MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC 401(k): Principal, match vests immediately
MDU Resources Group, Inc. 401(k) Retirement Plan · MDU · CIK 67716
Principal is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.
The 401(k) employer match
Set again each year
MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year, and this filing does not state the rate.
From the Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag
On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next
What MDU RESOURCES puts in, and what the plan costs
What MDU RESOURCES put into the plan, per active participant
$9,678
MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC put $9,678 into this plan for each of its 2,064 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.
MDU RESOURCES put in more per active participant than 75% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants at utilities. The middle plan in that group of 80 reported $6,417. Utilities comes from business code 221100, which MDU RESOURCES entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much MDU RESOURCES pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 301133956, plan 004 · DOL EFAST2 ↗
What MDU RESOURCES puts in
Not stated in the filing
The match rate is set at the company's discretion each year, and the filing does not state the rate it used.
The Form 5500 for this plan reports what MDU RESOURCES actually paid in: the figure and its peer comparison are above. It is the whole employer side of the plan on one line, so it answers what went in rather than what the formula promises.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Principal ↗.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.
Vesting score
100 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“A participant’s interest in their pre-tax and Roth deferral accounts, matching contribution account, rollover account and ESOP account is at all times fully vested and nonforfeitable. Generally, a participant’s interest in a profit sharing/retirement contribution account is 100 percent vested after completing three years of service. Participants are 100 percent vested in the dividends paid on the MDU Resources Common Stock regardless of years of service. Participant accounts are valued on a daily basis.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
78th percentile
$134.07 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 78% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants.
What is MDU RESOURCES' 401(k) match formula?
MDU RESOURCES sets its 401(k) match at its own discretion each year and does not state the rate in this filing. A discretionary match is set again each year, so the rate in force lives in the plan document rather than the filing. The four shapes a formula takes is what to look for when you read one.
| Paid in company stock | No, paid in cash or per your investment elections |
|---|---|
| Conditions | Each Employer may elect to provide matching contributions on behalf of participants employed by such Employer, equal to a percentage of such participant’s pre-tax and Roth deferral contributions up to a specified percent of the participant’s annual eligible compensation as provided under the Plan or as adopted by the Employer and approved by the Committee. All matching contributions are made in cash to the participant’s matching contribution account and invested as directed by the participant. |
| Other employer contribution | The Employer, in its sole discretion and subject to the Committee's approval, may make either profit sharing or retirement contributions, or both, to the Plan on behalf of certain eligible participants employed by that Employer. Participants may choose to invest profit sharing/retirement contributions allocated to their individual accounts in any or all of the available investment options. Profit sharing/retirement contributions totaling $11.6 million were credited to participant accounts for the year ended December 31, 2025, of which $7.3 million was accrued at year end but not paid until February 2026. |
What the filing says, word for word
“Each Employer may elect to provide matching contributions on behalf of participants employed by such Employer, equal to a percentage of such participant’s pre-tax and Roth deferral contributions up to a specified percent of the participant’s annual eligible compensation as provided under the Plan or as adopted by the Employer and approved by the Committee. All matching contributions are made in cash to the participant’s matching contribution account and invested as directed by the participant.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026, SEC EDGAR, corroborated by the filing's inline-XBRL facts · SEC ↗
What is MDU RESOURCES' 401(k) vesting schedule?
MDU RESOURCES vests the employer match immediately: 100% is yours as soon as it is paid in. Nothing is forfeited when you leave, which is not true of the two schedules that vest over time.
| Employer match vesting | Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed |
|---|---|
| Your own contributions | Immediate: always 100% yours |
| Other employer contributions | Generally, a participant’s interest in a profit sharing/retirement contribution account is 100 percent vested after completing three years of service. Participants are 100 percent vested in the dividends paid on the MDU Resources Common Stock regardless of years of service. |
Vesting, word for word
“A participant’s interest in their pre-tax and Roth deferral accounts, matching contribution account, rollover account and ESOP account is at all times fully vested and nonforfeitable. Generally, a participant’s interest in a profit sharing/retirement contribution account is 100 percent vested after completing three years of service. Participants are 100 percent vested in the dividends paid on the MDU Resources Common Stock regardless of years of service. Participant accounts are valued on a daily basis.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who can join MDU RESOURCES' 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?
