401(k) Monitor

Community Based Care 401(k) Plan: John Hancock

Community Based Care, LLC · Morrisville, NC · EIN 474471803 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

John Hancock is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.

What Community Based Care put into the plan, per active participant

Not on this filing

Schedule H leaves the employer contribution line blank on this filing. A blank line is an unfilled line, not a zero, and one sponsor often files several plans, so the employer money can sit in another plan of the same sponsor.

Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 13, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

$6.20

The plan paid $6.20 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, cheaper than 97% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants. The middle plan of that size paid $84.96.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

Not scored

This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. Schedule H leaves the employer contribution line blank on this filing. A blank line is an unfilled line, not a zero, and one sponsor often files several plans, so the employer money can sit in another plan of the same sponsor.

It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.

What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

On this page: who holds your account · where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports John Hancock, filed as “JOHN HANCOCK”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

2,404 plans on file name John Hancock as their recordkeeper, at a median of $197.11 per participant.

Participants log in at John Hancock ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with John Hancock or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251013170937NAL0002486688001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for John Hancock.
RecordkeeperJohn Hancock
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.010233346
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Community Based Care, LLC filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(919) 390-2980

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Community Based Care puts in

Not in public filings for this employer

We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is John Hancock ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not in public filings for this employer

The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.

Vesting score

Not scored

The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

3rd percentile

$6.20 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 97% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants.

What to check next

  • A blank line is not a zero

    Schedule H leaves the employer contribution line unfilled on this filing, which is not the same as reporting nothing was paid in. Your own statement, on John Hancock ↗, shows what reached your account.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as John Hancock ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251013170937NAL0002486688001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$2,722,852
Net assets$2,722,852
Participants, beginning of year4,708
Of which active6,367
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.1,000–4,999 participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do.Not ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. This filing ticks more than one, so no single one describes the plan.Prior year ADP test, Current year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024One of the two contribution lines is blank on this filing. A blank employee line against a filled employer line would read as every dollar coming from the employer, which is a gap in the filing rather than a fact about the plan, so no share is shown.not stated on this filing

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $29,173 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 4,708 participants: $6.20 per participant.

Contract administrator fees$20,173
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$9,000
Other administrative feesnot reported in filing

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 1,000–4,999 participant cohort, where the median plan pays $84.96 per participant. The sponsor files from North Carolina, one of 1,489 plans on file there, at a median of $118.65 per participant. Its business code places the plan in administrative and support services, one of 1,704 on file, which run to a median of $97.33.

Plans of a similar size in North Carolina

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 5 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Spar Group, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing PlanSpar Group, Inc.2,862$38.65
Flow Control Group 401(k) PlanFfi Holdings, Iii Corp2,465$196.64
Technimark Retirement Savings PlanTechnimark LLC2,117$118.39
Crossroads Ford, Inc. 401(k) PlanCrossroads Ford, Inc.1,320$24.50

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251013170937NAL0002486688001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
John Hancock37, 64, 1520,1730
Comperio Retirement Consult51, 50, 28, 27, 269,000not reported

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Community Based Care, LLC filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingCOMMUNITY BASED CARE, LLC
Employer EIN474471803
Plan number001
Filing ACK_ID20251013170937NAL0002486688001
Received by the DOLOctober 13, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Community Based Care, LLC, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Community Based Care 401(k) Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251013170937NAL0002486688001, plan year ended December 31, 2024.