401(k) Monitor

Cintas Corporation 401(k): Alight, match fully vested after 5 years

Cintas Partners' Plan · CTAS · CIK 723254

Alight is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

The 401(k) employer match

Set again each year

Cintas Corporation sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year, and this filing does not state the rate.

From the Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

What Cintas puts in, and what the plan costs

What Cintas put into the plan, per active participant

$2,417

Cintas Corporation put $2,417 into this plan for each of its 47,026 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Cintas put in more per active participant than 81% of plans with 5,000+ participants in other services. The middle plan in that group of 38 reported $871. Other services comes from business code 812330, which Cintas entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Cintas pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 311188630, plan 006 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

What Cintas puts in

Not stated in the filing

The match rate is set at the company's discretion each year, and the filing does not state the rate it used.

The Form 5500 for this plan reports what Cintas actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Alight ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.

Vesting score

45.71 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 2% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleGraded, full at 5 years

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 20%, 40%, 60%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Employee pretax contributions, rollover contributions, and Plan earnings thereon vest immediately. Participants’ vesting for their balances in the ESOP contributions account and profit-sharing contributions account are 100% vested after three years of vesting service, with no partial vesting. A Participant is vested in his or her Company matching contribution account with the following schedule: Years of Vesting Service Percent Vested Fewer than 2 years 0% 2 years but fewer than 3 years 20% 3 years but fewer than 4 years 40% 4 years but fewer than 5 years 60% 5 years or more 100%”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

52nd percentile

$56.50 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 52% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What is Cintas' 401(k) match formula?

Cintas sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year and does not state the rate in this filing. The match is deposited once a year. A discretionary match is set again each year, so the rate in force lives in the plan document rather than the filing. The four shapes a formula takes is what to look for when you read one.

DepositedOnce a year
ConditionsCompany contributions are allocated following the end of the Company's fiscal year (May 31) to Participants credited with at least 1,000 hours of service during the preceding Plan year who are employed on the last business day of the fiscal year.
Other employer contributionProfit-sharing contributions at the discretion of the Board of Directors, allocated by a point system based on compensation and years of service
Other employer contributionESOP contributions at the discretion of the Board of Directors, allocated by the same point system and invested in Company common stock
Other employer contributionSpecial allocation of profit-sharing contributions to salaried and hourly non-exempt Participants at the Company's sole discretion (2020 amendment)
What the filing says, word for word
“At its discretion, the Board of Directors of the Company may authorize a matching contribution of the Participants’ pretax contributions.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗

What is Cintas' 401(k) vesting schedule?

Cintas vests the employer match on a graded schedule: 20% after two years, rising to 100% after five. Each step is money that leaves with you that year, which is how a graded schedule differs from a cliff.

Employer match vestingGraded: 20% at 2 yr, 40% at 3 yr, 60% at 4 yr, 100% at 5 yr
Your own contributionsImmediate: always 100% yours
Other employer contributionsESOP contributions account and profit-sharing contributions account are 100% vested after three years of vesting service, with no partial vesting
Vesting, word for word
“Employee pretax contributions, rollover contributions, and Plan earnings thereon vest immediately. Participants’ vesting for their balances in the ESOP contributions account and profit-sharing contributions account are 100% vested after three years of vesting service, with no partial vesting. A Participant is vested in his or her Company matching contribution account with the following schedule: Years of Vesting Service Percent Vested Fewer than 2 years 0% 2 years but fewer than 3 years 20% 3 years but fewer than 4 years 40% 4 years but fewer than 5 years 60% 5 years or more 100%”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join Cintas' 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

Cintas enrolls new hires automatically at 3% of pay.

Plan entryGenerally eligible for the tax-deferred contribution portion after three months of service; eligible for all other portions of the Plan after reaching 1,000 hours of service
Match eligibilityCompany contribution allocations require at least 1,000 hours of service during the preceding Plan year and employment on the last business day of the Company's fiscal year (May 31)
Automatic enrollmentYes: default deferral 3% of pay; default investment: T. Rowe Price Target Date Fund corresponding to the Participant's age
Eligibility, word for word
“The Participants are generally eligible to participate in the tax-deferred contribution portion of the Plan after three months of service at which time Participants are automatically enrolled, unless they affirmatively decline to participate. The Participants are eligible to participate in all other portions of the Plan after reaching 1,000 hours of service. Eligible Participants will receive an allocation of the Company’s contributions following the end of the Company’s fiscal year (May 31), provided they are credited with at least 1,000 hours of service during the preceding Plan year and are employed by the Company on the last business day of the Company’s fiscal year (May 31).”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“If no election is made, a participant is automatically enrolled at 3%. The automatic contribution will be invested in the Plan’s default fund (the T. Rowe Price Target Date Fund that corresponds to the Participant’s age at the time the 401(k) Contribution is made) if no other investment elections have been made.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 25, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Alight, filed as “ALIGHT SOLUTIONS LLC”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

46 plans on file name Alight as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 46 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $87.90 per participant.

Participants log in at Alight, find your HR website ↗. Alight runs a separate site for each employer, so that page asks which employer you work for first. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Alight or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20250625123836NAL0007814193001.
RecordkeeperAlight
Recordkeeper EIN821061233

What does the Cintas plan report on Form 5500?

The Cintas plan reported $4.1B in assets and 70,256 participants for plan year 2024.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 311188630, plan 006.
Total plan assets$4,072,074,940
Participants70,256
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$56.50

How that cost compares

This plan pays $56.50 per participant. The median across plans in other services is $105.46, from the 1,892 of 1,999 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

Cintas Partners' Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials

How does Cintas' 401(k) match compare?

Cintas Corporation's filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.

Employers worth reading next

Of the six employers below, two report the same recordkeeper and four vest on the same schedule.

Goldman Sachs

Maximum match 6% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Alight.

Citigroup

Maximum match 6% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Alight.

CHURCH & DWIGHT INC /DE/

Maximum match 5% of pay. Also fully vested after 5 years, like Cintas.

Crane NXT

Maximum match 3% of pay. Also fully vested after 5 years, like Cintas.

Berkshire Hathaway

Maximum match 1% of pay. Also fully vested after 5 years, like Cintas.

Edison International

Match vests in steps, 100% after 5 years. Also fully vested after 5 years, like Cintas.

Compare Cintas Corporation with any company, side by side

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is Cintas Corporation's 401(k) match?

Cintas Corporation's employer match rate is set at the sponsor's discretion and is not disclosed in the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Cintas Corporation's Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $2,417 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

When does the Cintas Corporation 401(k) match vest?

Graded: 20% at 2 yr, 40% at 3 yr, 60% at 4 yr, 100% at 5 yr.

Does Cintas Corporation's 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?

Yes: default deferral 3% of pay; default investment: T. Rowe Price Target Date Fund corresponding to the Participant's age.

Who is the recordkeeper for Cintas Corporation's 401(k)?

Alight is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Cintas Partners' Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that Cintas Corporation filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byCintas Corporation
SEC CIK723254
Accession number0000723254-26-000023
PlanCintas Partners' Plan
Period of reportDecember 31, 2025
FiledJune 25, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Cintas Corporation, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “Cintas Corporation 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000723254-26-000023, plan year ended December 31, 2025.