401(k) Monitor

Scripps Retirement And Investment Plan

E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee · Cincinnati, OH · EIN 311036718 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

What E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee put into the plan, per active participant

$3,339

E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee put $3,339 into this plan for each of its 4,832 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee put in less per active participant than 56% of plans with 5,000+ participants in media, telecom and information. The middle plan in that group of 62 reported $3,707. Media, telecom and information comes from business code 511110, which E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL August 18, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

$111.59

The plan paid $111.59 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 87% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

35 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $3,339. Lower than 56% of plans with 5,000+ participants in media, telecom and information.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $112. Cheaper than 13% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee puts in

Not in public filings for this employer

We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, the one you log in to for your balance.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not in public filings for this employer

The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.

Vesting score

Not scored

The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

87th percentile

$111.59 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 87% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What to check next

  • What to ask about the fees

    This plan paid $111.59 per participant out of plan assets, more than 87% of plans with 5,000+ participants, where the middle plan paid $54.84. The filing does not say what the difference buys. Two questions put that to a benefits or HR team: what the recordkeeping and administration contract costs, and how much of it comes out of participant accounts rather than being paid by E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee. The lines this total is made of are further down.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20250818122946NAL0001189905001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$873,665,761
Net assets$873,636,232
Participants, beginning of year9,127
Of which active4,832
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do.Not ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Design-based safe harbor
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $42,070,084. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.28%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $1,018,460 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 9,127 participants: $111.59 per participant.

Contract administrator feesnot reported in filing
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$1,018,460
Other administrative feesnot reported in filing

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Ohio, one of 2,465 plans on file there, at a median of $134.01 per participant. Its business code places the plan in media, telecom and information, one of 1,108 on file, which run to a median of $121.00.

Plans of a similar size in Ohio

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 84 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Greif 401(k) Retirement PlanGreif Packaging LLC9,611$69.54
The Christ Hospital 403(b) Retirement Savings PlanThe Christ Hospital9,244$63.68
Crosscountry Mortgage 401(k) Retirement Savings PlanCrosscountry Mortgage, LLC8,987$138.31
Cbiz, Inc. Retirement Savings PlanCbiz, Inc.8,875$37.39

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20250818122946NAL0001189905001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Vanguard Group, Inc.51, 37, 261,018,4600

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingE.W. SCRIPPS RETIREMENT & INVESTMENT PLAN COMMITTEE
Employer EIN311036718
Plan number001
Filing ACK_ID20250818122946NAL0001189905001
Received by the DOLAugust 18, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with E.W. Scripps Retirement & Investment Plan Committee, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Scripps Retirement And Investment Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250818122946NAL0001189905001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 35 out of 100 (exact value 34.97).