Medtronic Puerto Rico Employees' Savings And Investment Plan: Fidelity
Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations Company · Minneapolis, MN · EIN 980355534 · Plan 001 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.
What Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations put into the plan, per active participant
$3,112
Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations Company put $3,112 into this plan for each of its 5,274 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations put in less per active participant than 71% of plans with 5,000+ participants in medical devices and other manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 81 reported $4,432. Medical devices and other manufacturing comes from business code 339110, which Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations Company entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended April 30, 2025, received by the DOL February 12, 2026 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
What the plan cost, per participant
Not ranked
Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses. That usually means the employer pays the bills directly, or that fees are netted inside fund assets, so the plan is not ranked on cost and $0 is not a cheap plan.
401(k) Monitor Score
Not scored
This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses. That usually means the employer pays the bills directly, or that fees are netted inside fund assets, so the plan is not ranked on cost and $0 is not a cheap plan.
It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.
What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
On this page: who holds your account · where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
Who holds your account
Schedule C of this filing reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper, at a median of $97.71 per participant.
Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Fidelity Investments |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it. | 042647786 |
| Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations Company filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper. | (763) 514-4000 |
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations puts in
Not in public filings for this employer
We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.
Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Fidelity NetBenefits ↗.
What you contribute to collect all of it
Not in public filings for this employer
The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.
Vesting score
Not scored
The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.
A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
Not reported
The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.
What to check next
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $386,102,000 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $386,102,000 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 5,906 |
| Of which active | 5,274 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 5,000+ participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here. | Ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII was filed with all four boxes left blank. A blank is an unanswered line, not a no. | not stated on this filing |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $18,600,000. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 47% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses for this year. $0 usually means the employer pays the bills, or fees are netted inside fund assets. It does not mean the plan is free.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Minnesota, one of 1,484 plans on file there, at a median of $133.83 per participant. Its business code places the plan in medical devices and other manufacturing, one of 1,455 on file, which run to a median of $125.72.
Plans of a similar size in Minnesota
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Jennie-O Turkey Store Retirement Savings PlanJennie-O Turkey Store, Inc. | 6,161 | $40.57 |
| University Of Minnesota Physicians Retirement Savings And 401(k) PlanUniversity Of Minnesota Physicians | 5,949 | $85.52 |
| Fairview Health Services 403(b) Plan For Mna EmployeesFairview Health Services | 5,606 | $46.84 |
| Ebenezer Society 401(k) Profit-Sharing PlanEbenezer Society | 5,187 | $27.02 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
| Provider | Service codes | Direct comp. ($) | Indirect comp. ($) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fidelity Investments Institutional | 65, 71, 64, 37 | 278,320 | not reported |
| Strategic Advisors, Inc. | 27 | 160,248 | not reported |
| Pricewaterhousecoopers LLP | 10 | 7,500 | not reported |
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20260212120324NAL0000135873001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations Company filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended April 30, 2025. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | MEDTRONIC PUERTO RICO OPERATIONS COMPANY |
| Employer EIN | 980355534 |
| Plan number | 001 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20260212120324NAL0000135873001 |
| Received by the DOL | February 12, 2026 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Medtronic Puerto Rico Operations Company, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Medtronic Puerto Rico Employees' Savings And Investment Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20260212120324NAL0000135873001, plan year ended April 30, 2025.