401(k) Monitor

Petvet Care Centers Management, LLC Retirement Savings Plan: Empower

Petvet Care Centers Management, LLC · Westport, CT · EIN 454459242 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Empower is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.

What Petvet Care Centers Management put into the plan, per active participant

$124

Petvet Care Centers Management, LLC put $124 into this plan for each of its 9,731 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Petvet Care Centers Management put in less per active participant than 94% of plans with 5,000+ participants at law, consulting and engineering firms. The middle plan in that group of 168 reported $2,987. Law, consulting and engineering comes from business code 541940, which Petvet Care Centers Management, LLC entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Petvet Care Centers Management pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 15, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

$29.42

The plan paid $29.42 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, cheaper than 77% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

27 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $124. Lower than 94% of plans with 5,000+ participants at law, consulting and engineering firms.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $29.42. Cheaper than 77% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: who holds your account · where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Empower, filed as “EMPOWER ANNUITY INSURANCE COMPANY O”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

7,876 plans on file name Empower as their recordkeeper, at a median of $165.72 per participant.

Participants log in at Empower ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Empower or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper and address from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251015105827NAL0008853538001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Empower.
RecordkeeperEmpower
Recordkeeper addressThe US address filed for this provider on Schedule C.8515 East Orchard Road, Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Petvet Care Centers Management, LLC filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(203) 601-2870

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Petvet Care Centers Management puts in

Not in public filings for this employer

We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Empower ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not in public filings for this employer

The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.

Vesting score

Not scored

The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

23rd percentile

$29.42 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 77% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What to check next

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Empower ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251015105827NAL0008853538001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$153,938,421
Net assets$153,938,421
Participants, beginning of year14,114
Of which active9,731
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do.Not ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Prior year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $21,368,559. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.5%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered yes, and reports $136,344 of money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

Schedule H line 4a asks whether any money withheld from pay reached the plan later than the law allows. A yes here most often means the employer found the delay itself, put the money in along with the earnings it would have made, and reported the correction to the Department of Labor under its Voluntary Fiduciary Correction Program. The filing instructions also require the same amount to be reported again every year until the year after the correction is finished, so this figure is not necessarily money that was late during this plan year. It does not mean participants lost money.

It is a common answer: 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes, and half of them reported less than $33,100.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $415,175 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 14,114 participants: $29.42 per participant.

Contract administrator fees$143,834
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$64,996
Other administrative fees$0

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Connecticut, one of 828 plans on file there, at a median of $116.34 per participant. Its business code places the plan at law, consulting and engineering firms, one of 7,635 on file, which run to a median of $152.18.

Plans of a similar size in Connecticut

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 40 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
SS&C Technologies, Inc. 401(k) Retirement Savings PlanSS&C Technologies, Inc.14,303$32.77
Eversource 401(k) PlanEversource Energy Service Company14,250$98.64
Nuvance Health 401(k) Retirement Savings PlanNuvance Health13,169$75.03
Synchrony Financial My Savings PlanSynchrony Financial12,774$30.38

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251015105827NAL0008853538001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Empower Annuity Insurance Company O64331,4000
Brightworxx LLC13143,834not reported
Old Slip Registered Investment Advi2764,996not reported

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Petvet Care Centers Management, LLC filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingPETVET CARE CENTERS MANAGEMENT, LLC
Employer EIN454459242
Plan number001
Filing ACK_ID20251015105827NAL0008853538001
Received by the DOLOctober 15, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Petvet Care Centers Management, LLC, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Petvet Care Centers Management, LLC Retirement Savings Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251015105827NAL0008853538001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 27 out of 100 (exact value 27.33).