401(k) Monitor

GORMAN RUPP CO 401(k): Merrill Lynch, match 3% max

The Gorman-Rupp Company 401(k) Plan · GRC · CIK 42682

Merrill Lynch is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing.

Maximum employer match, as a share of pay

3%

GORMAN RUPP CO matches 50% of the first 6% of pay.

From the Form 11-K filed June 23, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · what it used to be · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

What GORMAN RUPP puts in, and what the plan costs

What GORMAN RUPP put into the plan, per active participant

$3,783

GORMAN RUPP CO put $3,783 into this plan for each of its 1,278 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

GORMAN RUPP put in more per active participant than 72% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants in industrial and materials manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 766 reported $2,514. Industrial and materials manufacturing comes from business code 333200, which GORMAN RUPP entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

What this figure cannot separate: how much GORMAN RUPP pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 340253990, plan 005 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

The $3,783 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. GORMAN RUPP CO also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula for plan year 2025: the card below reads $1,485 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What GORMAN RUPP puts in

$1,485

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“The Company contributes 40% of the first 4% of compensation that a participant contributes to the Plan provided such participant was hired prior to January 1, 2008. For employees hired after January 1, 2008, all previous participants in The National Pump Company 401(k) Savings Plan, Fill-Rite Company employees and previous participants in the AMT Pump Company 401(k) Plan, the Company contributes 50% of the first 6% of compensation that a participant contributes to the Plan. The Company also contributes a percentage of the employee's income based on the age of the employee and the years of service with the Company for employees hired on or after January 1, 2008.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

Not scored

The filing does not state a vesting schedule for the employer match.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

Vesting scheduleNot stated in the filing

The filing does not state a vesting schedule for the employer match.

Vesting, word for word
“Participants are immediately vested in their contributions plus actual earnings thereon. Vesting in the Company age and service contribution is based on years of continuous service; a participant is 100% vested after three years of service.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

41st percentile

$70.13 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 60% of plans with 1,000–4,999 participants.

What is GORMAN RUPP's 401(k) match formula?

GORMAN RUPP's 401(k) employer match tops out at 3% of pay. One rate up to one limit is the commonest of the four shapes a match formula takes.

Match formula50% of the first 6% of pay
Maximum employer match3% of compensation
ConditionsRate shown (50% of first 6%) applies to employees hired on or after January 1, 2008, plus legacy participants of The National Pump Company 401(k) Savings Plan, Fill-Rite Company employees, and legacy AMT Pump Company 401(k) Plan participants. Employees hired before January 1, 2008 instead receive 40% of the first 4% of compensation contributed. Employees hired on or after January 1, 2008 also receive a separate additional Company contribution based on age and years of service (see other_employer_contributions), which has a 90-day waiting period.
Current formula effectiveJanuary 1, 2008
Other employer contributionAdditional Company contribution based on the employee's age and years of service, for employees hired on or after January 1, 2008 (percentage by age/service band not disclosed); has a 90-day waiting period

At a $75,000 salary, contributing 6% ($4,500) earns the full employer match of $2,250 for the year.

What the filing says, word for word
“The Company contributes 40% of the first 4% of compensation that a participant contributes to the Plan provided such participant was hired prior to January 1, 2008. For employees hired after January 1, 2008, all previous participants in The National Pump Company 401(k) Savings Plan, Fill-Rite Company employees and previous participants in the AMT Pump Company 401(k) Plan, the Company contributes 50% of the first 6% of compensation that a participant contributes to the Plan. The Company also contributes a percentage of the employee's income based on the age of the employee and the years of service with the Company for employees hired on or after January 1, 2008.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 23, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

What did GORMAN RUPP's 401(k) match used to be?

GORMAN RUPP changed its 401(k) match on January 1, 2008. The formula in force now is 50% of the first 6% of pay.

Formula changes as stated in the 11-K; earlier years will be backfilled from prior filings.
Since January 1, 200850% of the first 6% of pay
BeforeEmployees hired prior to January 1, 2008 instead receive a match of 40% of the first 4% of compensation contributed.

What is GORMAN RUPP's 401(k) vesting schedule?