MDU RESOURCES enrolls new hires automatically; the filing does not state the default deferral rate.
| Plan entry | As amended and effective January 1, 2024, in general, all employees of the Company who are at least 18 years of age are eligible to participate in the Plan upon hire, excluding leased employees, independent contractors and employees who are eligible to participate in a multiemployer plan to which the Company contributes or are covered by a collectively bargained unit that has not bargained for the Plan for such employees. |
|---|---|
| Excluded groups | As amended and effective January 1, 2024, in general, all employees of the Company who are at least 18 years of age are eligible to participate in the Plan upon hire, excluding leased employees, independent contractors and employees who are eligible to participate in a multiemployer plan to which the Company contributes or are covered by a collectively bargained unit that has not bargained for the Plan for such employees. |
| Automatic enrollment | Yes: auto-escalation +1%/yr to 15%; default investment: If a participant does not specify how contributions to their account are to be invested, they will automatically be invested in the applicable T. Rowe Price Retirement Fund most closely aligned with the year the participant turns age 60. |
Eligibility, word for word
“As amended and effective January 1, 2024, in general, all employees of the Company who are at least 18 years of age are eligible to participate in the Plan upon hire, excluding leased employees, independent contractors and employees who are eligible to participate in a multiemployer plan to which the Company contributes or are covered by a collectively bargained unit that has not bargained for the Plan for such employees.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“The Plan provides an automatic deferral election feature and an automatic deferral escalation feature, which increases an automatically enrolled participant's deferral percentage by one percent annually until the participant's deferral percentage reaches 15 percent, unless the participant opts out or changes their deferral election.”
Source: Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗
Who holds your account
Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Principal, filed as “PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
5,239 plans on file name Principal as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 5,230 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $170.05 per participant.
Participants log in at Principal ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Principal or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Principal |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EIN | 420127290 |
What does the MDU RESOURCES plan report on Form 5500?
The MDU RESOURCES plan reported $775.6M in assets and 4,418 participants for plan year 2024.
| Total plan assets | $775,551,136 |
|---|---|
| Participants | 4,418 |
| Plan-paid admin cost per participant | $134.07 |
How that cost compares
This plan pays $134.07 per participant. The median across plans at utilities is $138.21, from the 387 of 407 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.
Read from the Form 5500 filing of Mdu Resources Group, Inc. 401(k) Retirement Plan, which has no page of its own here.
How does MDU RESOURCES' 401(k) match compare?
MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC's filing does not state a maximum 401(k) match as a share of pay. Across the 269 companies in our data that do, the median is 4% of pay.
Employers worth reading next
Of the six employers below, three file at utilities, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.
Employer match vests in full after 3 years. Also at utilities.
Match formula not disclosed in the filing. Also at utilities.
Maximum match 7% of pay. Also at utilities.
Employer match vests in full after 3 years. Same recordkeeper, Principal.
Match vests in steps, 100% after 5 years. Same recordkeeper, Principal.
Maximum match 6% of pay. Vests immediately too, like MDU RESOURCES.
Compare MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC with any company, side by side
What can you do next?
- Read the Form 11-K on SEC EDGAR ↗
Form 11-K filed June 18, 2026, SEC EDGAR. Every match fact on this page comes from it.
- Changed jobs? Find an old 401(k) ↗
The Department of Labor's Retirement Savings Lost & Found, a free government database.
- This year's IRS contribution limits ↗
The official deferral and catch-up limits every formula operates under.
Questions this filing answers
What is MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC's 401(k) match?
Mdu Resources Group Inc.'s employer match rate is set at the sponsor's discretion and is not disclosed in the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC's Form 5500 for plan year 2024 reports $9,678 of employer money per active participant. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.
When does the MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC 401(k) match vest?
Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed.
Does MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC's 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?
Yes: auto-escalation +1%/yr to 15%; default investment: If a participant does not specify how contributions to their account are to be invested, they will automatically be invested in the applicable T. Rowe Price Retirement Fund most closely aligned with the year the participant turns age 60..
Who is the recordkeeper for MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC's 401(k)?
Principal is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Mdu Resources Group, Inc. 401(k) Retirement Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.
Source
The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.
The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.
Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗
| Document | Form 11-K annual report |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) |
| Filed by | MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC |
| SEC CIK | 67716 |
| Accession number | 0000067716-26-000059 |
| Plan | MDU Resources Group, Inc. 401(k) Retirement Plan |
| Period of report | December 31, 2025 |
| Filed | June 18, 2026 |
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, “MDU RESOURCES GROUP INC 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000067716-26-000059, plan year ended December 31, 2025.