401(k) Monitor

NextEra Energy, Inc. 401(k): Fidelity

NextEra Energy, Inc. Employee Retirement Savings Plan · NEE · CIK 753308

Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

The 401(k) employer match

Not stated in this filing

NextEra Energy, Inc.'s Form 11-K does not state a 401(k) match formula and defers to the plan document.

From the Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

What NextEra Energy puts in, and what the plan costs

What NextEra Energy put into the plan, per active participant

$4,963

NextEra Energy, Inc. put $4,963 into this plan for each of its 16,733 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

NextEra Energy put in less per active participant than 74% of plans with 5,000+ participants at utilities. The middle plan in that group of 39 reported $5,837. Utilities comes from business code 221100, which NextEra Energy entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much NextEra Energy pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 592449419, plan 002 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

What NextEra Energy puts in

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not disclose a match formula.

The Form 5500 for this plan reports what NextEra Energy actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Fidelity NetBenefits ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.

Vesting score

Not scored

The filing does not state a vesting schedule for the employer match.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

Vesting scheduleNot stated in the filing

The filing does not state a vesting schedule for the employer match.

Vesting, word for word
“Participants are immediately 100% vested in employee contributions. Participants should refer to the SPD for the vesting schedules for Employer matching contributions. Upon death, total and permanent disability, or certain other circumstances an employee may become 100% vested.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

95th percentile

$168.00 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 95% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What is NextEra Energy's 401(k) match formula?

NextEra Energy's Form 11-K does not disclose a 401(k) match formula and defers to the plan document. How a match formula is built sets out the parts to look for in your own plan documents.

Paid in company stockYes
What the filing says, word for word
“The Company provides matching contributions through the ESOP in the form of Company Stock. Participants should refer to the SPD for the Employer contribution schedules.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗

What is NextEra Energy's 401(k) vesting schedule?

NextEra Energy's filing does not disclose when the employer match vests. Plans use one of three schedules, and what each one does when you leave is the part that decides how much you keep.

Employer match vestingNot disclosed in the filing
Your own contributionsImmediate: always 100% yours
Accelerated vestingUpon death, total and permanent disability, or certain other circumstances an employee may become 100% vested; the Plan may recognize previous service for vesting in acquisitions or divestitures
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are immediately 100% vested in employee contributions. Participants should refer to the SPD for the vesting schedules for Employer matching contributions. Upon death, total and permanent disability, or certain other circumstances an employee may become 100% vested.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join NextEra Energy's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

NextEra Energy enrolls new hires automatically; the filing does not state the default deferral rate.

Plan entryFirst day of the month following the completion of one full month of service, or any later date
Automatic enrollmentYes: 60-day opt-out window; auto-escalation +1%/yr to 10%
Eligibility, word for word
“Most employees of NextEra Energy, Inc. (the Company/Employer) and its subsidiaries are eligible to participate in the Plan on the first day of the month following the completion of one full month of service with the Company or its subsidiaries or at any later date.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“Eligible employees are automatically enrolled in Pretax Contributions unless such employees revoke or modify their Pretax Contribution election within 60 days of their date of hire or rehire. The Plan also has an automatic increase feature whereby eligible employees’ deemed Pretax Contributions are increased by 1% each year up to a maximum of 10% unless the eligible employee revokes or otherwise modifies their Pretax Contribution election.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 10,022 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.71 per participant.

Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20251013202500NAL0001931937001.
RecordkeeperFidelity Investments
Recordkeeper EIN042647786

What does the NextEra Energy plan report on Form 5500?

The NextEra Energy plan reported $5.5B in assets and 22,304 participants for plan year 2024.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 592449419, plan 002.
Total plan assets$5,484,619,612
Participants22,304
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$168.00

How that cost compares

This plan pays $168.00 per participant. The median across plans at utilities is $138.21, from the 387 of 407 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

Nextera Energy, Inc. Employee Retirement Savings Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials

How does NextEra Energy's 401(k) match compare?

NextEra Energy, Inc.'s filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.

Employers worth reading next

Of the five employers below, three file at utilities and two report the same recordkeeper.

MDU RESOURCES

Employer match vests immediately. Also at utilities.

Dominion Energy

Employer match vests in full after 3 years. Also at utilities.

SOUTHWEST GAS

Maximum match 7% of pay. Also at utilities.

Microsoft

Employer match vests immediately. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

Northrop Grumman

No employer match in the filing. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

Compare NextEra Energy, Inc. with any company, side by side

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is NextEra Energy, Inc.'s 401(k) match?

NextEra Energy, Inc.'s 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025 does not disclose a match formula; it defers to the plan document and prospectus. NextEra Energy, Inc.'s Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $4,963 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

When does the NextEra Energy, Inc. 401(k) match vest?

Not disclosed in the filing.

Does NextEra Energy, Inc.'s 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?

Yes: 60-day opt-out window; auto-escalation +1%/yr to 10%.

Who is the recordkeeper for NextEra Energy, Inc.'s 401(k)?

Fidelity Investments is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Nextera Energy, Inc. Employee Retirement Savings Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that NextEra Energy, Inc. filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byNextEra Energy, Inc.
SEC CIK753308
Accession number0000753308-26-000050
PlanNextEra Energy, Inc. Employee Retirement Savings Plan
Period of reportDecember 31, 2025
FiledJune 18, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with NextEra Energy, Inc., with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “NextEra Energy, Inc. 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000753308-26-000050, plan year ended December 31, 2025.