HNI CORP 401(k): Fidelity, match vests immediately
HNI Corporation 401(k) Plan · HNI · CIK 48287
Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing.
The 401(k) employer match
Not stated in this filing
HNI CORP's Form 11-K does not state a 401(k) match formula and defers to the plan document.
From the Form 11-K filed June 17, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag
On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next
What HNI puts in, and what the plan costs
What HNI put into the plan, per active participant
$3,727
HNI CORP put $3,727 into this plan for each of its 6,819 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.
HNI put in less per active participant than 60% of plans with 5,000+ participants in medical devices and other manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 81 reported $4,432. Medical devices and other manufacturing comes from business code 337000, which HNI entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
What this figure cannot separate: how much HNI pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 420617510, plan 001 · DOL EFAST2 ↗
What HNI puts in
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not disclose a match formula.
The Form 5500 for this plan reports what HNI actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Fidelity NetBenefits ↗.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.
Vesting score
100 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“New participants in the Plan generally will be immediately vested in their entire account. All other participants with active accounts are fully vested in their entire account; however, amounts held in the Outdoor Greatroom (OG) Plan Matching Account and OG Nonelective Account and the Kimball International Retirement Plan (KII) effective as of their respective merger dates are subject to the vesting schedules shown below:”
The plan tops the match up after year end, so contributing unevenly through the year does not cost the worker part of it.
The same match paragraph, word for word
“Certain subsidiaries/divisions provide Employer matching contributions. The Company made Employer matching contributions, net of forfeitures, of $25,576,016 for the 2025 plan year, plus minor prior-year true-up contributions of $8,348.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
49th percentile
$54.32 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 51% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
What is HNI's 401(k) match formula?
HNI's Form 11-K does not disclose a 401(k) match formula and defers to the plan document. The plan pays an annual true-up. How a match formula is built sets out the parts to look for in your own plan documents.
| True-upA year-end recalculation that repays match lost to uneven contributions. | Yes, annual true-up |
|---|---|
| Other employer contribution | Company ownership contribution: the Company may elect to contribute a number of shares of Company stock with a fair market value equal to a certain percentage of a participant's compensation earned (percentage not stated); noncash contribution of $4,994,445 for the 2025 plan year plus $2,562 of prior-year true-up in 2025. |
| Other employer contribution | Profit-sharing contributions: each subsidiary/division may make additional Employer contributions from accumulated profits at the discretion of the Board of Directors; the Company did not elect to make any discretionary or profit sharing contributions for the 2025 plan year. |
What the filing says, word for word
“Certain subsidiaries/divisions provide Employer matching contributions. The Company made Employer matching contributions, net of forfeitures, of $25,576,016 for the 2025 plan year, plus minor prior-year true-up contributions of $8,348.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 17, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗
What is HNI's 401(k) vesting schedule?
HNI vests the employer match immediately: 100% is yours as soon as it is paid in. Nothing is forfeited when you leave, which is not true of the two schedules that vest over time.
| Employer match vesting | Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed |
|---|---|
| Your own contributions | Immediate: always 100% yours |
| Year of service | General rule is immediate vesting; however amounts held in the Outdoor Greatroom (OG) Plan Matching/Nonelective Accounts and the Kimball International Retirement Plan (KII) accounts (as of their respective merger dates) follow separate graded vesting schedules reaching 100% at 5 years of service. |
| Accelerated vesting | 100 percent vested in employer contributions upon Plan termination |
Vesting, word for word
“New participants in the Plan generally will be immediately vested in their entire account. All other participants with active accounts are fully vested in their entire account; however, amounts held in the Outdoor Greatroom (OG) Plan Matching Account and OG Nonelective Account and the Kimball International Retirement Plan (KII) effective as of their respective merger dates are subject to the vesting schedules shown below:”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 17, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who can join HNI's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?
