Leggett & Platt, Incorporated 401(k) Plan And Trust Agreement: Principal
Leggett & Platt, Incorporated · Carthage, MO · EIN 440324630 · Plan 025 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
Principal is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.
What LEGGETT & PLATT put into the plan, per active participant
$1,634
LEGGETT & PLATT INC put $1,634 into this plan for each of its 4,880 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
LEGGETT & PLATT put in less per active participant than 91% of plans with 5,000+ participants in medical devices and other manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 81 reported $4,432. Medical devices and other manufacturing comes from business code 339900, which LEGGETT & PLATT INC entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much LEGGETT & PLATT pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL July 9, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
What the plan cost, per participant
$70.09
The plan paid $70.09 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 64% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.
Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else
Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.
Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.
401(k) Monitor Score
17 out of 100
Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
- What the employer put in, per active participant: $1,634. Lower than 91% of plans with 5,000+ participants in medical devices and other manufacturing.
- What the plan cost, per participant: $70.09. Cheaper than 37% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
Who holds your account
Schedule C of this filing reports Principal, filed as “PRINCIPAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
5,239 plans on file name Principal as their recordkeeper, at a median of $170.05 per participant.
Participants log in at Principal ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Principal or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Principal |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it. | 420127290 |
| Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Leggett & Platt, Incorporated filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper. | (417) 358-8131 |
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What LEGGETT & PLATT puts in
Not stated in the filing
Only part of the match formula is disclosed in the filing, so the yearly dollars cannot be computed from it.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Principal ↗.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not stated in the filing
The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.
Vesting score
57.14 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 5% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 0%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are always 100% vested in their employee contributions, rollover accounts, and qualified non-elective contributions (QNECs). Company contributions are vested following three years of service with 1,000 hours completed, at which time, they will become 100% vested. Any Company contribution from a prior plan merged into this Plan shall continue to vest in accordance with the vesting schedule set forth in the prior plan. A participant’s entire account balance will become fully vested at normal retirement age or termination due to disability or death. A participant’s non-vested account balance will be forfeited at the time of distribution of the vested account balance. The forfeitures will be used to restore accounts, pay Plan fees and expenses, and offset Company matching contributions and/or Company discretionary matching contributions, as directed by the Plan Administrative Committee. At December 31, 2025 and 2024, forfeited non-vested accounts totaled $10,899 and $19,141, respectively. Also, in 2025 and 2024, Company contributions were offset by $253,830 and $221,496, respectively from forfeited non-vested accounts.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
64th percentile
$70.09 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 64% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by LEGGETT & PLATT INC, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.
What to check next
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Principal ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $374,500,240 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $374,485,745 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 7,025 |
| Of which active | 4,880 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 5,000+ participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here. | Ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label. | Current year ADP test |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $22,098,280. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 27% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered yes, and reports $132 of money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
Schedule H line 4a asks whether any money withheld from pay reached the plan later than the law allows. A yes here most often means the employer found the delay itself, put the money in along with the earnings it would have made, and reported the correction to the Department of Labor under its Voluntary Fiduciary Correction Program. The filing instructions also require the same amount to be reported again every year until the year after the correction is finished, so this figure is not necessarily money that was late during this plan year. It does not mean participants lost money.
It is a common answer: 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes, and half of them reported less than $33,100.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
The plan paid $492,369 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 7,025 participants: $70.09 per participant.
| Contract administrator fees | $391,603 |
|---|---|
| Professional fees | not reported in filing |
| Investment management fees | $57,985 |
| Other administrative fees | not reported in filing |
These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Missouri, one of 1,025 plans on file there, at a median of $132.02 per participant. Its business code places the plan in medical devices and other manufacturing, one of 1,455 on file, which run to a median of $125.72.
Plans of a similar size in Missouri
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Barry-Wehmiller Companies' 401(k) Retirement Savings PlanBarry-Wehmiller Companies, Inc. | 7,650 | $92.29 |
| Mccarthy Employee Retirement Savings PlanGenuine Mccarthy Enterprises, Inc. | 7,046 | $105.56 |
| Mosaic Health System 401(k) Retirement PlanMosaic Health System | 6,404 | $42.96 |
| National Beef Union 401(k) PlanNational Beef Packing Company, LLC | 6,213 | $13.38 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
| Provider | Service codes | Direct comp. ($) | Indirect comp. ($) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Principal Life Insurance Company | 50, 25, 21, 15, 60, 52, 37, 13 | 391,603 | 0 |
| Resources Investment Advisors LLC | 50, 27 | 57,985 | not reported |
| Forvis, LLP | 50, 10 | 42,781 | not reported |
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20250709161100NAL0013268834001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Leggett & Platt, Incorporated filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | LEGGETT & PLATT, INCORPORATED |
| Employer EIN | 440324630 |
| Plan number | 025 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20250709161100NAL0013268834001 |
| Received by the DOL | July 9, 2025 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Leggett & Platt, Incorporated, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Leggett & Platt, Incorporated 401(k) Plan And Trust Agreement: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250709161100NAL0013268834001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 17 out of 100 (exact value 17.11).