Sas Retirement Plan: Fidelity
Sas Institute Inc. · Cary, NC · EIN 561133017 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.
What Sas Institute put into the plan, per active participant
$9,403
Sas Institute Inc. put $9,403 into this plan for each of its 6,265 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
Sas Institute put in more per active participant than 95% of plans with 5,000+ participants in software and IT services. The middle plan in that group of 62 reported $4,620. Software and IT services comes from business code 541519, which Sas Institute Inc. entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Sas Institute pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 1, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
What the plan cost, per participant
Not ranked
Schedule H reports a negative administrative expense total for this year, usually a refund or a correction, so there is no cost per participant to rank.
401(k) Monitor Score
Not scored
This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. Schedule H reports a negative administrative expense total for this year, usually a refund or a correction, so there is no cost per participant to rank.
It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.
What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
On this page: who holds your account · where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
Who holds your account
Schedule C of this filing reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper, at a median of $97.71 per participant.
Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Fidelity Investments |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it. | 042647786 |
| Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Sas Institute Inc. filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper. | (919) 677-8000 |
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Sas Institute puts in
Not in public filings for this employer
We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Fidelity NetBenefits ↗.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not in public filings for this employer
The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.
Vesting score
Not scored
The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.
A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
Not reported
The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.
What to check next
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $3,672,451,630 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $3,672,451,630 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 8,523 |
| Of which active | 6,265 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 5,000+ participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do. | Not ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. This filing ticks more than one, so no single one describes the plan. | Design-based safe harbor, Current year ADP test |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $103,047,434. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 36% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
Schedule H reports a negative administrative expense total for this year, usually a refund or correction, so no per-participant cost can be computed.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from North Carolina, one of 1,489 plans on file there, at a median of $118.65 per participant. Its business code places the plan in software and IT services, one of 2,956 on file, which run to a median of $125.69.
Plans of a similar size in North Carolina
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Adusa Supply Chain Services 401(k) PlanAdusa Supply Chain Services LLC | 9,401 | $24.27 |
| Kimley-Horn And Associates, Inc. Retirement Savings And Pension PlanKimley Horn And Associates, Inc. | 8,850 | $69.95 |
| Esa Management, LLC 401(k) PlanEsa Management, LLC | 8,012 | $50.45 |
| Ingersoll Rand Retirement Savings PlanIndustrial Technologies And Services, LLC | 7,749 | $77.93 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
| Provider | Service codes | Direct comp. ($) | Indirect comp. ($) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bdo | 10 | 23,000 | not reported |
| Mcdermott Will & Emery LLP | 29 | 6,080 | not reported |
| Fidelity Investments Institutional | 65, 64, 37 | -983,420 | 0 |
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20251001145816NAL0031932674001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Sas Institute Inc. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | SAS INSTITUTE INC. |
| Employer EIN | 561133017 |
| Plan number | 001 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20251001145816NAL0031932674001 |
| Received by the DOL | October 1, 2025 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Sas Institute Inc., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Sas Retirement Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251001145816NAL0031932674001, plan year ended December 31, 2024.