401(k) Monitor

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association 401(k) Pension Plan

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association · Arlington, VA · EIN 530116145 · Plan 444 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Nreca is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. What the filing says, and who to call.

This is a pooled multiple-employer plan, so its participant and asset totals span many unrelated employers.

What National Rural Electric Cooperative Association put into the plan, per active participant

$4,449

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association put $4,449 into this plan for each of its 61,593 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate. This filing covers many unrelated employers under one plan, so the figure is an average across all of them rather than one employer's behaviour.

It is kept out of every peer group and takes no score.

What this figure cannot separate: how much National Rural Electric Cooperative Association pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 14, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

What the plan cost, per participant

$585.22

The plan paid $585.22 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 100% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

Not scored

This is a pooled plan covering many unrelated employers, so its figures are averages across a client book. It takes no score, and it is kept out of every peer group so that it does not move anybody else's standing.

It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.

What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

On this page: who holds your account · where the match terms are stated · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Nreca. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Nreca.
RecordkeeperNreca
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.530116145
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number National Rural Electric Cooperative Association filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(703) 907-6021

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What National Rural Electric Cooperative Association puts in

Not in public filings for this employer

We have no SEC Form 11-K for this employer, and the Form 5500 this page is built from does not report match terms.

Two places state the terms in full: your plan’s Summary Plan Description, which your employer must provide on request, and your recordkeeper’s site, the one you log in to for your balance.

What you contribute to collect all of it

Not in public filings for this employer

The rate that collects the full match is part of the match formula, which a Form 5500 does not report.

Vesting score

Not scored

The vesting schedule is stated in a Form 11-K, and we have none for this employer.

A schedule this cannot read at whole-year anniversaries is left without a number rather than given a middle one.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

100th percentile

$585.22 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 100% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

What to check next

  • This filing is not about one employer

    One Form 5500 covers many unrelated employers here, so every figure on this page is an average across all of them. The match, the vesting schedule and the fees that apply to one worker are set by that worker’s own employer, and none of the three is stated in this filing.

  • What to ask about the fees

    This plan paid $585.22 per participant out of plan assets, more than 100% of plans with 5,000+ participants, where the middle plan paid $54.84. The filing does not say what the difference buys. Two questions put that to a benefits or HR team: what the recordkeeping and administration contract costs, and how much of it comes out of participant accounts rather than being paid by National Rural Electric Cooperative Association. The lines this total is made of are further down.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$16,840,459,887
Net assets$16,717,296,057
Participants, beginning of year80,880
Of which active61,593
Plan typeMultiple employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a carries a code for automatic enrollment, 2S, and this filing does not tick it. Across this dataset 25,364 plans do.Not ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII was filed with all four boxes left blank. A blank is an unanswered line, not a no.not stated on this filing
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $482,064,975. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.36%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered yes, and reports $3,286,752 of money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

Schedule H line 4a asks whether any money withheld from pay reached the plan later than the law allows. A yes here most often means the employer found the delay itself, put the money in along with the earnings it would have made, and reported the correction to the Department of Labor under its Voluntary Fiduciary Correction Program. The filing instructions also require the same amount to be reported again every year until the year after the correction is finished, so this figure is not necessarily money that was late during this plan year. It does not mean participants lost money.

It is a common answer: 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes, and half of them reported less than $33,100.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $47,332,687 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 80,880 participants: $585.22 per participant.

Contract administrator fees$26,188,572
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$13,971,604
Other administrative fees$6,730,777

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Virginia, one of 1,765 plans on file there, at a median of $142.39 per participant. Its business code places the plan at utilities, one of 407 on file, which run to a median of $138.21.

