401(k) Monitor

Eaton Savings Plan

Eaton Corporation · Cleveland, OH · EIN 340196300 · Plan 055 · Form 5500 for plan year 2024

Fidelity Investments Inst Op Co is the recordkeeper named on this filing, the company that keeps the account records for this plan. What the filing says, and who to call.

What Eaton put into the plan, per active participant

$6,743

Eaton Corporation plc put $6,743 into this plan for each of its 25,714 active participants in plan year 2024. That is the whole employer side, matching money, profit sharing, non-elective and safe-harbor contributions and reallocated forfeitures together, because the Form 5500 reports them on one line, so it is not the match rate.

0 · least per person100 · most per person

Eaton put in more per active participant than 77% of plans with 5,000+ participants in aerospace and vehicle manufacturing. The middle plan in that group of 69 reported $4,233. Aerospace and vehicle manufacturing comes from business code 336300, which Eaton Corporation plc entered on its own Form 5500. Sponsors pick that code themselves, so a code that does not describe what the employer does ranks the plan against the wrong companies.

What this figure cannot separate: how much Eaton pays, and how much it puts in

This is dollars, not a rate. A Form 5500 carries no payroll, so the figure reflects both how much the employer puts in and how much the employer pays: two plans running the same formula report different amounts when one pays better. Crossing the peer group with industry holds most of that difference still, and none of it disappears.

This is one plan year, not an average. A true-up, a plan merger or a one-off contribution moves a single year on its own.

Source: Form 5500 filing for the plan year ended December 31, 2024, received by the DOL October 14, 2025 · Read the filing (PDF) ↗

The $6,743 above is the Form 5500 figure for plan year 2024, and it counts every employer dollar on one line. Eaton Corporation plc also files a Form 11-K, which states the match formula on its own for plan year 2025: the section below reads $1,485 a year at a $49,500 salary, and the same filing states employer contributions made outside the match. That second figure is what the formula pays one worker on that salary, and not an amount either filing reports. The two figures cover different plan years and measure different things, so neither one is the other one corrected.

What the plan cost, per participant

$20.04

The plan paid $20.04 per participant in plan-paid administrative expenses in plan year 2024, cheaper than 85% of plans with 5,000+ participants. The middle plan of that size paid $54.84.

Why a plan this big pays less per person before anything else

Bigger plans pay less per head by construction, because the same negotiated bill divides across more people. That is why this ranking sits inside the plan's own size cohort and is never taken across all plans.

Schedule H reports only what came out of plan assets. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees taken inside fund expense ratios, never appear here, so this is a floor and not the all-in cost.

401(k) Monitor Score

79 out of 100

Where this plan stands against plans of its size and industry on two amounts its Form 5500 reports: employer money in per active person, and plan-paid cost per person. It reads no match formula, no vesting schedule and no fund lineup, because a Form 5500 states none of them.

  • What the employer put in, per active participant: $6,743. Higher than 77% of plans with 5,000+ participants in aerospace and vehicle manufacturing.
  • What the plan cost, per participant: $20.04. Cheaper than 85% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

How this score is built

On this page: who holds your account · the match and vesting terms · what to check next · every figure on the filing · late deposits · fees itemised · the plans this one is ranked against · service providers

Who holds your account

Schedule C of this filing reports Fidelity Investments Inst Op Co. That is the company paid to keep the account records: what is in an account, what went into it, and usually the site a participant signs in to. The trustee that holds the plan’s assets can be a different company, and this filing does not name it.

Recordkeeper from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014081726NAL0003409184002. Telephone from the Form 5500 itself: Schedule C states no telephone number for a provider, so none is shown for Fidelity Investments Inst Op Co.
RecordkeeperFidelity Investments Inst Op Co
Recordkeeper EINThe provider's own employer identification number, as the filing states it.042647786
Plan sponsor telephoneThe number Eaton Corporation filed on the Form 5500. It reaches the employer, not the recordkeeper.(440) 523-5000

The match and vesting terms, from a Form 11-K

The match formula and the vesting schedule are stated in a Form 11-K, which is filed only by employers whose plan holds company stock. A Form 5500 reports neither.

