401(k) Monitor

AT&T Inc. 401(k): Fidelity

AT&T Retirement Savings Plan · T · CIK 732717

Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

The 401(k) employer match

Not stated in this filing

AT&T Inc.'s Form 11-K does not state a 401(k) match formula and defers to the plan document.

AT&T's Form 11-K filing for plan year 2025 describes two separate 401(k) plans. The terms on this page are read from the AT&T Retirement Savings Plan. Not all of them state a match formula, so each one is listed below with the group it covers and what its filing says. AT&T filed four Form 11-K reports for plan year 2025, of which one has been read. The other three reports have not, so this page cannot say what the plans they cover pay.

From the Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: which plan you are in · what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

Which AT&T 401(k) plan are you in?

AT&T's Form 11-K filing for this plan year describes two plans, and not all of them state a match formula. Find the plan you are in before you take a number off this page. The terms in the rest of the page are read from the AT&T Retirement Savings Plan.

AT&T Retirement Savings Plan (the plan this page answers for)

The filing states no limit on who this plan covers · Form 11-K ↗

Match not stated as a formula

AT&T Puerto Rico Retirement Savings Plan

Employees in Puerto Rico · Form 11-K ↗

Match not stated as a formula

One row per plan, taken from the Form 11-K report this site has read for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each maximum comes from that plan’s own filing and describes only that plan. Three further reports have not been read, so any plan they describe is not in this list.

What AT&T puts in, and what the plan costs

What AT&T put into the plan, per active participant

$5,106

AT&T Inc. put $5,106 into this plan for each of its 102,760 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

AT&T put in more per active participant than 62% of plans with 5,000+ participants in media, telecom and information. The middle plan in that group of 62 reported $3,707. Media, telecom and information comes from business code 517000, which AT&T entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much AT&T pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 431301883, plan 009 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

What AT&T puts in

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not disclose a match formula.

The Form 5500 for this plan reports what AT&T actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Fidelity NetBenefits ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.

Vesting score

Not scored

The filing does not state a vesting schedule for the employer match.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

Vesting scheduleNot stated in the filing

The filing does not state a vesting schedule for the employer match.

Vesting, word for word
“Detailed provisions covering participant eligibility, participant allotments from pay, participant withdrawals, participant loans, employer contributions and related vesting of contributions and plan expenses are provided in the plan texts and prospectuses.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

74th percentile

$83.16 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 74% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What is AT&T's 401(k) match formula?

AT&T's Form 11-K does not disclose a 401(k) match formula and defers to the plan document. How a match formula is built sets out the parts to look for in your own plan documents.

Paid in company stockYes
What the filing says, word for word
“The Company contributes to the Plans by matching the participants' contributions based on the provisions of the respective plan.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

What is AT&T's 401(k) vesting schedule?

AT&T's filing does not disclose when the employer match vests. Plans use one of three schedules, and what each one does when you leave is the part that decides how much you keep.

Employer match vestingNot disclosed in the filing
Your own contributionsNot disclosed in the filing
Vesting, word for word
“Detailed provisions covering participant eligibility, participant allotments from pay, participant withdrawals, participant loans, employer contributions and related vesting of contributions and plan expenses are provided in the plan texts and prospectuses.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join AT&T's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

AT&T's filing does not mention automatic enrollment, which is not the same as the plan having none.

Automatic enrollmentNot mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence)

Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 10,022 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.71 per participant.

Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20251008164602NAL0010190992001.
RecordkeeperFidelity Investments
Recordkeeper EIN042647786

What does the AT&T plan report on Form 5500?

The AT&T plan reported $43.1B in assets and 203,226 participants for plan year 2024.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 431301883, plan 009.
Total plan assets$43,121,795,000
Participants203,226
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$83.16

How that cost compares

This plan pays $83.16 per participant. The median across plans in media, telecom and information is $121.00, from the 1,035 of 1,108 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

AT&T Retirement Savings Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials

How does AT&T's 401(k) match compare?

AT&T Inc.'s filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.

Employers worth reading next

Of the five employers below, three file in media, telecom and information and two report the same recordkeeper.

Verizon Communications

Maximum match 6% of pay. Also in media, telecom and information.

Charter Communications

No match; the employer contributes on its own. Also in media, telecom and information.

TEGNA

Maximum match 4% of pay. Also in media, telecom and information.

Hess

Maximum match 7.98% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

Commerce Bancshares

Employer match vests in full after 3 years. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

Compare AT&T Inc. with any company, side by side

What do AT&T's other 401(k) plans say?

AT&T Puerto Rico Retirement Savings Plan

Employees in Puerto Rico

AT&T Inc.'s 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025 does not disclose a match formula; it defers to the plan document and prospectus.

Employer match vesting
Not disclosed in the filing
Automatic enrollment
Not mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence)
What the filing says, word for word
“The Company contributes to the Plans by matching the participants' contributions based on the provisions of the respective plan. For the ARSP, some matching contributions are made in the form of cash and are participant directed immediately upon allocation. The majority of Company matching contributions for the ARSP and all Company matching contributions for the ARSP-PR are made solely in the form of shares of AT&T's common stock.”

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is AT&T Inc.'s 401(k) match?

AT&T Inc.'s 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025 does not disclose a match formula; it defers to the plan document and prospectus. AT&T Inc.'s Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $5,106 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

When does the AT&T Inc. 401(k) match vest?

Not disclosed in the filing.

Does AT&T Inc.'s 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?

Not mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence).

Who is the recordkeeper for AT&T Inc.'s 401(k)?

Fidelity Investments is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for AT&T Retirement Savings Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that AT&T Inc. filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byAT&T Inc.
SEC CIK732717
Accession number0000732717-26-000270
PlanAT&T Retirement Savings Plan
Period of reportDecember 31, 2025
FiledJune 22, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with AT&T Inc., with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “AT&T Inc. 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000732717-26-000270, plan year ended December 31, 2025.