Snap-on Inc 401(k): T. Rowe Price, match fully vested after 4 years
Snap-on Incorporated 401(k) Savings Plan · SNA · CIK 91440
T. Rowe Price is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing.
The 401(k) employer match
Set again each year
Snap-on Inc sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year, and this filing does not state the rate.
From the Form 11-K filed June 11, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag
On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next
What Snap-on puts in, and what the plan costs
What Snap-on put into the plan, per active participant
$1,831
Snap-on Inc put $1,831 into this plan for each of its 6,599 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.
Snap-on put in less per active participant than 81% of plans with 5,000+ participants in industrial and materials manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 178 reported $3,585. Industrial and materials manufacturing comes from business code 332210, which Snap-on entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Snap-on pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 390622040, plan 005 · DOL EFAST2 ↗
What Snap-on puts in
Not stated in the filing
The match rate is set at the company's discretion each year, and the filing does not state the rate it used.
The Form 5500 for this plan reports what Snap-on actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is T. Rowe Price Workplace ↗.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.
Vesting score
64.29 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 29% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 25%, 50%, 75%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Vesting - Participants are 100% vested in their contributions and actual earnings thereon. Participants become fully vested in the Company Match and Company contributions as follows: Years of Service Vested Percentage Less than 1 0 % 1 25 % 2 50 % 3 75 % 4 or more 100 % Participants also become fully vested in the Company Match and Company Contributions upon attainment of normal retirement age, disability or death.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
57th percentile
$61.87 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 57% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
What is Snap-on's 401(k) match formula?
Snap-on sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year and does not state the rate in this filing. A discretionary match is set again each year, so the rate in force lives in the plan document rather than the filing. The four shapes a formula takes is what to look for when you read one.
| Other employer contribution | Employees who became eligible participants through a Company acquisition or are employed by a specific location may be eligible for a different Company contribution, as defined in the Plan document. |
|---|
What the filing says, word for word
“Qualified participants are also eligible for a matching contribution (“Company Match”) in amounts determined at the discretion of the Company. Company Match contributions for certain eligible participants were made in 2025 and 2024 in amounts defined in the Plan document. Employees who became eligible participants through a Company acquisition or are employed by a specific location may be eligible for a different Company contribution, as defined in the Plan document.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 11, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗
What is Snap-on's 401(k) vesting schedule?
Snap-on vests the employer match on a graded schedule: 25% after one year, rising to 100% after four. Each step is money that leaves with you that year, which is how a graded schedule differs from a cliff.
| Employer match vesting | Graded: 25% at 1 yr, 50% at 2 yr, 75% at 3 yr, 100% at 4 yr |
|---|---|
| Your own contributions | Immediate: always 100% yours |
| Accelerated vesting | Participants also become fully vested in the Company Match and Company Contributions upon attainment of normal retirement age, disability or death. |
| Other employer contributions | Participants become fully vested in the Company Match and Company contributions as follows: Years of Service Vested Percentage Less than 1 0 % 1 25 % 2 50 % 3 75 % 4 or more 100 % |
Vesting, word for word
“Vesting - Participants are 100% vested in their contributions and actual earnings thereon. Participants become fully vested in the Company Match and Company contributions as follows: Years of Service Vested Percentage Less than 1 0 % 1 25 % 2 50 % 3 75 % 4 or more 100 % Participants also become fully vested in the Company Match and Company Contributions upon attainment of normal retirement age, disability or death.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 11, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who can join Snap-on's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?
Snap-on enrolls new hires automatically at 3% of pay.
| Plan entry | Substantially all domestic employees of the Company and its subsidiaries who have attained age 18 are eligible to participate in the Plan. Furthermore, most temporary domestic employees of the Company and its subsidiaries who have attained age 21 with one year of service are also eligible to participate in the Plan. |
|---|---|
| Automatic enrollment | Yes: default deferral 3% of pay |
Eligibility, word for word
“Eligibility - Substantially all domestic employees of the Company and its subsidiaries who have attained age 18 are eligible to participate in the Plan. Furthermore, most temporary domestic employees of the Company and its subsidiaries who have attained age 21 with one year of service are also eligible to participate in the Plan.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“Participants meeting certain criteria, as defined in the Plan document, are automatically enrolled at 3% of their pay 30 days after their hire date.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 11, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who holds your account
Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports T. Rowe Price, filed as “T ROWE PRICE RPS INC”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
801 plans on file name T. Rowe Price as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 800 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $86.70 per participant.
Participants log in at T. Rowe Price Workplace ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with T. Rowe Price or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | T. Rowe Price |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper address | 1307 Point Street, Baltimore, MD 21231 |
What does the Snap-on plan report on Form 5500?
The Snap-on plan reported $983.3M in assets and 9,692 participants for plan year 2024.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
| Plan named in the DOL record | Snap-On Incorporated 401(k) Savings Plan |
|---|---|
| Total plan assets | $983,334,539 |
| Participants | 9,692 |
| Plan-paid admin cost per participant | $61.87 |
How that cost compares
This plan pays $61.87 per participant. The median across plans in industrial and materials manufacturing is $142.19, from the 5,709 of 6,008 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.
Snap-On Incorporated 401(k) Savings Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials
How does Snap-on's 401(k) match compare?
Snap-on Inc's filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.
Employers worth reading next
Of the six employers below, three file in industrial and materials manufacturing, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.
Match formula not disclosed in the filing. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.
No match; the employer contributes on its own. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.
Employer match vests immediately. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.
Employer match vests immediately. Same recordkeeper, T. Rowe Price.
Maximum match 5.4% of pay. Same recordkeeper, T. Rowe Price.
Maximum match 3% of pay. Also fully vested after 4 years, like Snap-on.
What can you do next?
- Read the Form 11-K on SEC EDGAR ↗
Form 11-K filed June 11, 2026, SEC EDGAR. Every match fact on this page comes from it.
- Changed jobs? Find an old 401(k) ↗
The Department of Labor's Retirement Savings Lost & Found, a free government database.
- This year's IRS contribution limits ↗
The official deferral and catch-up limits every formula operates under.
Questions this filing answers
What is Snap-on Inc's 401(k) match?
Snap-on Inc's employer match rate is set at the sponsor's discretion and is not disclosed in the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Snap-on Inc's Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $1,831 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
When does the Snap-on Inc 401(k) match vest?
Graded: 25% at 1 yr, 50% at 2 yr, 75% at 3 yr, 100% at 4 yr.
Does Snap-on Inc's 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?
Yes: default deferral 3% of pay.
Who is the recordkeeper for Snap-on Inc's 401(k)?
T. Rowe Price is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Snap-On Incorporated 401(k) Savings Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.
Source
The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that Snap-on Inc filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.
The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.
Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗
| Document | Form 11-K annual report |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) |
| Filed by | Snap-on Inc |
| SEC CIK | 91440 |
| Accession number | 0000091440-26-000130 |
| Plan | Snap-on Incorporated 401(k) Savings Plan |
| Period of report | December 31, 2025 |
| Filed | June 11, 2026 |
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Snap-on Inc, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, “Snap-on Inc 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000091440-26-000130, plan year ended December 31, 2025.