Medtronic Savings And Investment Plan: Fidelity
Medtronic, Inc. · Minneapolis, MN · EIN 410793183 · Plan 005 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024
Fidelity Investments is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. Where to log in, and who to call.
What Medtronic put into the plan, per active participant
$9,093
Medtronic plc put $9,093 into this plan for each of its 38,035 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.
Medtronic put in more per active participant than 91% of plans with 5,000+ participants in medical devices and other manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 81 reported $4,432. Medical devices and other manufacturing comes from business code 339110, which Medtronic plc entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.
What this figure cannot separate: how much Medtronic pays, and how much it puts in
This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.
This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.
Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended April 30, 2025, received by the DOL February 12, 2026 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗
The $9,093 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Medtronic plc also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $1,485 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.
What the plan cost, per participant
Not ranked
Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses. That usually means the employer pays the bills directly, or that fees are netted inside fund assets, so the plan is not ranked on cost and $0 is not a cheap plan.
401(k) Monitor Score
Not scored
This filing reports one of the two amounts the score is built from, so it takes none. Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses. That usually means the employer pays the bills directly, or that fees are netted inside fund assets, so the plan is not ranked on cost and $0 is not a cheap plan.
It keeps whichever of the two it does report, above. Nothing is filled in from an average, from another year or from another plan, because a two-part score computed on one part is a different measure wearing the same name.
What the score would read, on a filing that carries both: Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.
On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers
Who holds your account
Schedule C of this filing reports Fidelity Investments, filed as “FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL”. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.
10,593 plans on file name Fidelity Investments as their recordkeeper, at a median of $97.71 per participant.
Participants log in at Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. 401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Fidelity Investments or with any other recordkeeper, and takes nothing for this link. It is here because that is where the account is.
| Recordkeeper | Fidelity Investments |
|---|---|
| Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it. | 042647786 |
| Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Medtronic, Inc. filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper. | (763) 514-4000 |
The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K
The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.
What Medtronic puts in
$1,485
a year, at a $49,500 salary.
The match paragraph, word for word
“Employer matching contributions are based on each participant's 401(k) Component contributions, up to 6% of eligible compensation, and are made each pay period in the amount of 50% of these contributions. At the end of the plan year, the Company may make an additional matching contribution for each dollar participants contribute, up to 6% of eligible compensation (True-Up Contribution). The True-Up Contribution is based upon the achievement of certain Medtronic plc performance goals and is made at the discretion of the Company. Participants must be employed by the Company on the last day of the plan year in order to receive the True-Up Contribution, if any. This employment requirement does not apply to those participants that prior to the year ended April 30 have died or have had termination of employment either on or after the participant (i) attained age 55 and completed ten years of service or (ii) attained age 62 regardless of years of service. Company matching contributions are allocated into the same investments as elective contributions. For the year ended April 30, 2025, the Company made a True-Up Contribution in the amount of 17.3% of the participant contributions not to exceed 6% of eligible compensation.”
What you contribute to collect all of it
Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.
That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.
Vesting score
57.14 out of 100
How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 5% of the 369 schedules we have scored.
It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.
Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 0%, 0%, 0%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.
Vesting, word for word
“Participants are 100% vested in their contributions, including earnings and losses thereon, at all times. Under the 401(k) Component, ESOP, PIA and MCC, active participants vest in Company contributions, including earnings and losses thereon, after completion of three years of service. Participants hired prior to January 1, 2016, vest in Company contributions under the 401(k) Component, ESOP, PIA and MCC, including earnings and losses thereon, at a rate of 20% per year and become fully vested in all Company matching contributions after three years. Participants also become fully vested upon attaining age 62, death, total disability, termination of the Plan, or complete discontinuance of employer contributions.”
The plan tops the match up after year end, so contributing unevenly through the year does not cost the worker part of it.