HNI enrolls new hires automatically at 3% of pay, rising 1% a year to 10% of pay.
| Plan entry | The Plan is a defined contribution plan covering substantially all employees who are age 18 years or older of HNI Corporation and most of its 100% owned subsidiaries/divisions |
|---|---|
| Excluded groups | The Company acquired Steelcase, Inc. in 2025; however, the Steelcase employees are not yet covered under this plan. |
| Automatic enrollment | Yes: default deferral 3% of pay; auto-escalation +1%/yr to 10% |
Eligibility, word for word
“The Plan is a defined contribution plan covering substantially all employees who are age 18 years or older of HNI Corporation and most of its 100% owned subsidiaries/divisions, including: HNI International Inc., HNI Services LLC, HNI Technologies Inc., HNI Workplace Furnishings LLC, Hearth & Home Technologies LLC, Design Holdings, Inc., and Kimball International, Inc. (collectively the "Company” and “Employer”). The Company acquired Steelcase, Inc. in 2025; however, the Steelcase employees are not yet covered under this plan.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“At the time of employment or reemployment and unless a participant affirmatively elects to the contrary, a participant is automatically enrolled in the Plan and deemed to have elected a three percent (3%) pretax deferral commencing on the first payroll that is 45 days after the employee is first eligible to make such contributions. Thereafter, on the anniversary date of such participant’s automatic enrollment date, the pre-tax deferral rate is increased by one percent (1%) until such time as it reaches a maximum of ten percent (10%).”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 17, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who holds your account
Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 10,022 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.71 per participant.
Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Fidelity Investments |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EIN | 042647786 |
What does the HNI plan report on Form 5500?
The HNI plan reported $1.5B in assets and 9,877 participants for plan year 2024.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
| Plan named in the DOL record | Hni Corporation 401(k) Plan |
|---|---|
| Total plan assets | $1,467,045,204 |
| Participants | 9,877 |
| Plan-paid admin cost per participant | $54.32 |
How that cost compares
This plan pays $54.32 per participant. The median across plans in medical devices and other manufacturing is $125.72, from the 1,386 of 1,455 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.
Hni Corporation 401(k) Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials
How does HNI's 401(k) match compare?
HNI CORP's filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.
Employers worth reading next
Of the six employers below, three file in medical devices and other manufacturing, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.
Maximum match 7% of pay. Also in medical devices and other manufacturing.
Employer match vests in full after 3 years. Also in medical devices and other manufacturing.
Maximum match 6% of pay. Also in medical devices and other manufacturing.
Employer match vests immediately. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.
No employer match in the filing. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.
Maximum match 7.98% of pay. Vests immediately too, like HNI.
What can you do next?
- Read the Form 11-K on SEC EDGAR ↗
Form 11-K filed June 17, 2026, SEC EDGAR. Every match fact on this page comes from it.
- Changed jobs? Find an old 401(k) ↗
The Department of Labor's Retirement Savings Lost & Found, a free government database.
- This year's IRS contribution limits ↗
The official deferral and catch-up limits every formula operates under.
Questions this filing answers
What is HNI CORP's 401(k) match?
HNI Corporation's 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025 does not disclose a match formula; it defers to the plan document and prospectus. HNI CORP's Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $3,727 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
When does the HNI CORP 401(k) match vest?
Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed.
Does HNI CORP's 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?
Yes: default deferral 3% of pay; auto-escalation +1%/yr to 10%.
Who is the recordkeeper for HNI CORP's 401(k)?
Fidelity Investments is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Hni Corporation 401(k) Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
Source
The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that HNI CORP filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.
The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.
Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗
| Document | Form 11-K annual report |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) |
| Filed by | HNI CORP |
| SEC CIK | 48287 |
| Accession number | 0000048287-26-000119 |
| Plan | HNI Corporation 401(k) Plan |
| Period of report | December 31, 2025 |
| Filed | June 17, 2026 |
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with HNI CORP, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, “HNI CORP 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000048287-26-000119, plan year ended December 31, 2025.