel Gas' 401(k) match formula?
National Fuel Gas' filing does not state a maximum 401(k) employer match. Filings state some formulas in full and others not at all. The four shapes a formula takes shows what is missing here.
| Maximum employer match | 6% of compensation |
|---|---|
| Paid in company stock | Yes |
| Conditions | the Company makes an employer matching contribution that ranges from 2% to 6% of the participant's base salary, depending on the employee group and rate of salary reduction contributions. |
| Other employer contribution | Participants eligible for the Retirement Savings Account benefit receive a Company contribution of 3% or 4% of the participant’s compensation (in addition to any employer matching contributions under the Plan), depending on the participant’s years of service. |
| Other employer contribution | Effective July 1, 2019, the Company may make a Qualified Non-Elective Contribution (“QNEC”) to the Plan in such amount as it, in its sole discretion, may determine. |
What the filing says, word for word
“the Company makes an employer matching contribution that ranges from 2% to 6% of the participant's base salary, depending on the employee group and rate of salary reduction contributions.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗
What is National Fuel Gas' 401(k) vesting schedule?
National Fuel Gas vests the employer match immediately: 100% is yours as soon as it is paid in. Nothing is forfeited when you leave, which is not true of the two schedules that vest over time.
| Employer match vesting | Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed |
|---|---|
| Your own contributions | Immediate: always 100% yours |
| Other employer contributions | Participants’ accounts within the Retirement Savings Account are 100% vested following five years of service for all pre-January 1, 2007 employer contributions, and following three years of service for all employer contributions thereafter. |
Vesting, word for word
“Participants' accounts, including all salary reduction contributions, employer matching contributions, and the earnings thereon, are at all times fully vested and nonforfeitable.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who can join National Fuel Gas' 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?
National Fuel Gas enrolls new hires automatically; the filing does not state the default deferral rate.
| Plan entry | Eligible non-union employees may participate if they are at least 18, meet the service requirement and work at least 1,000 hours (or three continuous months of full-time employment). |
|---|---|
| Excluded groups | Employees who are employed as student clerks, student interns, or individuals whose employment is through a cooperative educational program, are not eligible to participate in the Plan. |
| Automatic enrollment | Yes: |
Eligibility, word for word
“Eligible non-union employees may participate if they are at least 18, meet the service requirement and work at least 1,000 hours (or three continuous months of full-time employment).”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“The Plan also contains an automatic enrollment feature.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who holds your account
Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Vanguard, filed as “THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
2,337 plans on file name Vanguard as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 2,333 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.87 per participant.
Participants log in at Vanguard ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Vanguard or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Vanguard |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EIN | 231945930 |
What does the National Fuel Gas plan report on Form 5500?
The National Fuel Gas plan reported $438.4M in assets and 1,576 participants for plan year 2024.
| Total plan assets | $438,440,648 |
|---|---|
| Participants | 1,576 |
| Plan-paid admin cost per participant | $5.00 |
How that cost compares
This plan pays $5.00 per participant. The median across plans at holding companies is $106.24, from the 612 of 643 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.
Read from the Form 5500 filing of National Fuel Gas Company Tax Deferred Savings Plan For Non-Union Employees, which has no page of its own here.
How does National Fuel Gas' 401(k) match compare?
National Fuel Gas Company's filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.
Employers worth reading next
Of the six employers below, three file at holding companies, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.
Employer match vests immediately. Also at holding companies.
No employer match in the filing. Also at holding companies.
Match vests in steps, 100% after 6 years. Also at holding companies.
Match vests in steps, 100% after 5 years. Same recordkeeper, Vanguard.
Employer match vests immediately. Same recordkeeper, Vanguard.
Maximum match 6% of pay. Vests immediately too, like National Fuel Gas.
Compare National Fuel Gas Company with any company, side by side
What do National Fuel Gas' other 401(k) plans say?
National Fuel Gas Company Tax-Deferred Savings Plan
The filing states no limit on who this plan covers
National Fuel Gas Company's match terms are set by collective bargaining agreements; the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025 does not state a single formula.
- Employer match vesting
- Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed
- Automatic enrollment
- Not mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence)
What the filing says, word for word
“the Company makes an employer matching contribution that ranges from 1.25% to 5.0% of the participants' base pay depending upon rate of wage reduction contributions and, for certain union members, their years of service.”
What can you do next?
- Read the Form 11-K on SEC EDGAR ↗
Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026, SEC EDGAR. Every match fact on this page comes from it.
- Changed jobs? Find an old 401(k) ↗
The Department of Labor's Retirement Savings Lost & Found, a free government database.
- This year's IRS contribution limits ↗
The official deferral and catch-up limits every formula operates under.
Questions this filing answers
What is National Fuel Gas Company's 401(k) match?
National Fuel Gas Company discloses its match formula in the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025.
When does the National Fuel Gas Company 401(k) match vest?
Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed.
Does National Fuel Gas Company's 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?
Yes: .
Who is the recordkeeper for National Fuel Gas Company's 401(k)?
Vanguard is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for National Fuel Gas Company Tax Deferred Savings Plan For Non-Union Employees for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.
Source
The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that National Fuel Gas Company filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.
The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.
Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗
| Document | Form 11-K annual report |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) |
| Filed by | National Fuel Gas Company |
| SEC CIK | 70145 |
| Accession number | 0000070145-26-000023 |
| Plan | National Fuel Gas Company Tax-Deferred Savings Plan for Non-Union Employees |
| Period of report | December 31, 2025 |
| Filed | June 25, 2026 |
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with National Fuel Gas Company, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, “National Fuel Gas Company 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000070145-26-000023, plan year ended December 31, 2025.