Plans of a similar size in Virginia

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 76 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Northrop Grumman Savings PlanNorthrop Grumman Corporation154,894$75.29
Dollar Tree Retirement Savings PlanDollar Tree, Inc.83,276$17.32
Advance Auto Parts, Inc. 401(k) PlanAdvance Stores Company, Inc.67,469$21.97
Capital One Financial Corporation Associate Savings PlanCapital One Financial Corporation66,717$214.17

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Nreca29, 50, 28, 15, 37, 38, 1426,188,572not reported
T Rowe Price Associates Inc.51, 50, 68, 285,055,8320
Blackrock Institutional Trust Co68, 51, 28, 50, 24, 213,217,495not reported
Voya Institutional Plan Services50, 161,843,033not reported
Blackrock Financial Management Inc.51, 50, 281,597,342not reported
Jacobs Levy Equity Management Inc.51, 50, 281,139,434not reported
Decisionpath Consulting50, 16908,992not reported
Lockton Companies50, 22869,500not reported
Capital International Inc.51, 50, 28819,264not reported
Lsv Asset Management51, 50, 28733,243not reported
Pacific Investment Management Co51, 50, 28675,4980
Optomi LLC50, 16524,002not reported
Chesapeake Benefit Partners LLC50, 16489,413not reported
Enterprise Iron Fis Inc.50, 16432,459not reported
Pinnacle Data Systems LLC50, 38405,970not reported
Convergenz LLC50, 16364,944not reported
Experis It Services50, 16324,329not reported
State Street Global Advisors Trust51, 19, 28, 18309,4760
Neuberger Berman Group LLC51, 28294,0210
State Street Bank62, 51, 99, 63, 50, 28, 25, 19290,1710
Fis Capital Markets US LLC50, 16281,344not reported
Sirius Computer Solutions Inc.50, 16179,550not reported
Rvk Inc.50, 16129,998not reported
Signature Commercial Solutions LLC50, 16128,832not reported
Bdo USA LLP50, 1698,926not reported
Robert Half50, 1694,354not reported
Usm Business Systems Inc.50, 1692,219not reported
Excella Inc.50, 1687,435not reported
Cliftonlarsonallen LLP50, 1070,714not reported
Aston Carter Inc.50, 1657,821not reported
Spectrum Financial Services50, 1647,840not reported
Thompson Hine LLP50, 2944,144not reported
Newport Trust Company50, 1639,667not reported
Bloomberg Finance Lp50, 4931,801not reported
Reasonn LLC50, 4931,662not reported
International Software Systems Inc.50, 1629,655not reported
Adp Inc.50, 4928,078not reported
Wells Fargo Bank50, 4922,214not reported
Nasdaq Information LLC50, 49, 1618,959not reported
Dexian LLC50, 1612,452not reported
Harter Secrest And Emery LLP50, 2910,895not reported
Groom Law Group Chartered50, 2910,829not reported
Capricorn Systems Inc.50, 1610,766not reported
Zovaya Corporation50, 169,436not reported
Davis Companies50, 167,712not reported
Abel Noser Solutions50, 49, 166,203not reported
Stevens And Lee Pc50, 295,564not reported
Alku Technologies LLC50, 165,458not reported
Raymond James And Associates710108,100
Jp Morgan Securities71061,008
Morgan Stanley Co71050,754
Wells Fargo Securities LLC71032,553
Goldman Sachs And Co71032,474
Virtu Americas71027,765
Jefferies And Company71027,445
Barclays Capital71026,548
Bofa Securities71026,417
National Financial Securities LLC71024,424
UBS Securities LLC71020,504
Oppenheimer And Company71013,883
Rbc Capital Markets71013,876
Cowen And Company LLC71013,482
Bnp Paribas Securities71011,065
Pershing LLC7109,890
Robert W Baird Co Incorporated7108,982
UBS Ag7105,702
BMO Capital Markets7107,429
Liquidnet Inc.7106,721
Citigroup Global Markets7106,546
Citadel Securities Institutional7105,757

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that National Rural Electric Cooperative Association filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingNATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION
Employer EIN530116145
Plan number444
Filing ACK_ID20251014161215NAL0003254097001
Received by the DOLOctober 14, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "401(k) Pension Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251014161215NAL0003254097001, plan year ended December 31, 2024.