Citi Retirement Savings Plan: Alight
Citigroup Inc. · Stamford, CT · EIN 521568099 · Plan 004 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
Alight is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.
What Citigroup put into the plan, per active participant
$7,841
Citigroup Inc. put $7,841 into this plan for each of its 74,487 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
Citigroup put in more per active participant than 66% of plans with 5,000+ participants in investment management and securities. The middle plan in that group of 45 reported $6,786. Investment management and securities comes from business code 523900, which Citigroup Inc. entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Citigroup pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 10, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
The $7,841 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Citigroup Inc. also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.
What the plan cost, per participant
$161.96
The plan paid $161.96 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 95% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.
Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else
Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.
Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.
401(k) Monitor Score
48 out of 100
Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
- What the employer put in, per active participant: $7,841. Higher than 66% of plans with 5,000+ participants in investment management and securities.
- What the plan cost, per participant: $162. Cheaper than 5% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
Who holds your account
Schedule C of this filing reports Alight, filed as “ALIGHT SOLUTIONS LLC”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
46 plans on file name Alight as their recordkeeper, at a median of $87.90 per participant.
Participants log in at Alight, find your HR website ↗. Alight runs a separate site for each employer, so that page asks which employer you work for first. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Alight or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Alight |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it. | 821061233 |
| Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Citigroup Inc. filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper. | (718) 248-1017 |
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Citigroup puts in
$2,970
a year, at a $49,500 salary.
The match paragraph, word for word
“The Company matching contribution was equal to 100% of the participant’s before-tax and/or Roth contributions up to 6% of the participant’s eligible compensation (up to the annual compensation maximum set by the Code) for eligible employees at all compensation levels. For Plan year ended December 31, 2024, Company matching contributions did not exceed the lesser of the participant’s contribution or 6% of the participant’s eligible compensation up to the statutory limit. Effective January 1, 2025, Company matching contributions did not exceed the lesser of the participant’s contribution or 6% of the participant’s eligible compensation up to $200,000. Catch‑up contributions are not subject to matching contributions. Participants must contribute to the Plan to receive Company matching contributions.”
What you contribute to collect all of it
Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.
That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.
Vesting score
100 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“The rights of a participant to his or her own contributions, matching contributions, and any earnings thereon are at all times fully vested and non-forfeitable.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
95th percentile
$161.96 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 95% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Citigroup Inc., whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. That Form 11-K covers Citi Retirement Savings Plan.
What to check next
Collecting the whole match
Citigroup’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 6% of pay, which is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your Alight ↗ account both show the rate you set. A rate below 6% collects less than the whole match.
That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.
What to ask about the fees
This plan paid $161.96 per participant out of plan assets, more than 95% of plans with 5,000+ participants, where the middle plan paid $54.84. The filing does not say what the difference buys. Two questions put that to a benefits or HR team: what the recordkeeping and administration contract costs, and how much of it comes out of participant accounts rather than being paid by Citigroup. The lines this total is made of are further down.
Weighing this employer against another
Citigroup’s filed match formula is set against another employer’s, term by term, on 5 pages: JPMorgan Chase, Wells Fargo, Bank of America, Morgan Stanley and U.S. Bancorp.
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Alight ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $23,241,033,081 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $23,230,210,784 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 126,011 |
| Of which active | 74,487 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 5,000+ participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here. | Ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label. | Not applicable |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $878,910,062. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 40% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
The plan paid $20,408,429 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 126,011 participants: $161.96 per participant.
| Contract administrator fees | $4,450,700 |
|---|---|
| Professional fees | not reported in filing |
| Investment management fees | $13,967,395 |
| Other administrative fees | $652,329 |
These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Connecticut, one of 828 plans on file there, at a median of $116.34 per participant. Its business code places the plan in investment management and securities, one of 960 on file, which run to a median of $111.34.
Plans of a similar size in Connecticut
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| RTX Savings PlanRTX Corporation | 217,393 | $45.49 |
| Hartford Healthcare 401(k) Retirement PlanHartford Healthcare Corporation | 34,203 | $70.56 |
| Yale-New Haven Hospital And Tax-Exempt Affliliates Retirement Savings PlanYale-New Haven Hospital, Inc. | 31,362 | $15.93 |
| Stanley Black & Decker Retirement Account PlanStanley Black & Decker, Inc. | 31,193 | $74.15 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
| Provider | Service codes | Direct comp. ($) | Indirect comp. ($) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alight Solutions LLC | 50, 15 | 4,450,700 | 0 |
| Blackrock Institutional Trust Co,Na | 51, 50, 24, 28, 21 | 4,009,867 | 0 |
| Bank Of New York Mellon | 51, 99, 50, 28, 21, 18 | 988,734 | not reported |
| Mfs Institutional Advisors | 50, 28 | 804,463 | 0 |
| T Rowe Price Associates, Inc. | 51, 50, 68, 28 | 779,869 | 0 |
| Wcm Investment Management, LLC | 51, 50, 68, 28 | 779,699 | 0 |
| Lazard Asset Management LLC | 71, 68, 55, 50, 63, 26 | 710,610 | 0 |
| Acadian Asset Management LLC | 50, 28 | 500,836 | not reported |
| William Blair Investment Mgmt, LLC | 51, 50, 68, 28 | 462,301 | 0 |
| Principal Small Cap Select | 51, 50, 28 | 457,102 | 0 |
| Insight Investments | 51, 50, 28 | 403,997 | not reported |
| Boston Partners | 71, 51, 50, 28 | 387,537 | 0 |
| Mellon Investments Corporation | 51, 50, 28 | 365,485 | not reported |
| KPMG | 50, 10 | 313,189 | not reported |
| Heitman LLC | 51, 50, 68, 27 | 256,603 | 0 |
| Willis Towers Watson | 50, 17 | 202,556 | not reported |
| Tt International | 71, 51, 50, 68, 28 | 147,211 | not reported |
| Callan Holdings' Inc. | 51, 50, 27 | 139,694 | not reported |
| Mercer | 50, 16 | 130,174 | not reported |
| Bsr | 50, 49 | 120,036 | not reported |
| Fiduciary Counselors | 50, 16 | 59,869 | not reported |
| Proskauer Rose LLP | 50, 29 | 20,839 | not reported |
| Morgan, Lewis And Bockius LLP | 50, 29 | 13,347 | not reported |
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20251010151325NAL0013397952001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Citigroup Inc. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | CITIGROUP INC. |
| Employer EIN | 521568099 |
| Plan number | 004 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20251010151325NAL0013397952001 |
| Received by the DOL | October 10, 2025 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Citigroup Inc., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Citi Retirement Savings Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251010151325NAL0013397952001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 48 out of 100 (exact value 47.6).