401(k) Monitor

Kaiser Permanente Tax Sheltered Annuity Plan: Vanguard

Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. · Oakland, CA · EIN 941340523 · Plan 033 · Form 5500 for plan year 2021

Vanguard is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.

What Kaiser Foundation Health Plan put into the plan, per active participant

$296

Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. put $296 into this plan for each of its 5,150 active participants in plan year 2021. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Kaiser Foundation Health Plan put in less per active participant than 78% of plans with 5,000+ participants in healthcare. The middle plan in that group of 265 reported $1,784. Healthcare comes from business code 621491, which Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Kaiser Foundation Health Plan pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2021, received by the DOL September 24, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

$33.63

The plan paid $33.63 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2021, cheaper than 73% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

37 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $296. Lower than 78% of plans with 5,000+ participants in healthcare.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $33.63. Cheaper than 73% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: who holds your account · where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Vanguard, filed as “THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

2,337 plans on file name Vanguard as their recordkeeper, at a median of $97.87 per participant.

Participants log in at Vanguard ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Vanguard or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20250924185938NAL0007032193001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Vanguard.
RecordkeeperVanguard
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.231945930
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(510) 271-5940

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Kaiser Foundation Health Plan puts in

Not in public filings for this employer

We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, which for this plan is Vanguard ↗.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not in public filings for this employer

The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.

Vesting score

Not scored

The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

27th percentile

$33.63 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 73% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What to check next

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2021, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Vanguard ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20250924185938NAL0007032193001, plan year 2021.
Total plan assets, end of year$1,238,942,406
Net assets$1,238,942,406
Participants, beginning of year11,906
Of which active5,150
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do.Not ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2021Schedule R part VII was filed with all four boxes left blank. A blank is an unanswered line, not a no.not stated on this filing
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2021The rest came from employees, who put in $11,045,603. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.12%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2021.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $400,387 in administrative expenses in plan year 2021, across 11,906 participants: $33.63 per participant.

Contract administrator feesnot reported in filing
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management feesnot reported in filing
Other administrative fees$400,387

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from California, one of 6,801 plans on file there, at a median of $109.24 per participant. Its business code places the plan in healthcare, one of 6,908 on file, which run to a median of $95.79.

Plans of a similar size in California

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 177 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Capital Retirement Savings PlanCapital Group Companies, Inc.12,260$0.18
Block 401(k) PlanBlock, Inc.12,072$21.41
Bytedance 401(k) PlanBytedance Inc.11,900$10.34
Radnet 401(k) PlanRadnet, Inc.11,404$76.08

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20250924185938NAL0007032193001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Vanguard Advisers Inc.26334,974not reported
The Vanguard Group, Inc.52, 37, 19, 1572,4620

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2021. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingKAISER FOUNDATION HEALTH PLAN, INC.
Employer EIN941340523
Plan number033
Filing ACK_ID20250924185938NAL0007032193001
Received by the DOLSeptember 24, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

This is an amended filing. It replaces the sponsor's earlier submission for the same year. Filed late: the plan year predates the form year of the source dataset.

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Kaiser Permanente Tax Sheltered Annuity Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20250924185938NAL0007032193001, plan year ended December 31, 2021. 401(k) Monitor Score 37 out of 100 (exact value 37.11).