401(k) Monitor

Archer-Daniels-Midland Company 401(k) for salaried employees: Fidelity, match 4% max

ADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Salaried Employees · ADM · CIK 7084

Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on the Form 5500 filed for this plan, the company that keeps the account records. Where to log in, and what the filing says.

Maximum employer match, as a share of pay

4%

The Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan matches 100% (dollar-for-dollar) of the first 2% of pay, then 50% of the next 4% of pay, for a maximum employer match of 4% of pay.

The match, vesting and enrollment terms below are for salaried employees: they are read from the ADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Salaried Employees. Archer-Daniels-Midland's Form 11-K filing for plan year 2025 describes two separate 401(k) plans. Both state the same maximum match.

From the Form 11-K filed June 23, 2026 ↗, covering the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Page data last updated July 28, 2026, when the Form 5500 bulk data was last refreshed. Why filings lag

On this page: which plan you are in · what the employer actually paid in · the formula, word for word · when the money becomes yours · who can join · who holds your account · what the plan reports to the DOL · how it compares · what to do next

Which Archer-Daniels-Midland 401(k) plan are you in?

Archer-Daniels-Midland's Form 11-K filing for this plan year describes two plans and all of them state the same maximum employer match. The group each plan covers still differs, and so can the vesting and enrollment terms further down this page, which are read from the ADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Salaried Employees.

ADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Salaried Employees (the plan this page answers for)

Salaried employees · Form 11-K ↗

4% of pay, at most

ADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Hourly Employees

Hourly employees · Form 11-K ↗

4% of pay, at most

One row per plan, taken from the Form 11-K report this site has read for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each maximum comes from that plan’s own filing and describes only that plan.

What the Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan puts in, and what the plan costs

What Archer-Daniels-Midland put into the plan, per active participant

$5,102

Archer-Daniels-Midland Company put $5,102 into this plan for each of its 8,748 active participants in plan year 2024. This is the whole employer side of the plan: matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions, and reallocated forfeitures. The Form 5500 does not separate them, so this is what the employer put in and not the match.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Archer-Daniels-Midland put in more per active participant than 73% of plans with 5,000+ participants in food, beverage and tobacco manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 72 reported $2,804. Food, beverage and tobacco comes from business code 311900, which Archer-Daniels-Midland entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

Both filings are for the ADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Salaried Employees, which covers salaried employees, so this figure and the terms above describe the same group.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Archer-Daniels-Midland pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: DOL Form 5500 for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, EIN 410129150, plan 029 · DOL EFAST2 ↗

The $5,102 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Archer-Daniels-Midland Company also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula for plan year 2025: the card below reads $1,980 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What the Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan puts in

$1,980

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“ADM’s matching contributions are made in cash. The Company matches 100% of contributions up to 2% of compensation, and 50% of contributions between 3% and 6%. The Company also makes a non-elective contribution of 1% of plan-defined compensation to all eligible employees’ accounts, subject to each plan’s provisions, which may vary by participating locations.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

Not scored

The filing states a graded schedule but not the years and percentages that make it up.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

Vesting scheduleNot stated in the filing

The filing states a graded schedule but not the years and percentages that make it up.

Vesting, word for word
“The Company’s matching and non-elective contributions vest over a two-year period. For the Hourly Plan, the vesting schedules may vary for hourly bargaining unit employees.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

20th percentile

$25.72 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 80% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What is the Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan's 401(k) match formula?

The Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan's 401(k) employer match tops out at 4% of pay. A tiered formula pays its best rate on the first slice of pay and less on the next, which is how the rate steps down.

Match formula100% (dollar-for-dollar) of the first 2% of pay
then50% of the next 4% of pay
Maximum employer match4% of compensation
Paid in company stockNo, paid in cash or per your investment elections
Other employer contributionNon-elective contribution of 1% of plan-defined compensation to all eligible employees' accounts, subject to each plan's provisions, which may vary by participating location

At a $45,000 salary, contributing 6% ($2,700) earns the full employer match of $1,800 for the year.

What the filing says, word for word
“ADM’s matching contributions are made in cash. The Company matches 100% of contributions up to 2% of compensation, and 50% of contributions between 3% and 6%. The Company also makes a non-elective contribution of 1% of plan-defined compensation to all eligible employees’ accounts, subject to each plan’s provisions, which may vary by participating locations.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 23, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

What is the Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan's 401(k) vesting schedule?

The Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan vests the employer match on a graded schedule; the filing does not set out the year-by-year percentages. Each step is money that leaves with you that year, which is how a graded schedule differs from a cliff.

Employer match vestingGraded schedule (see filing)
Your own contributionsNot disclosed in the filing
Accelerated vesting100% vested in the event of plan termination
Other employer contributionsMatching and non-elective contributions vest over a two-year period; the year-by-year schedule is not detailed in the filing
Vesting, word for word
“The Company’s matching and non-elective contributions vest over a two-year period. For the Hourly Plan, the vesting schedules may vary for hourly bargaining unit employees.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 23, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who can join the Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan's 401(k), and is enrollment automatic?

The Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan enrolls new hires automatically at 6% of pay.