GORMAN RUPP's filing does not disclose when the employer match vests. Plans use one of three schedules, and what each one does when you leave is the part that decides how much you keep.

Employer match vestingNot disclosed in the filing
Your own contributionsImmediate: always 100% yours
Other employer contributionsVesting in the Company age and service contribution is based on years of continuous service; a participant is 100% vested after three years of service.
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are immediately vested in their contributions plus actual earnings thereon. Vesting in the Company age and service contribution is based on years of continuous service; a participant is 100% vested after three years of service.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 23, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join GORMAN RUPP's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

GORMAN RUPP enrolls new hires automatically at 6% of pay.

Plan entryFull-time employees are eligible to participate in the Plan upon hiring.
Match eligibilityThe additional Company contribution for employees hired on or after January 1, 2008 has a 90-day waiting period.
Automatic enrollmentYes: default deferral 6% of pay
Eligibility, word for word
“Full-time employees are eligible to participate in the Plan upon hiring. The additional Company contribution for employees hired on or after January 1, 2008 has a 90-day waiting period.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“New hires are auto-enrolled in the Plan with employee deferrals at 6%.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 23, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Merrill Lynch, filed as “MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER AND S”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

663 plans on file name Merrill Lynch as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 659 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $87.18 per participant.

Participants log in at Merrill Benefits OnLine ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Merrill Lynch or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20250709124049NAL0008092816001.
RecordkeeperMerrill Lynch
Recordkeeper EIN135674085

What does the GORMAN RUPP plan report on Form 5500?

The GORMAN RUPP plan reported $122.6M in assets and 1,577 participants for plan year 2024.

Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 340253990, plan 005.
Plan named in the DOL recordThe Gorman-Rupp Company 401(k) Plan
Total plan assets$122,587,365
Participants1,577
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$70.13

How that cost compares

This plan pays $70.13 per participant. The median across plans in industrial and materials manufacturing is $142.19, from the 5,709 of 6,008 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

Read from the Form 5500 filing of The Gorman-Rupp Company 401(k) Plan, which has no page of its own here.

How does GORMAN RUPP's 401(k) match compare?

GORMAN RUPP CO's maximum 401(k) match of 3% of pay compares with a median of 4% across the 269 companies in our data with a computable formula.

Employers worth reading next

Of the six employers below, three file in industrial and materials manufacturing, two report the same recordkeeper and one lands near GORMAN RUPP's maximum match.

WORTHINGTON ENTERPRISES

Maximum match 2% of pay. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

International Paper

Maximum match 3% of pay. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

Goodyear Tire & Rubber

Maximum match 0.25% of pay. Also in industrial and materials manufacturing.

AECOM

Maximum match 3% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Merrill Lynch.

Dover

Maximum match 3.5% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Merrill Lynch.

Fiserv

Maximum match 3% of pay, level with GORMAN RUPP.

Compare GORMAN RUPP CO with any company, side by side

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is GORMAN RUPP CO's 401(k) match?

The Gorman-Rupp Company matches 50% of employee contributions up to 6% of eligible pay (plan year ended December 31, 2025).

When does the GORMAN RUPP CO 401(k) match vest?

Not disclosed in the filing.

Does GORMAN RUPP CO's 401(k) plan have automatic enrollment?

Yes: default deferral 6% of pay.

Who is the recordkeeper for GORMAN RUPP CO's 401(k)?

Merrill Lynch is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for The Gorman-Rupp Company 401(k) Plan for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. This record could cover another plan of the same employer.

Did GORMAN RUPP CO change its 401(k) match?

Yes. Employees hired prior to January 1, 2008 instead receive a match of 40% of the first 4% of compensation contributed. The current terms took effect January 1, 2008.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that GORMAN RUPP CO filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byGORMAN RUPP CO
SEC CIK42682
Accession number0001193125-26-278684
PlanThe Gorman-Rupp Company 401(k) Plan
Period of reportJune 23, 2026
FiledJune 23, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with GORMAN RUPP CO, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “GORMAN RUPP CO 401(k) plan facts”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0001193125-26-278684, plan year ended December 31, 2025.