401(k) Monitor

Paychex, Inc. 401(k) Incentive Retirement Plan: Fidelity

Paychex , Inc. · Rochester, NY · EIN 161124166 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.

What Paychex put into the plan, per active participant

$2,484

Paychex, Inc. put $2,484 into this plan for each of its 15,000 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Paychex put in less per active participant than 60% of plans with 5,000+ participants at law, consulting and engineering firms. The middle plan in that group of 168 reported $2,987. Law, consulting and engineering comes from business code 541214, which Paychex, Inc. entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Paychex pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL July 29, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

The $2,484 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Paychex, Inc. also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What the plan cost, per participant

$27.96

The plan paid $27.96 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, cheaper than 79% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

52 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $2,484. Lower than 60% of plans with 5,000+ participants at law, consulting and engineering firms.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $27.96. Cheaper than 79% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper, at a median of $97.71 per participant.

Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20250729115442NAL0007362866001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Fidelity Investments.
RecordkeeperFidelity Investments
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.042647786
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Paychex , Inc. filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(585) 387-6200

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Paychex puts in

$1,980

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“The Company provides a matching contribution in the amount of 100% of the first 3% and 50% on the next 2% of eligible pay that an employee contributes to the Plan for a total matching contribution of 4%. Effective January 1, 2026, the Company's matching contribution is in the amount of 100% of the first 4% of eligible pay that an employee contributes to the Plan. The Company may also elect to make an additional discretionary contribution to the Plan but has not done so for 2025 and 2024.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 4% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

100 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleImmediate

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Vesting: Participants are fully vested as to their elective contributions, rollover contributions, and company matching contributions, as well as any earnings or losses on those amounts. Within the ESOP Fund, dividends received are fully vested, regardless of years of service.”
Wait before the match starts1 year

A worker hired today collects no match for 1 year. This is a filed term, and it does not move the score above.

Eligibility, word for word
“Eligible Employees: All new employees of the Company and its participating subsidiaries are eligible to participate in the salary deferral portion of the Plan immediately. Employees must be employed for one year in which a minimum of 1,000 hours have been worked to be eligible to receive a Company matching contribution, when such matching contribution is in effect.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

22nd percentile

$27.96 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 79% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Paychex, Inc., whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. That Form 11-K covers Paychex, Inc. 401(k) Incentive Retirement Plan.

What to check next

  • Collecting the whole match

    Paychex’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 4% of pay, which is $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your Fidelity NetBenefits ↗ account both show the rate you set. A rate below 4% collects less than the whole match.

    That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20250729115442NAL0007362866001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$2,259,114,984
Net assets$2,259,111,944
Participants, beginning of year19,991
Of which active15,000
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do.Not ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. This filing ticks more than one, so no single one describes the plan.Design-based safe harbor, Current year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $101,746,778. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.27%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $558,865 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 19,991 participants: $27.96 per participant.

Contract administrator fees$3,600
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$711,952
Other administrative fees$0

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from New York, one of 3,878 plans on file there, at a median of $108.03 per participant. Its business code places the plan at law, consulting and engineering firms, one of 7,635 on file, which run to a median of $152.18.

Plans of a similar size in New York

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 114 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
All Metro Health Care 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan And TrustAll Metro Health Care20,152$7.71
Bloomberg L.P. 401(k) PlanBloomberg L.P.20,114$12.28
New York Life Insurance Company Employee Progress Sharing Investment PlanNew York Life Insurance Company19,598$77.89
The Estee Lauder Companies 401(k) Savings PlanEstee Lauder, Inc.19,506$88.37

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20250729115442NAL0007362866001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Strategic Advisors, Inc.27711,952not reported
Fidelity Investments Institutional65, 64, 60, 37-153,0870

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Paychex , Inc. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingPAYCHEX , INC.
Employer EIN161124166
Plan number001
Filing ACK_ID20250729115442NAL0007362866001
Received by the DOLJuly 29, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Paychex , Inc., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Paychex, Inc. 401(k) Incentive Retirement Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250729115442NAL0007362866001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 52 out of 100 (exact value 51.62).