401(k) Monitor

HP Inc. 401(k) Plan

HP Inc. · Austin, TX · EIN 941081436 · Plan 004 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Fid Inv Instl Ops Co is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. What the filing says, and who to call.

What HP put into the plan, per active participant

$4,368

HP Inc. put $4,368 into this plan for each of its 14,808 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

HP put in less per active participant than 58% of plans with 5,000+ participants in computers and electronics manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 46 reported $4,837. Computers and electronics manufacturing comes from business code 334110, which HP Inc. entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much HP pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL July 21, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

The $4,368 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. HP Inc. also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What the plan cost, per participant

$73.27

The plan paid $73.27 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 66% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

40 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $4,368. Lower than 58% of plans with 5,000+ participants in computers and electronics manufacturing.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $73.27. Cheaper than 34% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Fid Inv Instl Ops Co. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20250721125115NAL0001918944001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Fid Inv Instl Ops Co.
RecordkeeperFid Inv Instl Ops Co
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.042647786
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number HP Inc. filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(800) 890-3100

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What HP puts in

$1,980

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“In general, the Company matching contribution is a fixed contribution equal to 100% of the first 4% of eligible earnings a participant contributes each pay period. The Company matching contribution is funded annually. A participant must be employed on the last day of the calendar year to receive the Company matching contribution, unless they have terminated employment during the year as a result of death or disability, termination under a Company-approved severance or early retirement programs, in connection with a sale or divestiture by the Company of the business unit in which the participant was employed, or after the attainment of at least age 55 with at least ten years of vesting service.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 4% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

57.14 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 5% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleCliff, 3 years

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 0%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Participants are fully vested at all times with regard to their contributions and earnings thereon. In general, participants are subject to a three-year cliff vesting schedule with regard to Company matching contributions, and earnings thereon, after which time they will become 100% vested in their Company matching contributions, and earnings thereon. In addition, a participant becomes 100% vested in their Company matching contributions, and earnings thereon, at attainment of age 65, death before termination of employment, or becoming eligible for disability benefits under the Company’s long-term disability program.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

66th percentile

$73.27 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 66% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by HP Inc., whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.

What to check next

  • Collecting the whole match

    HP’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 4% of pay, which is $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your recordkeeper account both show the rate you set. A rate below 4% collects less than the whole match.

    That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20250721125115NAL0001918944001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$10,292,655,097
Net assets$10,281,341,829
Participants, beginning of year37,593
Of which active14,808
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here.Ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Current year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $187,768,653. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.26%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered yes, and reports $278,542 of money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

Schedule H line 4a asks whether any money withheld from pay reached the plan later than the law allows. A yes here most often means the employer found the delay itself, put the money in along with the earnings it would have made, and reported the correction to the Department of Labor under its Voluntary Fiduciary Correction Program. The filing instructions also require the same amount to be reported again every year until the year after the correction is finished, so this figure is not necessarily money that was late during this plan year. It does not mean participants lost money.

It is a common answer: 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes, and half of them reported less than $33,100.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $2,754,376 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 37,593 participants: $73.27 per participant.

Contract administrator fees$301,715
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$1,077,839
Other administrative fees$249,000

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Texas, one of 4,254 plans on file there, at a median of $107.93 per participant. Its business code places the plan in computers and electronics manufacturing, one of 644 on file, which run to a median of $136.67.

Plans of a similar size in Texas

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 195 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
The 401(k) PlanHealth Care Service Corporation40,491$9.74
Schlumberger Technology Corporation Savings And Retirement PlanSchlumberger Technology Corporation39,176not itemized
ExxonMobil Savings PlanExxon Mobil Corporation35,323not itemized
Chevron Employee Savings Investment PlanChevron Corporation35,056$85.22

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20250721125115NAL0001918944001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Fid Inv Instl Ops Co65, 71, 64, 37833,2460
Strategic Advisors50, 27681,752not reported
Blackrock Institutional Trust50, 28296,087not reported
HP Inc.99, 65, 49, 14280,415not reported
Aon Hewitt50, 16200,000not reported
Ernst & Young50, 10142,800not reported
The Bank Of New York Mellon50, 21127,5000
State Street50, 28100,000not reported
Deloitte & Touche LLC50, 1049,000not reported
Groom Law50, 2922,276not reported
Qdro Consultant64, 5021,300not reported

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that HP Inc. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingHP INC.
Employer EIN941081436
Plan number004
Filing ACK_ID20250721125115NAL0001918944001
Received by the DOLJuly 21, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with HP Inc., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "HP Inc. 401(k) Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250721125115NAL0001918944001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 40 out of 100 (exact value 39.71).