What Eaton puts in

$1,485

a year, at a $49,500 salary.

The match paragraph, word for word
“Employer Contributions (Matching) - Participants of the Plan receive a Company matching contribution of 50% of the first 6% of their deferred compensation.”

What you contribute to collect all of it

Contribute at least 6% of your pay to collect the full match.

That is $2,970 a year at a $49,500 salary, and it scales with your own.

Vesting score

100 out of 100

How fast the employer’s money becomes yours. Higher than 48% of the 369 schedules we have scored.

It measures vesting speed and nothing else. It says nothing about the size of the match, what the plan charges, or the funds inside it.

Vesting scheduleImmediate

Share of the employer's money that is the worker's at hire and at each of the first 6 anniversaries: 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%, 100%. The score is the average of those 7 readings.

Vesting, word for word
“All participants are 100% vested in elective deferrals, employer contributions (matching) for prior years, rollover contributions made to the Plan, and actual earnings thereon. Eligibility for current year employer contributions (matching) is subject to year-end eligibility requirements, as defined by the Plan. Vesting in the employer contributions (retirement and transitional pay contribution) portion of a participant's account plus actual earnings thereon is based on years of continuous service. Participants are 100% vested after three years of service, attainment of age 65, termination for disability, or upon the death of the participant.”

The wait before the match starts and the year-end true-up appear above when the filing states them. Neither is part of the score, and a filing that is silent on one of them is not a plan without it.

The formula, the six-year window and a worked example

What the plan costs, against plans of its size

15th percentile

$20.04 per participant in plan-paid administrative cost, cheaper than 85% of plans with 5,000+ participants.

The match, vesting and eligibility terms above are read from the Form 11-K filed by Eaton Corporation plc, whose page states the full formula, the vesting schedule and the sentence behind each one.

What to check next

  • Collecting the whole match

    Eaton’s Form 11-K pays the whole match at 6% of pay, which is $1,485 a year at a $49,500 salary and scales with your own. Your payslip and your Fidelity NetBenefits ↗ account both show the rate you set. A rate below 6% collects less than the whole match.

    That Form 11-K covers plan year 2025. The plan’s Summary Plan Description states the terms in force, and the plan administrator must provide it to participants on request.

  • Weighing this employer against another

    Eaton’s filed match formula is set against another employer’s, term by term, on 5 pages: Caterpillar, General Electric, Honeywell, John Deere and Cummins.

  • Your own numbers are not on this page

    Every figure here is the whole plan for plan year 2024, taken from one filing and divided by headcounts. Your own contribution rate, your balance and the fees taken from your account are on your recordkeeper’s site, which this filing names as Fidelity NetBenefits ↗. What you may put in during a year is set by the IRS and not by the plan: this year’s limits ↗.

Key figures

From Schedule H of Form 5500 filing 20251014081726NAL0003409184002, plan year 2024.
Total plan assets, end of year$8,394,581,291
Net assets$8,394,581,291
Participants, beginning of year36,515
Of which active25,714
Plan typeSingle employer
Size cohortThe peer group we rank fees against.5,000+ participants
Automatic enrollmentForm 5500 line 8a, code 2S: “Plan provides for automatic enrollment in plan that has elective contributions deducted from payroll.” The box says the plan has the feature and nothing more. The Form 5500 carries no default contribution rate, no escalation schedule and no count of who was enrolled, so none of those is stated here.Ticked on this filing
How the filing meets the 401(k) nondiscrimination rules, plan year 2024Schedule R part VII, as ticked. The rule compares what the higher-paid put in with what everyone else puts in, and the boxes say which method the plan used for this year. A plan can tick a different box next year, so this is an answer for one year, not a label.Current year ADP test
Employer share of the money that went in, plan year 2024The rest came from employees, who put in $222,237,692. The share falls when employees save more, so a plan whose staff contribute heavily reads lower here through no act of the employer. It is printed as a fact and it is not part of the score.44%

Late deposits of employee contributions

Schedule H line 4a of this filing is answered no: it reports no money withheld from participants’ pay that reached the plan later than the law allows, for plan year 2024.