The same match paragraph, word for word
“Employer matching contributions are based on each participant's 401(k) Component contributions, up to 6% of eligible compensation, and are made each pay period in the amount of 50% of these contributions. At the end of the plan year, the Company may make an additional matching contribution for each dollar participants contribute, up to 6% of eligible compensation (True-Up Contribution). The True-Up Contribution is based upon the achievement of certain Medtronic plc performance goals and is made at the discretion of the Company. Participants must be employed by the Company on the last day of the plan year in order to receive the True-Up Contribution, if any. This employment requirement does not apply to those participants that prior to the year ended April 30 have died or have had termination of employment either on or after the participant (i) attained age 55 and completed ten years of service or (ii) attained age 62 regardless of years of service. Company matching contributions are allocated into the same investments as elective contributions. For the year ended April 30, 2025, the Company made a True-Up Contribution in the amount of 17.3% of the participant contributions not to exceed 6% of eligible compensation.”
The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.
What the plan costs, against plans of its size
Not reported
The Form 5500 filing does not report the plan-paid administrative expenses this figure needs.
The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Medtronic plc, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.
Matched to this employer by sponsor name, not by an identifier stated in the filing. That Form 11-K covers Medtronic Savings and Investment Plan.
What to check next
Collecting the whole match
Medtronic’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 6% of pay, which is $1,485 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your Fidelity NetBenefits ↗ account both show the rate you set. A rate below 6% collects less than the whole match.
That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.
Your own numbers are not on this page
Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.
Key figures
| Total plan assets, end of year | $13,719,378,000 |
|---|---|
| Net assets | $13,719,378,000 |
| Participants, beginning of year | 56,318 |
| Of which active | 38,035 |
| Plan type | Single employer |
| Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against. | 5,000+ participants |
| Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here. | Ticked on this filing |
| How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label. | Prior year ADP test |
| Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $508,727,000. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score. | 40% |
Late deposits of employee contributions
Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.
The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.
Plan-paid administrative expenses
Schedule H reports $0 in plan-paid administrative expenses for this year. $0 usually means the employer pays the bills, or fees are netted inside fund assets. It does not mean the plan is free.
The plans this one is ranked against
Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Minnesota, one of 1,484 plans on file there, at a median of $133.83 per participant. Its business code places the plan in medical devices and other manufacturing, one of 1,455 on file, which run to a median of $125.72.
Plans of a similar size in Minnesota
| Plan | Participants | Cost per participant |
|---|---|---|
| Best Buy Retirement Savings PlanBest Buy Enterprise Services, Inc. | 111,163 | $44.06 |
| U.S. Bank 401(k) Savings PlanU.S. Bancorp | 94,695 | $103.70 |
| 3M Voluntary Investment Plan And Employee Stock Ownership Plan3M Company | 52,897 | $80.24 |
| The Cargill Partnership PlanCargill, Incorporated | 46,150 | $75.65 |
Service providers (Schedule C)
| Provider | Service codes | Direct comp. ($) | Indirect comp. ($) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Strategic Advisors, Inc. | 27 | 2,741,967 | not reported |
| Fidelity Investments Institutional | 65, 71, 64, 37 | 608,939 | not reported |
| Pricewaterhousecoopers LLP | 10 | 187,500 | not reported |
Useful links
- Find a 401(k) you left at an old job ↗
The DOL's Retirement Savings Lost & Found. Free and official.
- Read this plan's Form 5500 as filed (PDF) ↗
The document every figure above was read from, served by the DOL. Acknowledgement ID 20260212120237NAL0000146496001.
Source
Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Medtronic, Inc. filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended April 30, 2025. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.
Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.
Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗
| Document | Form 5500 annual return for plan year 2024 |
|---|---|
| Filed with | US Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2) |
| Filed byAs spelled on the filing | MEDTRONIC, INC. |
| Employer EIN | 410793183 |
| Plan number | 005 |
| Filing ACK_ID | 20260212120237NAL0000146496001 |
| Received by the DOL | February 12, 2026 |
| Bulk dataset | DOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA) |
| Dataset last refreshed | July 28, 2026 |
Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗
401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Medtronic, Inc., with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.
Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag
Cite this page
401(k) Monitor, "Medtronic Savings And Investment Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20260212120237NAL0000146496001, plan year ended April 30, 2025.