401(k) Monitor

Commerce Bancshares, Inc. 401(k): Fidelity, match 7% max

Commerce Bancshares, Inc. Participating Investment Plan · CBSH · CIK 22356

Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing.

Maximum employer match, as a share of pay

7%

Commerce Bancshares, Inc.'s 401(k) employer match runs up to 7% of pay, and the filing does not state the rate it matches at.

From the Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

What Commerce Bancshares puts in, and what the plan costs

What Commerce Bancshares put into the plan, per active participant

$4,147

Commerce Bancshares, Inc. put $4,147 into this plan for each of its 4,874 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Commerce Bancshares put in less per active participant than 63% of plans with 5,000+ participants at banks and lenders. The middle plan in that group of 66 reported $4,881. Banks and lenders comes from business code 522110, which Commerce Bancshares entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Commerce Bancshares pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 430889454, plan 002 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

What Commerce Bancshares puts in

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state a formula that can be computed.

The Form 5500 for this plan reports what Commerce Bancshares actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Fidelity NetBenefits ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.

Vesting score

57.14 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 5% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleCliff, 3 years

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 0%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Participants are vested immediately in their contributions plus actual earnings thereon, however, only upon termination of employment are participants entitled to receive their contributions and accumulated earnings thereon. Current Company matching contributions are subject to the following vesting schedule:”
True-up after year endStated in the filing

The plan tops the match up after year end, so contributing unevenly through the year does not cost the worker part of it.

The same match paragraph, word for word
“The Company's matching contribution is a graded matching percentage from 50% - 100% determined by age plus years of employment on the first 7% of eligible compensation. The Company makes true-up matching contributions to participants who contribute the IRS maximum before the end of the year and, as a result, would not receive the full employer matching contribution.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

Not reported

The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.

What is Commerce Bancshares' 401(k) match formula?

Commerce Bancshares' filing does not state a maximum 401(k) employer match. The plan pays an annual true-up. What an annual true-up repays is the arithmetic behind that line: it matters most in a year when contributions land unevenly.

Maximum employer match7% of compensation
True-upA year-end recalculation that repays match lost to uneven contributions.Yes, annual true-up
ConditionsThe Company's matching contribution is a graded matching percentage from 50% to 100%, determined by the participant's age plus years of employment, applied to the first 7% of eligible compensation.
Other employer contributionThe Company may make a discretionary contribution; none was made in 2025 or 2024
What the filing says, word for word
“The Company's matching contribution is a graded matching percentage from 50% - 100% determined by age plus years of employment on the first 7% of eligible compensation. The Company makes true-up matching contributions to participants who contribute the IRS maximum before the end of the year and, as a result, would not receive the full employer matching contribution.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗

What is Commerce Bancshares' 401(k) vesting schedule?

Commerce Bancshares vests the employer match on a cliff schedule: nothing is yours until three years of service, then 100% at once. Leave a day early and the employer money goes back to the plan, the edge a three-year cliff creates.

Employer match vestingCliff: 100% vested after 3 years of service
Your own contributionsImmediate: always 100% yours
Year of serviceGenerally each Plan year during which the participant earns at least 1,000 hours of service and is over the age of 21.
Accelerated vestingA participant will become fully vested in the value of all Company contributions in the event of death, permanent and total disability, or retirement on or after age 65, regardless of the participant's years of vesting service.
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are vested immediately in their contributions plus actual earnings thereon, however, only upon termination of employment are participants entitled to receive their contributions and accumulated earnings thereon. Current Company matching contributions are subject to the following vesting schedule:”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join Commerce Bancshares' 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

Commerce Bancshares' filing does not mention automatic enrollment, which is not the same as the plan having none.

Plan entryThe Plan is a defined contribution plan that is qualified under section 401 of the Internal Revenue Code and covers employees of Commerce Bancshares, Inc. (the Company) or a participating subsidiary who are 21 years or older. Employees are eligible to participate as of the first day of the month following the completion of thirty days of service.
Automatic enrollmentNot mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence)
Eligibility, word for word
“The Plan is a defined contribution plan that is qualified under section 401 of the Internal Revenue Code and covers employees of Commerce Bancshares, Inc. (the Company) or a participating subsidiary who are 21 years or older. Employees are eligible to participate as of the first day of the month following the completion of thirty days of service.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 10,022 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.71 per participant.

Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20250924125920NAL0008172096001.
RecordkeeperFidelity Investments
Recordkeeper EIN042647786

What does the Commerce Bancshares plan report on Form 5500?

The Commerce Bancshares plan reported $1.1B in assets and 5,743 participants for plan year 2024.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 430889454, plan 002.
Plan named in the DOL recordCommerce Bancshares, Inc. Participating Investment Plan
Total plan assets$1,098,953,920
Participants5,743

How that cost compares

It is one of 2,264 plans at banks and lenders in the Form 5500 data we publish.

Commerce Bancshares, Inc. Participating Investment Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials

How does Commerce Bancshares' 401(k) match compare?

Commerce Bancshares, Inc.'s filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.

Employers worth reading next

Of the six employers below, three file at banks and lenders, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.

Arrow Financial

No employer match in the filing. Also at banks and lenders.

COMMUNITY TRUST BANCORP /KY/

No match; the employer contributes on its own. Also at banks and lenders.

KeyCorp

Maximum match 7% of pay. Also at banks and lenders.

AT&T

Match formula not disclosed in the filing. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

GATX

Employer match vests immediately. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

Cincinnati Financial

Maximum match 6% of pay. Same 3-year cliff as Commerce Bancshares.

Compare Commerce Bancshares, Inc. with any company, side by side

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is Commerce Bancshares, Inc.'s 401(k) match?

Commerce Bancshares, Inc. discloses its match formula in the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025.

When does the Commerce Bancshares, Inc. 401(k) match vest?

Cliff: 100% vested after 3 years of service.

Does Commerce Bancshares, Inc.'s 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?

Not mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence).

Who is the recordkeeper for Commerce Bancshares, Inc.'s 401(k)?

Fidelity Investments is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Commerce Bancshares, Inc. Participating Investment Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that Commerce Bancshares, Inc. filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byCommerce Bancshares, Inc.
SEC CIK22356
Accession number0000022356-26-000163
PlanCommerce Bancshares, Inc. Participating Investment Plan
Period of reportDecember 31, 2025
FiledJune 22, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Commerce Bancshares, Inc., with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “Commerce Bancshares, Inc. 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000022356-26-000163, plan year ended December 31, 2025.