401(k) Monitor

Abbott Laboratories Stock Retirement Plan (Puerto Rico)

Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories · Abbott Park, IL · EIN 981051267 · Plan 002 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

What Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories put into the plan, per active participant

$1,556

Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories put $1,556 into this plan for each of its 1,618 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories put in less per active participant than 91% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants in pharmaceuticals and chemicals. The middle plan in that group of 156 reported $5,739. Pharmaceuticals and chemicals comes from business code 325410, which Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL July 14, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

Not ranked

Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses. That usually means the employer pays the bills directly, or that fees are netted inside fund assets, so the plan is not ranked on cost and $0 is not a cheap plan.

401(k) Monitor Score

Not scored

This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses. That usually means the employer pays the bills directly, or that fees are netted inside fund assets, so the plan is not ranked on cost and $0 is not a cheap plan.

It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.

What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

On this page: where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories puts in

Not in public filings for this employer

We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, the one you log in to for your balance.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not in public filings for this employer

The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.

Vesting score

Not scored

The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

Not reported

The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.

What to check next

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20250714124524NAL0002629762001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$243,299,000
Net assets$243,299,000
Participants, beginning of year2,027
Of which active1,618
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.1,000–4,999 participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do.Not ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Current year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $5,173,000. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.33%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses for this year. $0 usually means the employer pays the bills, or fees are netted inside fund assets. It does not mean the plan is free.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 1,000–4,999 participant cohort, where the median plan pays $84.96 per participant. The sponsor files from Illinois, one of 2,805 plans on file there, at a median of $124.07 per participant. Its business code places the plan in pharmaceuticals and chemicals, one of 942 on file, which run to a median of $128.47.

Plans of a similar size in Illinois

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 10 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Rb Global Retirement PlanRb Global Holdings, Inc.4,769$53.09
S&C 401(k) Retirement Savings & ESOPS&C Electric Company3,577not itemized
Mondelez Global LLC Tip PlanMondelez Global LLC3,491not itemized
Clif Bar & Company Retirement Savings PlanMondelez Global LLC1,491$222.54
Continental Micronesia, Inc. 401(k) Savings PlanUnited Airlines, Inc.1,360$40.03

Service providers (Schedule C)

Not reported in filing. Plans with bundled or revenue-sharing arrangements often report no Schedule C provider compensation. Absence here is a reporting artifact, not a $0 cost.

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingABBOTT HEALTHCARE (PUERTO RICO) LTD. C/O ABBOTT LABORATORIES
Employer EIN981051267
Plan number002
Filing ACK_ID20250714124524NAL0002629762001
Received by the DOLJuly 14, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Abbott Healthcare (Puerto Rico) Ltd. C/O Abbott Laboratories, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Abbott Laboratories Stock Retirement Plan (Puerto Rico): Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250714124524NAL0002629762001, plan year ended December 31, 2024.