Charter Communications, Inc. 401(k) match
Charter Communications, Inc. Retirement Accumulation Plan · CHTR · CIK 1091667
The 401(k) employer match
No match on what you put in
Charter Communications, Inc. contributes to the plan on its own and matches nothing employees put in.
From the Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag
On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next
What Charter Communications puts in, and what the plan costs
What Charter Communications put into the plan, per active participant
$3,572
Charter Communications, Inc. put $3,572 into this plan for each of its 94,858 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.
Charter Communications put in less per active participant than 54% of plans with 5,000+ participants in media, telecom and information. The middle plan in that group of 62 reported $3,707. Media, telecom and information comes from business code 517000, which Charter Communications entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Charter Communications pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 841496755, plan 004 · DOL EFAST2 ↗
The $3,572 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Charter Communications, Inc. also files a Form 11-K, which states what the employer contributes for plan year 2025: the card below reads $1,485 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.
What Charter Communications puts in
$1,485
a year, at a $49,500 salary.
The employer contributes 3% of pay whether or not the worker contributes. There is no match to collect, so contributing more does not change this figure.
The match paragraph, word for word
“Employees may not contribute to the Plan. The employer contribution equals 3% of the participant's eligible payroll compensation. Effective January 1, 2025, employer contributions are made to the Plan annually following the close of that plan year provided the employee was employed by the Company on December 31 of that year.”
What you contribute to collect all of it
Nothing.
There is no match to collect. The employer contributes whether or not you do.
Vesting score
57.14 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 5% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 0%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Company contributions and the earnings thereon generally vest based upon a number of full years of service within a period of service, as defined in the Plan, as follows: Vested Number of Full Years within Period of Service Percentage Less than 3 —% 3 or more 100% Nonvested amounts are forfeited if an employee terminates prior to fully vesting. In the event of the death or disability of a participant, the participant will automatically become fully vested.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
Not reported
The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.
What is Charter Communications' 401(k) match formula?
Charter Communications contributes to the plan on its own and matches nothing employees put in. The match is deposited once a year. Employer money that does not depend on what you put in is not a match, whatever the plan calls it. What counts as a match sets out the difference.
| Deposited | Once a year |
|---|---|
| Conditions | Effective January 1, 2025, employer contributions are made to the Plan annually following the close of that plan year provided the employee was employed by the Company on December 31 of that year |
| Other employer contribution | Nonelective employer contribution equal to 3% of the participant's eligible payroll compensation (employees may not contribute to this Plan; it is entirely employer-funded) |
Charter Communications appears in our match-change tracker. We keep a dated page for it: Charter Communications changed the rules of its 401(k) employer contribution, effective January 1, 2025.
What the filing says, word for word
“Employees may not contribute to the Plan. The employer contribution equals 3% of the participant's eligible payroll compensation. Effective January 1, 2025, employer contributions are made to the Plan annually following the close of that plan year provided the employee was employed by the Company on December 31 of that year.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗
What is Charter Communications' 401(k) vesting schedule?
Charter Communications vests employer contributions to the plan on a cliff schedule: nothing is yours until three years of service, then 100% at once. Leave a day early and the employer money goes back to the plan, the edge a three-year cliff creates.
| Employer match vesting | Cliff: 100% vested after 3 years of service |
|---|---|
| Your own contributions | Not disclosed in the filing |
| Year of service | Number of full years of service within a period of service, as defined in the Plan |
| Accelerated vesting | In the event of the death or disability of a participant, the participant automatically becomes fully vested; participants also become fully vested upon Plan termination |
| Other employer contributions | The Plan has no matching contribution; the 3-year cliff schedule shown under employer_match applies to the Company's nonelective contributions, which are the only contributions to the Plan |
Vesting, word for word
“Company contributions and the earnings thereon generally vest based upon a number of full years of service within a period of service, as defined in the Plan, as follows: Vested Number of Full Years within Period of Service Percentage Less than 3 —% 3 or more 100% Nonvested amounts are forfeited if an employee terminates prior to fully vesting. In the event of the death or disability of a participant, the participant will automatically become fully vested.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who can join Charter Communications' 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?
Charter Communications' filing does not mention automatic enrollment, which is not the same as the plan having none.
| Plan entry | First day of the calendar month coinciding with or following 90 days of employment |
|---|---|
| Excluded groups | Employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement, unless their agreement expressly states eligibility |
| Automatic enrollment | Not mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence) |
Eligibility, word for word
“Most employees of the Company become eligible to participate in the Plan on the first day of the calendar month coinciding with or following 90 days of employment. Most employees are generally eligible to participate. Employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement are not covered by this Plan unless their agreement expressly states eligibility.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
What does the Charter Communications plan report on Form 5500?
The Charter Communications plan reported $8.9B in assets and 128,248 participants for plan year 2024.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
| Plan named in the DOL record | Charter Communications, Inc. 401(k) Savings Plan |
|---|---|
| Total plan assets | $8,948,538,930 |
| Participants | 128,248 |
| Recordkeeper | Fidelity Management Trust Company (Recordkeeper And Trustee) |
How that cost compares
It is one of 1,108 plans in media, telecom and information in the Form 5500 data we publish.
How does Charter Communications' 401(k) match compare?
Charter Communications, Inc. pays no employer 401(k) match. Across the 269 companies in our data with a computable formula, the median maximum match is 4% of pay.
Employers worth reading next
Of the five employers below, two disclose no employer match either and three file in media, telecom and information.
No employer match in the filing. Discloses no employer match either.
No match; the employer contributes on its own. Discloses no employer match either.
Match formula not disclosed in the filing. Also in media, telecom and information.
Employer match vests immediately. Also in media, telecom and information.
Maximum match 6% of pay. Also in media, telecom and information.
Compare Charter Communications, Inc. with any company, side by side
What can you do next?
- Read the Form 11-K on SEC EDGAR ↗
Form 11-K filed June 22, 2026, SEC EDGAR. Every match fact on this page comes from it.
- Changed jobs? Find an old 401(k) ↗
The Department of Labor's Retirement Savings Lost & Found, a free government database.
- This year's IRS contribution limits ↗
The official deferral and catch-up limits every formula operates under.
Questions this filing answers
What is Charter Communications, Inc.'s 401(k) match?
Charter Communications, Inc. makes a non-elective employer contribution; it does not match employee deferrals (plan year ended December 31, 2025). Charter Communications, Inc.'s Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $3,572 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
When does the Charter Communications, Inc. 401(k) match vest?
Cliff: 100% vested after 3 years of service.
Does Charter Communications, Inc.'s 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?
Not mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence).
Source
The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that Charter Communications, Inc. filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.
The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.
Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗
| Document | Form 11-K annual report |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) |
| Filed by | Charter Communications, Inc. |
| SEC CIK | 1091667 |
| Accession number | 0001091667-26-000041 |
| Plan | Charter Communications, Inc. Retirement Accumulation Plan |
| Period of report | December 31, 2025 |
| Filed | June 22, 2026 |
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Charter Communications, Inc., with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, “Charter Communications, Inc. 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0001091667-26-000041, plan year ended December 31, 2025.