Plan entryEligibility varies by employment class, location, and employment status; details are in the plan documents and summary plan descriptions
Automatic enrollmentYes: default deferral 6% of pay
Eligibility, word for word
“Employee eligibility varies by employment class, location, and employment status. Complete information regarding employee eligibility is described in the respective plan documents, and summary plan descriptions.”
Automatic enrollment, word for word
“Eligible new hires are automatically initially enrolled at 6% unless they file an affirmative election requesting a higher or lower participation percentage within the terms of the applicable plan.”

Source: Form 11-K filed June 23, 2026, SEC EDGAR · SEC ↗

Who holds your account

Schedule C of the Form 5500 filed for plan year 2024 reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper. Of those, the 10,022 with a computable fee have a median plan-paid cost of $97.71 per participant.

Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of Form 5500 filing 20250917103152NAL0000188563001.
RecordkeeperFidelity Investments
Recordkeeper EIN042647786

What does the Archer-Daniels-Midland plan report on Form 5500?

The Archer-Daniels-Midland plan reported $2.3B in assets and 11,181 participants for plan year 2024.

DOL Form 5500 filing for plan year 2024, EIN 410129150, plan 029.
Total plan assets$2,314,444,246
Participants11,181
Plan-paid admin cost per participant$25.72

How that cost compares

This plan pays $25.72 per participant. The median across plans in food, beverage and tobacco manufacturing is $108.05, from the 1,292 of 1,356 whose Form 5500 yields a per-participant cost.

Adm 401(k) And Employee Stock Ownership Plan For Salaried Employees on its Form 5500 filing: fees, providers and financials

How does the Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan's 401(k) match compare?

The Archer-Daniels-Midland salaried plan's maximum 401(k) match of 4% of pay compares with a median of 4% across the 269 companies in our data with a computable formula.

Employers worth reading next

Of the six employers below, three file in food, beverage and tobacco manufacturing, two report the same recordkeeper and one lands near Archer-Daniels-Midland's maximum match.

Coca-Cola

Maximum match 3.5% of pay. Also in food, beverage and tobacco manufacturing.

Campbell's

Maximum match 4% of pay. Also in food, beverage and tobacco manufacturing.

Seneca Foods

Maximum match 3% of pay. Also in food, beverage and tobacco manufacturing.

Aflac

Maximum match 4% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

Brinker International

Maximum match 4% of pay. Same recordkeeper, Fidelity Investments.

Ameris Bancorp

Maximum match 4% of pay, level with Archer-Daniels-Midland.

Compare Archer-Daniels-Midland Company with any company, side by side

What do Archer-Daniels-Midland's other 401(k) plans say?

ADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Hourly Employees

Hourly employees

Archer-Daniels-Midland Company matches 100% (dollar-for-dollar) of the first 2% of pay, then 50% of the next 4% of pay, for a maximum employer match of 4% of compensation (plan year ended December 31, 2025).

Employer match vesting
Graded schedule (see filing)
Automatic enrollment
Yes: default deferral 6% of pay
What the filing says, word for word
“ADM’s matching contributions are made in cash. The Company matches 100% of contributions up to 2% of compensation, and 50% of contributions between 3% and 6%. The Company also makes a non-elective contribution of 1% of plan-defined compensation to all eligible employees’ accounts, subject to each plan’s provisions, which may vary by participating locations.”

What can you do next?

Questions this filing answers

What is Archer-Daniels-Midland Company's 401(k) match for salaried employees?

The ADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Salaried Employees covers salaried employees. Archer-Daniels-Midland Company matches 100% (dollar-for-dollar) of the first 2% of pay, then 50% of the next 4% of pay, for a maximum employer match of 4% of compensation (plan year ended December 31, 2025).

When does the Archer-Daniels-Midland Company 401(k) match vest for salaried employees?

Graded schedule (see filing).

Does Archer-Daniels-Midland Company's 401(k) plan for salaried employees have automatic enrollment?

Yes: default deferral 6% of pay.

Who is the recordkeeper for Archer-Daniels-Midland Company's 401(k) for salaried employees?

Fidelity Investments is named as the recordkeeper on the Form 5500 filed for Adm 401(k) And Employee Stock Ownership Plan For Salaried Employees for plan year 2024. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to.

Source

The match formula, the vesting schedule and the enrollment rules on this page were read from one document: the Form 11-K annual report that Archer-Daniels-Midland Company filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission for the plan year ended December 31, 2025. Each of those fields carries the filing sentence it was read from, expandable where the field appears. Nothing on this page was supplied by the employer to this site.

The plan assets, the participant counts, the plan-paid fees and the recordkeeper come from a different document, the plan’s DOL Form 5500 annual return, and the section that reports them links it. Comparisons with other employers are computed across the filings named in the section they appear in.

Read the filing on SEC EDGAR ↗

DocumentForm 11-K annual report
Filed withUS Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Filed byArcher-Daniels-Midland Company
SEC CIK7084
Accession number0000007084-26-000033
PlanADM 401(k) and Employee Stock Ownership Plan for Salaried Employees
Period of reportDecember 31, 2025
FiledJune 23, 2026

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Archer-Daniels-Midland Company, with the Securities and Exchange Commission or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, “Archer-Daniels-Midland Company 401(k) plan facts for salaried employees”, from SEC Form 11-K accession 0000007084-26-000033, plan year ended December 31, 2025.