The line is answered by the employer about its own plan and nobody checks it here, so a no is an answer rather than a clean bill of health. 13,904 of the 55,904 plans that answered this line answered yes.

Plan-paid administrative expenses

The plan paid $731,609 in administrative expenses in plan year 2024, across 36,515 participants: $20.04 per participant.

Contract administrator feesnot reported in filing
Professional feesnot reported in filing
Investment management fees$146,031
Other administrative fees$72,336

These are plan-paid expenses from Schedule H only. Fees the sponsor pays directly, and fees embedded in fund expense ratios, never appear here. This figure is a floor, not the all-in cost, and a low number is not “free”.

The plans this one is ranked against

Fees on this page are ranked against the 5,000+ participant cohort, where the median plan pays $54.84 per participant. The sponsor files from Ohio, one of 2,465 plans on file there, at a median of $134.01 per participant. Its business code places the plan in aerospace and vehicle manufacturing, one of 934 on file, which run to a median of $112.59.

Plans of a similar size in Ohio

The plans nearest this one by participant count, out of 84 in its peer group. Cost per participant is each plan’s own Schedule H figure, and a filing that reported no administrative expenses says so instead of showing a zero.
PlanParticipantsCost per participant
Supply Chain Retirement Savings PlanExel Inc.40,425$19.71
Abercrombie & Fitch Co. Savings And Retirement PlanAbercrombie & Fitch Co.38,739$9.29
Bath & Body Works, Inc. 401(k) Savings And Retirement PlanL Brands Service Company LLC33,546$43.05
Marathon Petroleum Thrift PlanMarathon Petroleum Company Lp28,940$61.30

Service providers (Schedule C)

Providers from Schedule C, Part 1, Item 2 of filing 20251014081726NAL0003409184002. Direct compensation is paid from plan assets. Amounts in USD.
ProviderService codesDirect comp. ($)Indirect comp. ($)
Fidelity Investments Inst Op Co65, 64, 50, 37, 16491,5420
Nepc LLC50, 16146,031not reported
Eaton Corporation50, 35, 1572,336not reported
Meaden & Moore, Ltd.50, 1021,700not reported

Source

Everything this page reports about the plan itself was read from one document: the Form 5500 annual return that Eaton Corporation filed with the US Department of Labor for the plan year ended December 31, 2024. Nothing here is estimated, modelled or supplied by the employer to this site.

Where the page compares this plan with others, the comparison is computed from the same Form 5500 release across the peer group each figure names. The filing is below, and the identifiers under it find it again without this page.

Read the filing as submitted (PDF, dol.gov) ↗

DocumentForm 5500 annual return for plan year 2024
Filed withUS Department of Labor, EBSA (through EFAST2)
Filed byAs spelled on the filingEATON CORPORATION
Employer EIN340196300
Plan number055
Filing ACK_ID20251014081726NAL0003409184002
Received by the DOLOctober 14, 2025
Bulk datasetDOL EFAST2 Form 5500 bulk data (FOIA)
Dataset last refreshedJuly 28, 2026

Bulk dataset at askebsa.dol.gov ↗ · Search EFAST2 by EIN and plan number ↗

401(k) Monitor is not affiliated with Eaton Corporation, with the Department of Labor or with this plan’s recordkeeper, and publishes this page without their involvement. It republishes a public filing and says where it came from.

Filings lag by design: a plan can file up to 9½ months after its year ends, so this is the newest data on file. Why filings lag

Cite this page

401(k) Monitor, "Eaton Savings Plan: Form 5500 facts", from DOL EFAST2 filing 20251014081726NAL0003409184002, plan year ended December 31, 2024. 401(k) Monitor Score 79 out of 100 (exact value 79.11).