Stifel Financial Profit Sharing 401(k) Plan: Empower
Stifel Financial Corp. · St Louis, MO · EIN 431273600 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
Empower is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.
What Stifel Financial put into the plan, per active participant
$1,737
Stifel Financial Corp. put $1,737 into this plan for each of its 8,303 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
Stifel Financial put in less per active participant than 86% of plans with 5,000+ participants in investment management and securities. The middle plan in that group of 45 reported $6,786. Investment management and securities comes from business code 523110, which Stifel Financial Corp. entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Stifel Financial pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL July 15, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
The $1,737 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Stifel Financial Corp. also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.
What the plan cost, per participant
$38.90
The plan paid $38.90 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, cheaper than 68% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.
Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else
Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.
Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.
401(k) Monitor Score
30 out of 100
Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
- What the employer put in, per active participant: $1,737. Lower than 86% of plans with 5,000+ participants in investment management and securities.
- What the plan cost, per participant: $38.90. Cheaper than 68% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
Who holds your account
Schedule C of this filing reports Empower, filed as “EMPOWER ANNUITY INSURANCE COMPANY”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
7,876 plans on file name Empower as their recordkeeper, at a median of $165.72 per participant.
Participants log in at Empower ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Empower or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Empower |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it. | 061050034 |
| Recordkeeper addressThe US address filed for this provider on Schedule C. | 8515 East Orchard Road, Greenwood Village, CO 80111 |
| Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Stifel Financial Corp. filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper. | (314) 342-2000 |
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Stifel Financial puts in
$2,970
a year, at a $49,500 salary.
The match paragraph, word for word
“For the year ended December 31, 2025, the Company made matching contributions equal to 100% of the first 6% contributed by each participant, for a maximum of $3,000 for semi-monthly associates with eligible earnings under $250,000, or $1,000 for commission-paid associates and semi-monthly associates with eligible earnings greater than $250,000.”
What you contribute to collect all of it
Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.
That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.
Vesting score
57.14 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 5% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 0%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Vesting in the Company’s contributions plus earnings thereon is based on years of service. A participant is fully vested after three years of service.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
33rd percentile
$38.90 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 68% of plans with 5,000+ participants.
The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Stifel Financial Corp., whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.
What to check next
Collecting the whole match
Stifel Financial’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 6% of pay, which is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your Empower ↗ account both show the rate you set. A rate below 6% collects less than the whole match.
That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Empower ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $2,319,960,096 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $2,319,960,096 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 10,139 |
| Of which active | 8,303 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 5,000+ participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here. | Ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label. | Current year ADP test |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $133,670,206. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 10% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered yes, and reports $35,414 of money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
Schedule H line 4a asks whether any money withheld from pay reached the plan later than the law allows. A yes here most often means the employer found the delay itself, put the money in along with the earnings it would have made, and reported the correction to the Department of Labor under its Voluntary Fiduciary Correction Program. The filing instructions also require the same amount to be reported again every year until the year after the correction is finished, so this figure is not necessarily money that was late during this plan year. It does not mean participants lost money.
It is a common answer: 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes, and half of them reported less than $33,100.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
The plan paid $394,367 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 10,139 participants: $38.90 per participant.
| Contract administrator fees | not reported in filing |
|---|---|
| Professional fees | not reported in filing |
| Investment management fees | not reported in filing |
| Other administrative fees | not reported in filing |
These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Missouri, one of 1,025 plans on file there, at a median of $132.02 per participant. Its business code places the plan in investment management and securities, one of 960 on file, which run to a median of $111.34.
Plans of a similar size in Missouri
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Burns & Mcdonnell, Inc. 401(k) Savings PlanBurns & Mcdonnell Inc. | 11,725 | $52.50 |
| The Profit Sharing And Savings Plan Of Graybar Electric Company, Inc.Graybar Electric Company, Inc. | 11,607 | $94.10 |
| Post Holdings, Inc. Savings Investment PlanPost Holdings, Inc. | 10,054 | $84.77 |
| Magellan Health, Inc. Retirement Savings PlanMagellan Health, Inc. | 9,643 | $56.77 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
| Provider | Service codes | Direct comp. ($) | Indirect comp. ($) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Empower Annuity Insurance Company | 50, 64, 65, 15, 37, 13 | 363,056 | 0 |
| Forvis Mazars, LLP | 10 | 31,311 | not reported |
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20250715094029NAL0001947169001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Stifel Financial Corp. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | STIFEL FINANCIAL CORP. |
| Employer EIN | 431273600 |
| Plan number | 001 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20250715094029NAL0001947169001 |
| Received by the DOL | July 15, 2025 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Stifel Financial Corp., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Stifel Financial Profit Sharing 401(k) Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250715094029NAL0001947169001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 30 out of 100 (exact value 29.77).