401(k) Monitor

Whirlpool 401(k) Retirement Plan: Vanguard

Whirlpool Corporation · Benton Harbor, MI · EIN 381490038 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Vanguard is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.

What Whirlpool put into the plan, per active participant

$4,618

Whirlpool Corporation put $4,618 into this plan for each of its 17,341 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Whirlpool put in more per active participant than 65% of plans with 5,000+ participants in industrial and materials manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 178 reported $3,585. Industrial and materials manufacturing comes from business code 335200, which Whirlpool Corporation entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Whirlpool pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 14, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

The $4,618 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Whirlpool Corporation also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What the plan cost, per participant

$86.96

The plan paid $86.96 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 76% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

53 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $4,618. Higher than 65% of plans with 5,000+ participants in industrial and materials manufacturing.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $86.96. Cheaper than 24% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Vanguard, filed as “THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

2,337 plans on file name Vanguard as their recordkeeper, at a median of $97.87 per participant.

Participants log in at Vanguard ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Vanguard or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014155855NAL0003339249001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Vanguard.
RecordkeeperVanguard
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.231945930
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Whirlpool Corporation filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(269) 923-5000

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Whirlpool puts in

$1,980

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“The Plan’s provisions for the Employer’s discretionary matching contribution are to provide up to a 100% match of the first 3% of employee contributions and 50% of the next 2% of employee contributions. Employees are also eligible to receive an automatic contribution equal to 3% of the employee’s eligible compensation. Employer discretionary matching and automatic contributions and tax-deferred contributions are 100% vested at all times. Company contributions may be made in the form of cash or Whirlpool common stock. In 2025, the discretionary matching contributions and automatic contributions were made to the Plan in common stock only.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 5% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $2,475 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

100 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleImmediate

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Employer discretionary matching and automatic contributions and tax-deferred contributions are 100% vested at all times.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

76th percentile

$86.96 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 76% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Whirlpool Corporation, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. That Form 11-K covers Whirlpool 401(k) Retirement Plan.

What to check next

  • Collecting the whole match

    Whirlpool’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 5% of pay, which is $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your Vanguard ↗ account both show the rate you set. A rate below 5% collects less than the whole match.

    That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.

  • What to ask about the fees

    This plan paid $86.96 per participant out of plan assets, more than 76% of plans with 5,000+ participants, where the middle plan paid $54.84. The filing does not say what the difference buys. Two questions put that to a benefits or HR team: what the recordkeeping and administration contract costs, and how much of it comes out of participant accounts rather than being paid by Whirlpool. The lines this total is made of are further down.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Vanguard ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251014155855NAL0003339249001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$3,452,502,444
Net assets$3,452,502,444
Participants, beginning of year27,487
Of which active17,341
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here.Ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Design-based safe harbor
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $111,715,492. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.42%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $2,390,278 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 27,487 participants: $86.96 per participant.

Contract administrator feesnot reported in filing
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management feesnot reported in filing
Other administrative fees$2,390,278

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Michigan, one of 2,009 plans on file there, at a median of $134.92 per participant. Its business code places the plan in industrial and materials manufacturing, one of 6,008 on file, which run to a median of $142.19.

Plans of a similar size in Michigan

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 57 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Stryker Corporation 401(k) Savings And Retirement PlanStryker Corporation34,354$112.75
The Dow Chemical Company Employees' Savings PlanThe Dow Chemical Company33,287$45.15
Consumers Energy Company Employees' Savings PlanConsumers Energy Company27,149$29.33
McLaren Employees' 403(b) Retirement PlanMcLaren Health Care Corp.23,980$31.20

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014155855NAL0003339249001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
The Vanguard Group, Inc.52, 37, 15, 51, 99, 33, 251,324,4290
Vanguard Advisers Inc.261,084,879not reported
Bdo USA LLP1077,252not reported
Seyfarth Shaw LLP2943,142not reported
Towers Watson Investment Svcs Inc.2721,300not reported
Willis Towers Watson US LLC1615,326not reported

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Whirlpool Corporation filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingWHIRLPOOL CORPORATION
Employer EIN381490038
Plan number001
Filing ACK_ID20251014155855NAL0003339249001
Received by the DOLOctober 14, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Whirlpool Corporation, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Whirlpool 401(k) Retirement Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251014155855NAL0003339249001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 53 out of 100 (exact value 52.67).