401(k) Monitor

A O Smith Retirement Security Plan

A O Smith Corporation · Milwaukee, WI · EIN 390619790 · Plan 018 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

What SMITH A O put into the plan, per active participant

$2,322

SMITH A O CORP put $2,322 into this plan for each of its 4,854 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

SMITH A O put in less per active participant than 72% of plans with 5,000+ participants in industrial and materials manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 178 reported $3,585. Industrial and materials manufacturing comes from business code 332900, which SMITH A O CORP entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much SMITH A O pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 10, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

The $2,322 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. SMITH A O CORP also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $1,733 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What the plan cost, per participant

Not ranked

The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.

401(k) Monitor Score

Not scored

This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.

It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.

What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

On this page: the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What SMITH A O puts in

$1,733

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“For non-union employees, the Company makes a matching contribution equal to 100% on the first 1% of a participant’s compensation and 50% on the next 5% of a participant’s compensation that is contributed to the Plan, for a maximum annual matching contribution of 3.5%. In addition to the matching contribution, the Company also makes a non-elective contribution of 3% of pay for certain participants. The Company will make a non-elective contribution for a participant for a plan year if the participant was not eligible to accrue a benefit under any defined benefit pension plan or money purchase pension plan sponsored or contributed to by the Company for such plan year, the participant was either employed as a full-time equivalent employee for the plan year or is credited with 1,000 hours of service for the plan year, and the participant was employed by the Company on December 31 of the plan year or terminated during the plan year after having attained age 65 or as a result of death, disability or job elimination. Union employees receive a Company matching contribution equal to 50% of their contribution up to 4% of payroll period compensation.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

71.43 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 32% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleCliff, 2 years

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Participants of the Plan are immediately 100% vested in their own contributions to the Plan. Company matching contributions are 100% vested after two years of vesting service. Non-elective company contributions to the plan are 100% vested after three years of vesting service.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

Not reported

The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.

The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by SMITH A O CORP, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.

What to check next

  • Collecting the whole match

    SMITH A O’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 6% of pay, which is $1,733 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your recordkeeper account both show the rate you set. A rate below 6% collects less than the whole match.

    That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251010122329NAL0007711425003, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$617,703,307
Net assets$617,703,307
Participants, beginning of year6,118
Of which active4,854
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here.Ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Design-based safe harbor
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $24,919,997. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.31%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

This filing does not itemize provider fees; many plans pay them from fund assets instead. Absence here is a reporting artifact, not a $0 cost.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Wisconsin, one of 1,572 plans on file there, at a median of $168.24 per participant. Its business code places the plan in industrial and materials manufacturing, one of 6,008 on file, which run to a median of $142.19.

Plans of a similar size in Wisconsin

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 42 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Menasha Corporation 401(k) Retirement Savings PlanMenasha Corporation6,497$63.79
Baird Profit Sharing & Savings PlanRobert W. Baird & Co., Inc.6,324$75.11
U.S. Venture 401(k) Retirement Savings PlanU.S. Venture, Inc.5,631$99.92
The Marcus Corp 401(k) Retirement Savings PlanThe Marcus Corporation5,403$29.03

Service providers (Schedule C)

Not reported in filing. Plans with bundled or revenue-sharing arrangements often report no Schedule C provider compensation. Absence here is a reporting artifact, not a $0 cost.

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that A O Smith Corporation filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingA O SMITH CORPORATION
Employer EIN390619790
Plan number018
Filing ACK_ID20251010122329NAL0007711425003
Received by the DOLOctober 10, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with A O Smith Corporation, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "A O Smith Retirement Security Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251010122329NAL0007711425003, plan year ended December 31, 2024.