Ng Financial Security And Savings Program: Fidelity
Northrop Grumman Corporation · Falls Church, VA · EIN 800640649 · Plan 010 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.
What Northrop Grumman put into the plan, per active participant
Not on this filing
The plan ended the year with a fraction of the active participants it began with, so a full year of employer money would divide across the few people left and read as a figure no employee received. The total is shown instead of a per-person amount.
A plan whose active count collapsed during the year is kept out of every peer group, because ranking it would move everyone else. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL June 16, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
What the plan cost, per participant
$93.64
The plan paid $93.64 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 56% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants. The middle plan of that size paid $84.96.
Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else
Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.
Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.
401(k) Monitor Score
Not scored
This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. A plan whose active count collapsed during the year is kept out of every peer group, because ranking it would move everyone else.
It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.
What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
Who holds your account
Schedule C of this filing reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper, at a median of $97.71 per participant.
Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Fidelity Investments |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it. | 042647786 |
| Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Northrop Grumman Corporation filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper. | (703) 280-2900 |
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Northrop Grumman puts in
$0
a year, at any salary.
The filing discloses no employer contribution to this plan.
The match paragraph, word for word
“The Plan is a qualified defined contribution plan established for the benefit of certain employees of Northrop Grumman Corporation (the “Company” or “Plan sponsor”) acquired as part of the Company's acquisition of Litton Industries, Inc. The Plan is closed to new participants and no further contributions are permitted.”
What you contribute to collect all of it
Nothing to collect
The filing discloses no employer contribution to this plan, so no contribution rate collects one.
Vesting score
100 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Plan participants are fully vested in the balance of their accounts.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
56th percentile
$93.64 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 56% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants.
The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Northrop Grumman Corporation, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. That Form 11-K covers Northrop Grumman Financial Security and Savings Program.
What to check next
There is no employer contribution to collect
Northrop Grumman’s Form 11-K discloses no employer contribution to this plan for the year it covers. No contribution rate a worker sets changes what the employer adds.
That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.
Money in, without a headcount to divide it by
The plan ended the year with a fraction of the active participants it began with, so the employer money is shown as a total above and not per person. Your own statement, on Fidelity NetBenefits ↗, shows what reached your account.
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $487,671,385 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $487,568,475 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 3,050 |
| Of which active | 750 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 1,000–4,999 participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do. | Not ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label. | Not applicable |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024One of the two contribution lines is blank on this filing. A blank employee line against a filled employer line would read as every dollar coming from the employer, which is a gap in the filing rather than a fact about the plan, so no share is shown. | not stated on this filing |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
The plan paid $285,617 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 3,050 participants: $93.64 per participant.
| Contract administrator fees | not reported in filing |
|---|---|
| Professional fees | not reported in filing |
| Investment management fees | $30,994 |
| Other administrative fees | $66,308 |
These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 1,000–4,999 participant cohort, where the median plan pays $84.96 per participant. The sponsor files from Virginia, one of 1,765 plans on file there, at a median of $142.39 per participant. Its business code places the plan in aerospace and vehicle manufacturing, one of 934 on file, which run to a median of $112.59.
Plans of a similar size in Virginia
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Bloomberg Industry Group, Inc. 401(k) PlanBloomberg Industry Group, Inc. | 2,732 | $55.88 |
| Dtsv Group 401(k) PlanDtsv, Inc. | 1,469 | $90.31 |
| The Sauer Brands, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan & TrustSauer Brands, Inc. | 1,438 | $56.87 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
| Provider | Service codes | Direct comp. ($) | Indirect comp. ($) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deloitte & Touche LLP | 50, 10 | 140,013 | not reported |
| Strategic Advisors, Inc. | 27 | 30,994 | not reported |
| Future Tech Enterprise Inc. | 49 | 29,077 | not reported |
| State Street Bank And Trust Co | 62, 99, 63, 28, 25, 19 | 26,003 | 0 |
| Fidelity Investments Institutional | 65, 64, 50, 37 | 22,166 | 0 |
| Chipton-Ross Inc. | 50, 13 | 5,377 | not reported |
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20250616141025NAL0000504051003.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Northrop Grumman Corporation filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | NORTHROP GRUMMAN CORPORATION |
| Employer EIN | 800640649 |
| Plan number | 010 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20250616141025NAL0000504051003 |
| Received by the DOL | June 16, 2025 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Northrop Grumman Corporation, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Ng Financial Security And Savings Program: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250616141025NAL0000504051003, plan year ended December 31, 2024.