401(k) Monitor

Carrier Johnson 401(k) Retirement Savings Plan: Newport Group

Carrier Johnson · San Diego, CA · EIN 953138414 · Plan 002 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Newport Group is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.

What Carrier Johnson put into the plan, per active participant

Not on this filing

Schedule H leaves the employer contribution line blank on this filing. A blank line is an unfilled line, not a zero, and one sponsor often files several plans, so the employer money can sit in another plan of the same sponsor.

Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 14, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

$194.05

The plan paid $194.05 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 59% of plans with 100–499 participants. The middle plan of that size paid $156.87.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

Not scored

This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. Schedule H leaves the employer contribution line blank on this filing. A blank line is an unfilled line, not a zero, and one sponsor often files several plans, so the employer money can sit in another plan of the same sponsor.

It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.

What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

On this page: who holds your account · where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Newport Group, filed as “NEWPORT GROUP, INC.”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

630 plans on file name Newport Group as their recordkeeper, at a median of $160.89 per participant.

Participants log in at Newport ↗. Newport Group was bought by Ascensus and its participant site still answers. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Newport Group or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014204931NAL0003717041001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Newport Group.
RecordkeeperNewport Group
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.272037969
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Carrier Johnson filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(619) 239-2353

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Carrier Johnson puts in

Not in public filings for this employer

We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, the one you log in to for your balance.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not in public filings for this employer

The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.

Vesting score

Not scored

The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

59th percentile

$194.05 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 59% of plans with 100–499 participants.

What to check next

  • A blank line is not a zero

    Schedule H leaves the employer contribution line unfilled on this filing, which is not the same as reporting nothing was paid in. Your own statement shows what reached your account.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251014204931NAL0003717041001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$4,815,541
Net assets$4,815,541
Participants, beginning of year135
Of which active64
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.100–499 participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here.Ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Current year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024One of the two contribution lines is blank on this filing. A blank employee line against a filled employer line would read as every dollar coming from the employer, which is a gap in the filing rather than a fact about the plan, so no share is shown.not stated on this filing

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $26,197 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 135 participants: $194.05 per participant.

Contract administrator fees$9,299
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$16,898
Other administrative feesnot reported in filing

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 100–499 participant cohort, where the median plan pays $156.87 per participant. The sponsor files from California, one of 6,801 plans on file there, at a median of $109.24 per participant. Its business code places the plan at law, consulting and engineering firms, one of 7,635 on file, which run to a median of $152.18.

Plans of a similar size in California

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 30 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Vista Ford Employee Savings/Retirement PlanVista Ford Inc.162$413.36
The Ford Store Morgan Hill 401(k) Plan & TrustThe Ford Store Morgan Hill155$185.61
Lee Jennings Target Express, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing PlanLee Jennings Target Express, Inc.134$195.55
The Ergo Baby 401(k) PlanThe Ergo Baby Carrier, Inc.125$491.54

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014204931NAL0003717041001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Morgan Stanley Global50, 2716,898not reported
Newport Group, Inc.50, 37, 99, 64, 159,2990

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Carrier Johnson filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingCARRIER JOHNSON
Employer EIN953138414
Plan number002
Filing ACK_ID20251014204931NAL0003717041001
Received by the DOLOctober 14, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Carrier Johnson, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Carrier Johnson 401(k) Retirement Savings Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251014204931NAL0003717041001, plan year ended December 31, 2024.