401(k) Monitor

Clif Bar & Company Retirement Savings Plan: Principal

Mondelez Global LLC · Chicago, IL · EIN 383869170 · Plan 102 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Principal is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.

This is the plan's final filing: the plan has been terminated, so the year it covers can be a partial one.

What Mondelez Global put into the plan, per active participant

Not on this filing

The plan ended the year with a fraction of the active participants it began with, so a full year of employer money would divide across the few people left and read as a figure no employee received. The total is shown instead of a per-person amount.

The plan received $5,203,568 of employer money in plan year 2024. The total is shown here because the filing does not support dividing it per person.

A plan whose active count collapsed during the year is kept out of every peer group, because ranking it would move everyone else. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 14, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

$222.54

The plan paid $222.54 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024.

This is the plan's final filing, so the plan no longer exists. Every plan it would be ranked against was still running at the end of the year, so this figure is printed as the filing states it and is given no standing among them.

What this figure counts, and what it leaves out

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

Not scored

This is the plan's final filing, so the plan no longer exists. The score is a standing among plans of the same size and industry, and all of those were still running at the end of the year, so a filing that closes a plan takes no score.

The amounts this filing does report stay above, printed as the filing states them. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan.

What the score would read, on a plan that was still running at the end of the year: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

On this page: who holds your account · where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Principal, filed as “PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

5,239 plans on file name Principal as their recordkeeper, at a median of $170.05 per participant.

Participants log in at Principal ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Principal or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014133015NAL0001462067001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Principal.
RecordkeeperPrincipal
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.420127290
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Mondelez Global LLC filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(510) 558-7855

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Mondelez Global puts in

Not in public filings for this employer

We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Principal ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not in public filings for this employer

The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.

Vesting score

Not scored

The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

Not ranked

This is the plan's final filing, so the plan no longer exists. Every plan it would be ranked against was still running at the end of the year, so this figure is printed as the filing states it and is given no standing among them.

What to check next

  • Money in, without a headcount to divide it by

    The plan ended the year with a fraction of the active participants it began with, so the employer money is shown as a total above and not per person. Your own statement, on Principal ↗, shows what reached your account.

  • If you had money in this plan

    This is the plan’s final filing, so the plan has been wound up and the accounts in it went elsewhere. The Department of Labor runs a free search for retirement money left behind at a former employer: Retirement Savings Lost and Found ↗.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Principal ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251014133015NAL0001462067001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$0
Net assets$0
Participants, beginning of year1,491
Of which active0
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.1,000–4,999 participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here.Ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. This filing ticks more than one, so no single one describes the plan.Design-based safe harbor, Not applicable
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $7,702,895. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.40%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $331,814 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 1,491 participants: $222.54 per participant.

Contract administrator fees$331,814
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management feesnot reported in filing
Other administrative feesnot reported in filing

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 1,000–4,999 participant cohort, where the median plan pays $84.96 per participant. The sponsor files from Illinois, one of 2,805 plans on file there, at a median of $124.07 per participant. Its business code places the plan in food, beverage and tobacco manufacturing, one of 1,356 on file, which run to a median of $108.05.

Plans of a similar size in Illinois

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 10 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Rb Global Retirement PlanRb Global Holdings, Inc.4,769$53.09
S&C 401(k) Retirement Savings & ESOPS&C Electric Company3,577not itemized
Mondelez Global LLC Tip PlanMondelez Global LLC3,491not itemized
Abbott Laboratories Stock Retirement Plan (Puerto Rico)Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories2,027not itemized
Continental Micronesia, Inc. 401(k) Savings PlanUnited Airlines, Inc.1,360$40.03

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014133015NAL0001462067001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Principal Life Insurance Company64, 50, 37, 13330,9000

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Mondelez Global LLC filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingMONDELEZ GLOBAL LLC
Employer EIN383869170
Plan number102
Filing ACK_ID20251014133015NAL0001462067001
Received by the DOLOctober 14, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Mondelez Global LLC, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Clif Bar & Company Retirement Savings Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251014133015NAL0001462067001, plan year ended December 31, 2024.