Marsh & McLennan Companies 401(k) Savings And Investment Plan
Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. · New York, NY · EIN 362668272 · Plan 003 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
What Marsh McLennan put into the plan, per active participant
$8,635
Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. put $8,635 into this plan for each of its 17,704 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
Marsh McLennan put in more per active participant than 87% of plans with 5,000+ participants in insurance. The middle plan in that group of 98 reported $5,049. Insurance comes from business code 524210, which Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Marsh McLennan pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 6, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
The $8,635 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $1,485 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.
What the plan cost, per participant
Not ranked
The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.
401(k) Monitor Score
Not scored
This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.
It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.
What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
On this page: the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Marsh McLennan puts in
$1,485
a year, at a $49,500 salary.
The match paragraph, word for word
“The Company makes matching contributions, after completion of 1 year of vesting service, of 50% on the first 6% of eligible compensation (base pay) that participants contribute to the Plan in any pay period. The Company makes an automatic Company contribution equal to 4% of eligible base pay, (the "Fixed Contribution"). Eligible U.S. employees of the Company are eligible to receive the Fixed Contribution with the exception of MMA. The Fixed Contribution is paid into the Plan by the Company regardless of whether an employee contributes to the Plan.”
What you contribute to collect all of it
Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.
That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.
Vesting score
57.14 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 5% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 33.33%, 66.67%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are vested immediately in their own contributions plus actual earnings thereon. Participants hired before January 1, 1998 are fully vested in the Company’s matching contributions. Participants hired on or after January 1, 1998 and who terminated employment with the Company on or before June 30, 2002 vested in the Company’s matching contribution as follows: 0% if less than 3 years of service, 33% after 3 years of service, 67% after 4 years of service, and 100% after 5 years of service. Participants who were hired on or after July 1, 2002 and who terminated employment with the Company on or before December 31, 2005, were subject to the following vesting schedule: 0% if less than 2 years of service, 20% after 2 years of service, 40% after 3 years of service, 67% after 4 years of service and 100% after 5 years of service. Participants who were active employees as of January 1, 2006, or participants who terminate employment on or after January 1, 2006 who have at least 1 hour of service on or after January 1, 2006, vest in the Company’s matching contribution and Fixed Contribution as follows: 0% if less than 2 years of service, 33-1/3% after 2 years of service, 66-2/3% after 3 years of service and 100% after 4 years of service.”
A worker hired today collects no match for 1 year. This is a filed term, and it does not move the score above.
Eligibility, word for word
“In accordance with the Plan provisions, employees who are at least 18 years of age and classified as a United States (U.S.) regular or temporary employee, paid from U.S. payroll, and who are employees of any subsidiary or affiliate of Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. (the "Company", "Marsh" or the "Plan Sponsor"), with the exception of any employee of Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC and its subsidiaries and affiliates ("MMA"), are eligible to contribute to the Plan.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
Not reported
The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.
The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc., whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. That Form 11-K covers Marsh & McLennan Companies 401(k) Savings & Investment Plan.
What to check next
Collecting the whole match
Marsh McLennan’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 6% of pay, which is $1,485 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your recordkeeper account both show the rate you set. A rate below 6% collects less than the whole match.
That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $7,405,052,698 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $7,404,158,126 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 35,907 |
| Of which active | 17,704 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 5,000+ participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do. | Not ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label. | Current year ADP test |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $237,402,747. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 39% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
This filing does not itemize provider fees; many plans pay them from fund assets instead. Absence here is a reporting artifact, not a $0 cost.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from New York, one of 3,878 plans on file there, at a median of $108.03 per participant. Its business code places the plan in insurance, one of 1,068 on file, which run to a median of $119.27.
Plans of a similar size in New York
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Paramount Global 401(k) Plan (Fka Viacomcbs 401(k) Plan)Paramount Global | 36,431 | $200.29 |
| McKinsey & Company, Inc. (Psrp) Profit Sharing Retirement PlanMcKinsey & Company, Inc. | 36,077 | $52.69 |
| Deferred Salary Plan Of The Electrical IndustryBoard Of Trustees Of The Deferred Salary Plan Of The Electrical Ind | 35,520 | $244.53 |
| M & T Bank Corporation Retirement Savings PlanManufacturers And Traders Trust Co. | 32,034 | $70.75 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
Not reported in filing. Plans with bundled or revenue-sharing arrangements often report no Schedule C provider compensation. Absence here is a reporting artifact, not a $0 cost.
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20251006144237NAL0003603617001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | MARSH & MCLENNAN COMPANIES, INC. |
| Employer EIN | 362668272 |
| Plan number | 003 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20251006144237NAL0003603617001 |
| Received by the DOL | October 6, 2025 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Marsh & McLennan Companies 401(k) Savings And Investment Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251006144237NAL0003603617001, plan year ended December 31, 2024.