401(k) Monitor

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ 401(k): Fidelity, match 4% max

RPM International Inc. 401(k) Trust and Plan · RPM · CIK 110621

Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

Maximum employer match, as a share of pay

4%

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ matches 100% (dollar-for-dollar) of the first 3% of pay, then 50% of the next 2% of pay, for a maximum employer match of 4% of pay.

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s Form 11-K filings for plan year 2025 describe two separate 401(k) plans. The terms on this page are read from the RPM International Inc. 401(k) Trust and Plan. Not all of them state a match formula, so each one is listed below with the group it covers and what its filing says.

From the Form 11-K filed June 12, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: which plan you are in · what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

Which RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ 401(k) plan are you in?

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s Form 11-K filings for this plan year describe two plans, and not all of them state a match formula. Find the plan you are in before you take a number off this page. The terms in the rest of the page are read from the RPM International Inc. 401(k) Trust and Plan.

RPM International Inc. 401(k) Trust and Plan (the plan this page answers for)

The filing states no limit on who this plan covers · Form 11-K ↗

4% of pay, at most

RPM International Inc. Union 401(k) Trust and Plan

The filing states no limit on who this plan covers · Form 11-K ↗

Match not stated as a formula

One row per plan, taken from the two Form 11-K reports this site has read for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each maximum comes from that plan’s own filing and describes only that plan.

What RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ puts in, and what the plan costs

What RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ put into the plan, per active participant

$3,164

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ put $3,164 into this plan for each of its 9,590 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ put in less per active participant than 97% of plans with 5,000+ participants in pharmaceuticals and chemicals. The middle plan in that group of 63 reported $8,101. Pharmaceuticals and chemicals comes from business code 325500, which RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 020642224, plan 011 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

The $3,164 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula for plan year 2025: the card below reads $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ puts in

$1,980

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“The Company matches up to a maximum rate of 100% of the first 3% and 50% of the next 2% of participant deferrals.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 5% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $2,475 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

100 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleImmediate

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“Vesting is immediate for contributions, both for employee and employer, and earnings thereon.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

49th percentile

$54.21 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 51% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What is RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s 401(k) match formula?

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s 401(k) employer match tops out at 4% of pay. A tiered formula pays its best rate on the first slice of pay and less on the next, which is how the rate steps down.

Match formula100% (dollar-for-dollar) of the first 3% of pay
then50% of the next 2% of pay
Maximum employer match4% of compensation
ConditionsThe Plan is a safe harbor 401(k) plan.

At a $60,000 salary, contributing 5% ($3,000) earns the full employer match of $2,400 for the year.

What the filing says, word for word
“The Company matches up to a maximum rate of 100% of the first 3% and 50% of the next 2% of participant deferrals.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 12, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

What is RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s 401(k) vesting schedule?

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ vests the employer match immediately: 100% is yours as soon as it is paid in. Nothing is forfeited when you leave, which is not true of the two schedules that vest over time.

Employer match vestingImmediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed
Your own contributionsImmediate: always 100% yours
Vesting, word for word
“Vesting is immediate for contributions, both for employee and employer, and earnings thereon.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 12, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ enrolls new hires automatically at 3% of pay.

Plan entryEmployees, as defined, are eligible to participate in the Plan provided they have worked for the Company for a period of 3 months.
Automatic enrollmentYes: default deferral 3% of pay
Eligibility, word for word
“Employees, as defined, are eligible to participate in the Plan provided they have worked for the Company for a period of 3 months.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“Unless elected otherwise, employees are automatically enrolled into the Plan at a pre-tax contribution rate of 3% as of the first payroll beginning after eligibility requirements are met.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 12, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 10,022 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.71 per participant.

Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20250620155557NAL0002369763001.
RecordkeeperFidelity Investments
Recordkeeper EIN042647786

What does the RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ plan report on Form 5500?

The RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ plan reported $1.4B in assets and 11,141 participants for plan year 2024.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 020642224, plan 011.
Total plan assets$1,392,895,670
Participants11,141
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$54.21

How that cost compares

This plan pays $54.21 per participant. The median across plans in pharmaceuticals and chemicals is $128.47, from the 870 of 942 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

Rpm International Inc. 401(k) Trust And Plan on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials

How does RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s 401(k) match compare?

RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s maximum 401(k) match of 4% of pay compares with a median of 4% across the 269 companies in our data with a computable formula.

Employers worth reading next

Of the six employers below, three file in pharmaceuticals and chemicals, two report the same recordkeeper and one vests on the same schedule.

FMC

Maximum match 4% of pay. Also in pharmaceuticals and chemicals.

Colgate-Palmolive

Maximum match 4.5% of pay. Also in pharmaceuticals and chemicals.

Clorox

Maximum match 4% of pay. Also in pharmaceuticals and chemicals.

Paychex

Maximum match 4% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

S&P Global

Maximum match 4% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

REVVITY

Maximum match 5% of pay. Vests immediately too, like RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/.

Compare RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ with any company, side by side

What do RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s other 401(k) plans say?

RPM International Inc. Union 401(k) Trust and Plan

The filing states no limit on who this plan covers

Rpm International Inc./De/'s match terms are set by collective bargaining agreements; the 11-K for the plan year ended December 31, 2025 does not state a single formula.

Employer match vesting
Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed
Automatic enrollment
Not mentioned in the filing (not proof of absence)
What the filing says, word for word
“The Company matches, depending upon the collective bargaining agreement of each participating union, up to a maximum rate of 100% of the first 3% and 50% of the next 2% of participant deferrals.”

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s 401(k) match?

Rpm International Inc./De/ matches 100% (dollar-for-dollar) of the first 3% of pay, then 50% of the next 2% of pay, for a maximum employer match of 4% of compensation (plan year ended December 31, 2025).

When does the RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ 401(k) match vest?

Immediate: employer match is 100% vested when contributed.

Does RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?

Yes: default deferral 3% of pay.

Who is the recordkeeper for RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/'s 401(k)?

Fidelity Investments is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Rpm International Inc. 401(k) Trust And Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byRPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/
SEC CIK110621
Accession number0001193125-26-269537
PlanRPM International Inc. 401(k) Trust and Plan
Period of reportDecember 31, 2025
FiledJune 12, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “RPM INTERNATIONAL INC/DE/ 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0001193125-26-269537, plan year ended December 31, 2025.