Snap-On Incorporated 401(k) Savings Plan: T. Rowe Price
Snap-On Incorporated · Kenosha, WI · EIN 390622040 · Plan 005 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
T. Rowe Price is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.
What Snap-on put into the plan, per active participant
$1,831
Snap-on Inc put $1,831 into this plan for each of its 6,599 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
Snap-on put in less per active participant than 81% of plans with 5,000+ participants in industrial and materials manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 178 reported $3,585. Industrial and materials manufacturing comes from business code 332210, which Snap-on Inc entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Snap-on pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL July 23, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
What the plan cost, per participant
$61.87
The plan paid $61.87 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 57% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.
Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else
Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.
Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.
401(k) Monitor Score
26 out of 100
Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
- What the employer put in, per active participant: $1,831. Lower than 81% of plans with 5,000+ participants in industrial and materials manufacturing.
- What the plan cost, per participant: $61.87. Cheaper than 43% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
Who holds your account
Schedule C of this filing reports T. Rowe Price, filed as “T ROWE PRICE RPS INC”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
801 plans on file name T. Rowe Price as their recordkeeper, at a median of $86.70 per participant.
Participants log in at T. Rowe Price Workplace ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with T. Rowe Price or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | T. Rowe Price |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper addressThe US address filed for this provider on Schedule C. | 1307 Point Street, Baltimore, MD 21231 |
| Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Snap-On Incorporated filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper. | (262) 656-5200 |
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Snap-on puts in
Not stated in the filing
The match rate is set at the company's discretion each year, and the filing does not state the rate it used.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is T. Rowe Price Workplace ↗.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.
Vesting score
64.29 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 29% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 25%, 50%, 75%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Vesting - Participants are 100% vested in their contributions and actual earnings thereon. Participants become fully vested in the Company Match and Company contributions as follows: Years of Service Vested Percentage Less than 1 0 % 1 25 % 2 50 % 3 75 % 4 or more 100 % Participants also become fully vested in the Company Match and Company Contributions upon attainment of normal retirement age, disability or death.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
57th percentile
$61.87 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 57% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Snap-on Inc, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. That Form 11-K covers Snap-on Incorporated 401(k) Savings Plan.
What to check next
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as T. Rowe Price Workplace ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $983,334,539 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $983,243,582 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 9,692 |
| Of which active | 6,599 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 5,000+ participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here. | Ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label. | Current year ADP test |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $38,387,544. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 24% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
The plan paid $599,602 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 9,692 participants: $61.87 per participant.
| Contract administrator fees | not reported in filing |
|---|---|
| Professional fees | not reported in filing |
| Investment management fees | $52,184 |
| Other administrative fees | $1,742 |
These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Wisconsin, one of 1,572 plans on file there, at a median of $168.24 per participant. Its business code places the plan in industrial and materials manufacturing, one of 6,008 on file, which run to a median of $142.19.
Plans of a similar size in Wisconsin
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Molson Coors Employees' Retirement And Savings PlanMolson Coors Beverage Company USA LLC | 9,854 | $31.79 |
| Uline, Inc. Profit Sharing Plan And TrustUline, Inc. | 9,815 | $53.66 |
| Saputo USA 401(k) PlanSaputo Cheese USA Inc. | 9,360 | $49.91 |
| Exact Sciences Corporation 401(k) PlanExact Sciences Corporation | 8,372 | $27.57 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
| Provider | Service codes | Direct comp. ($) | Indirect comp. ($) |
|---|---|---|---|
| T Rowe Price Rps Inc. | 65, 49, 62, 50, 38, 52, 64, 37, 28, 25, 59, 21, 15 | 521,276 | 0 |
| Morningstar | 50, 26 | 27,184 | not reported |
| Mercer | 50, 16 | 25,000 | not reported |
| Wipfli LLP | 50, 10 | 24,400 | not reported |
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20250723113517NAL0001844739001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Snap-On Incorporated filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | SNAP-ON INCORPORATED |
| Employer EIN | 390622040 |
| Plan number | 005 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20250723113517NAL0001844739001 |
| Received by the DOL | July 23, 2025 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Snap-On Incorporated, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Snap-On Incorporated 401(k) Savings Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250723113517NAL0001844739001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 26 out of 100 (exact value 26.4).