401(k) Monitor

The Lilly Employee 401(k) Plan

Eli Lilly And Company · Indianapolis, IN · EIN 350470950 · Plan 002 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Alight Solutions, LLC is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. What the filing says, and who to call.

What Eli Lilly put into the plan, per active participant

$7,928

Eli Lilly and Company put $7,928 into this plan for each of its 21,803 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Eli Lilly put in less per active participant than 52% of plans with 5,000+ participants in pharmaceuticals and chemicals. The middle plan in that group of 63 reported $8,101. Pharmaceuticals and chemicals comes from business code 325410, which Eli Lilly and Company entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Eli Lilly pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 9, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

The $7,928 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Eli Lilly and Company also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What the plan cost, per participant

$60.93

The plan paid $60.93 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, more expensive than 56% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

47 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $7,928. Lower than 52% of plans with 5,000+ participants in pharmaceuticals and chemicals.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $60.93. Cheaper than 44% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Alight Solutions, LLC. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251009064245NAL0003384659001. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Alight Solutions, LLC.
RecordkeeperAlight Solutions, LLC
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.821061233
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Eli Lilly And Company filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(317) 276-2000

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Eli Lilly puts in

$2,970

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“Matching contributions by the Company are currently 100% of participant pre-tax and or Roth contributions up to the 6% participant contribution level, subject to applicable regulatory limits.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

100 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleImmediate

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“All participants are vested immediately in their own contributions. All active participants vest in 100% of the Company's matching contributions after completing one hour of creditable service.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

56th percentile

$60.93 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, more expensive than 56% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Eli Lilly and Company, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.

What to check next

  • Collecting the whole match

    Eli Lilly’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 6% of pay, which is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your Alight ↗ account both show the rate you set. A rate below 6% collects less than the whole match.

    That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Alight ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251009064245NAL0003384659001, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$13,056,609,955
Net assets$13,038,246,431
Participants, beginning of year30,472
Of which active21,803
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here.Ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Prior year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $319,413,633. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.35%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $1,856,531 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 30,472 participants: $60.93 per participant.

Contract administrator feesnot reported in filing
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management feesnot reported in filing
Other administrative fees$166,705

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Indiana, one of 1,157 plans on file there, at a median of $127.48 per participant. Its business code places the plan in pharmaceuticals and chemicals, one of 942 on file, which run to a median of $128.47.

Plans of a similar size in Indiana

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 27 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
IU Health 401(k) Savings PlanIndiana University Health Inc.53,213$55.98
Cummins Retirement And Savings PlanCummins Inc.38,325not itemized
Community Health Network 401(k) Retirement PlanCommunity Health Network, Inc.21,168$109.25
Berry Global Employees 401(k) Retirement PlanBerry Global, Inc.20,663$24.15

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251009064245NAL0003384659001. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Alight Solutions, LLC50, 15, 49, 52, 37, 36, 381,140,6600
Eli Lilly And Company50, 14453,120not reported
Pershing LLC61, 99, 71, 590353,037
Alight Financial Solutions, LLC63, 61, 71, 59, 3342,741125,178
Ernst & Young LLP50, 1094,348not reported
Aon Consulting, Inc.50, 49, 1182,665not reported
Cem Benchmarking Inc.50, 49, 4037,565not reported
Plante & Moran Pllc50, 1029,437not reported
Evestment Alliance LLC50, 4913,579not reported

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Eli Lilly And Company filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingELI LILLY AND COMPANY
Employer EIN350470950
Plan number002
Filing ACK_ID20251009064245NAL0003384659001
Received by the DOLOctober 9, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Eli Lilly And Company, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "The Lilly Employee 401(k) Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251009064245NAL0003384659001, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 47 out of 100 (exact value 47.11).