Target Surveying 401(k) Plan
Target Surveying, LLC · West Palm Beach, FL · EIN 272695337 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2021
What Target Surveying put into the plan, per active participant
$792
Target Surveying, LLC put $792 into this plan for each of its 142 active participants in plan year 2021. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
Target Surveying put in less per active participant than 93% of plans with 100–499 participants at law, consulting and engineering firms. The middle plan in that group of 4,512 reported $3,307. Law, consulting and engineering comes from business code 541370, which Target Surveying, LLC entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Target Surveying pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2021, received by the DOL November 24, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
What the plan cost, per participant
$212.81
The plan paid $212.81 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2021, more expensive than 63% of plans with 100–499 participants. The middle plan of that size paid $156.87.
Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else
Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.
Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.
401(k) Monitor Score
16 out of 100
Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
- What the employer put in, per active participant: $792. Lower than 93% of plans with 100–499 participants at law, consulting and engineering firms.
- What the plan cost, per participant: $213. Cheaper than 37% of plans with 100–499 participants.
On this page: where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Target Surveying puts in
Not in public filings for this employer
We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, the one you log in to for your balance.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not in public filings for this employer
The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.
Vesting score
Not scored
The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.
A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
63rd percentile
$212.81 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 63% of plans with 100–499 participants.
What to check next
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2021, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $3,307,189 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $3,307,189 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 166 |
| Of which active | 142 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 100–499 participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do. | Not ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2021Schedule R part VII was filed with all four boxes left blank. A blank is an unanswered line, not a no. | not stated on this filing |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2021The rest came from employees, who put in $206,643. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 35% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2021.
The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
The plan paid $35,327 in administrative expenses in plan year 2021, across 166 participants: $212.81 per participant.
| Contract administrator fees | $6,097 |
|---|---|
| Professional fees | not reported in filing |
| Investment management fees | not reported in filing |
| Other administrative fees | not reported in filing |
These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 100–499 participant cohort, where the median plan pays $156.87 per participant. The sponsor files from Florida, one of 2,637 plans on file there, at a median of $112.18 per participant. Its business code places the plan at law, consulting and engineering firms, one of 7,635 on file, which run to a median of $152.18.
Plans of a similar size in Florida
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Tamiami Ford, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing PlanTamiami Ford, Inc. | 237 | $205.36 |
| Advocate Health 401(k) PlanAdvocate Health,LLC | 187 | $31.08 |
| Metro Ford Lincoln Mercury 401(k) PlanMetro Ford, Inc. | 154 | $44.36 |
| Allstates World Cargo, Inc. 401(k) Savings PlanAllstates Worldcargo, Inc. | 152 | $346.86 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
Not reported in filing. Plans with bundled or revenue-sharing arrangements often report no Schedule C provider compensation. Absence here is a reporting artifact, not a $0 cost.
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20251124072049NAL0002714128001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Target Surveying, LLC filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2021. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | TARGET SURVEYING, LLC |
| Employer EIN | 272695337 |
| Plan number | 001 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20251124072049NAL0002714128001 |
| Received by the DOL | November 24, 2025 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Target Surveying, LLC, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
This is an amended filing. It replaces the sponsor's earlier submission for the same year. Filed late: the plan year predates the form year of the source dataset.
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Target Surveying 401(k) Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251124072049NAL0002714128001, plan year ended December 31, 2021. 401(k) Monitor Score 16 out of 100 (exact value 16.09).