401(k) Monitor

Ori 401(k) Savings And Profit Sharing Plan

Old Republic International Corp. · Chicago, IL · EIN 362678171 · Plan 002 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

What Old Republic International put into the plan, per active participant

$4,523

Old Republic International Corporation put $4,523 into this plan for each of its 9,784 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Old Republic International put in less per active participant than 56% of plans with 5,000+ participants in insurance. The middle plan in that group of 98 reported $5,049. Insurance comes from business code 524290, which Old Republic International Corporation entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Old Republic International pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL September 11, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

$4.64

The plan paid $4.64 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, cheaper than 97% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

A plan-paid cost this close to zero usually means the employer pays the administrative bills directly, rather than that the plan is free. Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets, so fees the sponsor pays and fees taken inside fund expense ratios are invisible here either way.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

60 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $4,523. Lower than 56% of plans with 5,000+ participants in insurance.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $4.64. Cheaper than 97% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Old Republic International puts in

Not stated in the filing

Only part of the match formula is disclosed in the filing, so the yearly dollars cannot be computed from it.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, the one you log in to for your balance.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not stated in the filing

The filing does not state the contribution rate that collects the full employer contribution.

Vesting score

100 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleImmediate

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Transferred accounts and both participant and Company contributions made beginning with the 2025 Plan year are immediately vested.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

3rd percentile

$4.64 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 97% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Old Republic International Corporation, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. That Form 11-K covers ORI 401(k) Savings and Profit Sharing Plan.

What to check next

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20250911133230NAL0000243699001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$2,125,326,350
Net assets$2,060,672,457
Participants, beginning of year14,044
Of which active9,784
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here.Ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Current year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $71,026,742. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.38%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $65,124 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 14,044 participants: $4.64 per participant.

Contract administrator feesnot reported in filing
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$17,624
Other administrative feesnot reported in filing

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Illinois, one of 2,805 plans on file there, at a median of $124.07 per participant. Its business code places the plan in insurance, one of 1,068 on file, which run to a median of $119.27.

Plans of a similar size in Illinois

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 114 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Zurich Savings PlanZurich American Insurance Company14,423$52.39
The Northern Trust Company Thrift-Incentive PlanThe Northern Trust Company14,154$113.07
Alight Solutions LLC 401(k) Plan (Fka Hewitt Associates LLC 401(k) Plan)Alight Solutions LLC13,933$180.00
Packaging Corporation Of America Thrift Plan For Hourly EmployeesPackaging Corporation Of America13,620$121.76

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20250911133230NAL0000243699001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Cbiz Cpas P.C.1047,500not reported
Fidelity Investments Institutional25, 2414,764not reported

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Old Republic International Corp. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingOLD REPUBLIC INTERNATIONAL CORP.
Employer EIN362678171
Plan number002
Filing ACK_ID20250911133230NAL0000243699001
Received by the DOLSeptember 11, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Old Republic International Corp., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Ori 401(k) Savings And Profit Sharing Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250911133230NAL0000243699001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 60 out of 100 (exact value 60.23).