401(k) Monitor

GATX CORP 401(k) for hourly employees: Fidelity, match vests immediately

GATX Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan · GATX · CIK 40211

Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

The 401(k) employer match

Set by collective bargaining

The GATX hourly plan's 401(k) match terms are set by collective-bargaining agreements, so the filing states no single company-wide formula.

The match, vesting and enrollment terms below are for hourly employees: they are read from the GATX Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan. GATX's Form 11-K filings for plan year 2025 describe two separate 401(k) plans. Not all of them state a match formula, so each one is listed below with the group it covers and what its filing says.

From the Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: which plan you are in · what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

Which GATX 401(k) plan are you in?

GATX's Form 11-K filings for this plan year describe two plans, and not all of them state a match formula. Find the plan you are in before you take a number off this page. The terms in the rest of the page are read from the GATX Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan.

GATX Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan (the plan this page answers for)

Hourly employees · Form 11-K ↗

Match not stated as a formula

GATX Corporation Salaried Employees Retirement Savings Plan

Salaried employees · Form 11-K ↗

4.5% of pay, at most

One row per plan, taken from the two Form 11-K reports this site has read for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each maximum comes from that plan’s own filing and describes only that plan.

What the GATX hourly plan puts in, and what the plan costs

What GATX put into the plan, per active participant

$897

GATX CORP put $897 into this plan for each of its 718 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

GATX put in less per active participant than 83% of plans with 500–999 participants at holding companies. The middle plan in that group of 106 reported $2,117. Holding companies comes from business code 551112, which GATX entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

Both filings are for the GATX Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan, which covers hourly employees, so this figure and the terms above describe the same group.

What this figure cannot separate: how much GATX pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 361124040, plan 004 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

What the GATX hourly plan puts in

Not stated in the filing

Match terms are set by collective-bargaining agreements, so the filing states no single rate for all employees.

The Form 5500 for this plan reports what GATX actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Fidelity NetBenefits ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.

Vesting score

100 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleImmediate

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Participants are immediately 100% vested in their account balances.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

8th percentile

$14.87 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 92% of plans with 500–999 participants.

What is the GATX hourly plan's 401(k) match formula?

The GATX hourly plan's 401(k) match terms are set by collective-bargaining agreements, so the filing states no single company-wide formula. A bargained plan can run several formulas at once, one per agreement, and each states the same parts: a rate, a band of pay and a ceiling.

Match formula50% of the first 6% of pay
Maximum employer match3% of compensation
Rate actually paid this plan yearAs reported in the filing.For 2025 and 2024, the Company made matching contributions at this level.
Paid in company stockNo, paid in cash or per your investment elections
ConditionsFor participants at various union locations, the matching contribution level depends on the terms of the applicable collective bargaining agreement; at its discretion the Company may make an additional matching contribution for eligible participants.
What the filing says, word for word
“For participants at various union locations and depending on the terms of the applicable collective bargaining agreement, the Company may contribute on behalf of the participants a matching contribution of $0.50 for each $1.00 contributed by a participant, up to 6% of the participant's eligible compensation contributed to the Plan. For 2025 and 2024, the Company made matching contributions at this level.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗

What is the GATX hourly plan's 401(k) vesting schedule?

The GATX hourly plan vests the employer match immediately: 100% is yours as soon as it is paid in. Nothing is forfeited when you leave, which is not true of the two schedules that vest over time.

Employer match vestingImmediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed
Your own contributionsImmediate: always 100% yours
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are immediately 100% vested in their account balances.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join the GATX hourly plan's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

The GATX hourly plan's filing does not mention automatic enrollment, which is not the same as the plan having none.

Plan entryfor hourly union employees of GATX who have completed at least 520 hours of service.
Automatic enrollmentNot mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence)
Eligibility, word for word
“The Plan is a defined-contribution plan, established January 1, 1994, for hourly union employees of GATX who have completed at least 520 hours of service.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 26, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 10,022 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.71 per participant.

Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20251002141340NAL0000386083001.
RecordkeeperFidelity Investments
Recordkeeper EIN042647786

What does the GATX plan report on Form 5500?

The GATX plan reported $23.6M in assets and 541 participants for plan year 2024.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 361124040, plan 004.
Total plan assets$23,636,219
Participants541
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$14.87

How that cost compares

This plan pays $14.87 per participant. The median across plans at holding companies is $106.24, from the 612 of 643 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

Read from the Form 5500 filing of Gatx Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan, which has no page of its own here.

How does the GATX hourly plan's 401(k) match compare?

The GATX hourly plan's filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.

Employers worth reading next

Of the six employers below, three file at holding companies, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.

Chemed

Match vests in steps, 100% after 6 years. Also at holding companies.

National Fuel Gas

Employer match vests immediately. Also at holding companies.

Wells Fargo

Maximum match 6% of pay. Also at holding companies.

Commerce Bancshares

Employer match vests in full after 3 years. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

HNI

Employer match vests immediately. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

Fulton Financial

Maximum match 5% of pay. Vests immediately too, like GATX.

Compare GATX CORP with any company, side by side

What do GATX's other 401(k) plans say?

GATX Corporation Salaried Employees Retirement Savings Plan

Salaried employees

GATX Corporation matches 100% (dollar-for-dollar) of the first 3% of pay, then 50% of the next 3% of pay, for a maximum employer match of 4.5% of compensation (plan year ended December 31, 2025).

Employer match vesting
Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed
Automatic enrollment
Yes: default deferral 3% of pay; 60-day opt-out window
What the filing says, word for word
“After a participant completes six months of service, the Company may contribute on behalf of the participant a matching contribution of $1.00 for each $1.00 contributed by the participant up to 3% and $0.50 for each $1.00 contributed by the participant on up to an additional 3% of the participant's eligible compensation contributed to the Plan. For 2025 and 2024 the Company made matching contributions at these levels.”

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is GATX CORP's 401(k) match for hourly employees?

The GATX Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan covers hourly employees. GATX Corporation's match terms are set by collective bargaining agreements; the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025 does not state a single formula. For that year the company reports: For 2025 and 2024, the Company made matching contributions at this level.. GATX CORP's Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $897 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

When does the GATX CORP 401(k) match vest for hourly employees?

Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed.

Does GATX CORP's 401(k) plan for hourly employees have automatic enrollment?

Not mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence).

Who is the recordkeeper for GATX CORP's 401(k) for hourly employees?

Fidelity Investments is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Gatx Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that GATX CORP filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byGATX CORP
SEC CIK40211
Accession number0000040211-26-000065
PlanGATX Corporation Hourly Employees Retirement Savings Plan
Period of reportDecember 31, 2025
FiledJune 26, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with GATX CORP, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “GATX CORP 401(k) plan facts for hourly employees”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000040211-26-000065, plan year ended December 31, 2025.